We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!! July 2012” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cirque Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cirque Hostel
Ranked #121 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again!! July 2012”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well I read the fantastic reviews, and fell for it....Hard! So before I give it to you straight, I'll let you know the good points. The Airport pick-up was great, driver was waiting for us in the airport. Took care of our bags to inside the Hostel. The staff are friendly and polite. (but 99% of peruvians are). The hot water was great 90% of the time...... and that my friends is about where it all stops! We arrived in the early evening, not a word of English as advertised (because the English speaker only works during the day), so we were just given a key and showed the door. The main stairwell that all the rooms come off is wooden so you can imagine the noise of trekking shoes stomping up & down all hours of the night. I had to go look for everything as I wasn't shown anything when checking in. The top floor has a so-called Bar (NOT) up there, this is also where the house manager sleeps!! Interesting! He will quickly get up in the morning and make bad coffee, jug of juice & a basket of breadrolls for your breakfast. The table always looked dirty and dirty dishes from other people staying there were left everywhere. I attempted to wash my cup in the "sink in the cupboard", but the sight wasn't too pleasant! The outdoor patio area is very old and shabby. The middle floor has all the rooms and shared bathroom and the ground level has a few rooms, kitchen and lounge, oh and they squeezed in a desk with an old computer for public use in there too. The room, well we requested a Twin room that turned out to be 1xDbl bed 1x bunk beds. (Glad I won the toss for the Dbl). Although the room had been swept out, I very much doubt its been mopped out and cleaned well for a very long time. Finding someones long black hair on the shower walls and floor wasn't too nice! On my 2nd attempt in desperation for a morning coffee I decided to take my cup to the kitchen to wash, YUK! is all I can say, I still can't believe people cook in there! I rinsed my cup out, but the teatowel was so dirty I wiped my hands on my clothes. As for the lounge area, well they had people sleeping in there. Then the so called courtyard outside, yeah its there, but they use that to park their car in as well as 2 motorbikes. There's also a hammock but they use that to dry out peoples clothes. The English speaker was there in the mornings, but couldn't change money into smaller notes for us, couldn't tell me where the nearest cafe/restaurant anywhere to eat place was and didn't even know that Lima has a Zoo! They hailed a cab for us for our "organised return transfer" to the airport, put all our bags in the car and were off before we realise we had no seatbelts in the back. The average speed of a cab in Lima is 120km/hr-160 or higher, so seatbelts are a necessity, not to mention an offence in Lima especially. We were stopped by police on the way to the airport, and as the officer walked towards us the cabby sped off with us still in it! So no, I would never recommend this place to anyone, ever! There are plenty of hostels around that are much better than this. This is not my first time here. So to sum it up in one word for you all.......PHOTOSHOP!! (And congratulations to their web designer- your brilliant!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HiFlyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
31
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The airport pickup was ready and waiting for us, as arranged earlier by Circque Hostel. The Hostel was clean and friendly. The people in charge gave good suggestions for a quick dinner. The cab driver even took me to a bank to change our money...no charge. We felt comfortable taking the bus everywhere we wanted to go. They gave excellent directions and knew which numbers to watch for coming and going.

The room had a full bath, and the water was HOT always. The other people staying there were friendly and helpful with information of where they had been. What a great way to start off in Lima.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationista10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I like places with character. If you are looking for anonymous "yes sir" meat factory luxury hotel this is not the address. Cirque is a simple yet very charismatic place in safe part of Lima (Miraflores). The staff is fantastic.
The rooms - this is a hostel, but the rooms are spacious, clean and nice views. You can rent a private room with private bathroom. I stay in high profile places too but I would not hesitate to come to Cirque again - I felt at home!
The terrace is lovely, great place to start your day.

Lima - Miraflores (beach, restaurants etc) is in walking distance (or 2 USdollar taxi ride).
Historic City Centre is 6 US dollar ride away (about 20mins).
Airport transfers - the Cirque guys will wait for you for 20 US dollars. This is more than you will pay ideally for the taxi ride but you avoid the need to take chances with unknown drivers just as you arrive. And you don't waste any time and have the pleasure to get great intro to Lima (even if you don't speak Spanish, you will understand each other if you try :).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiceShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in the Cirque Hostel on first arrival from the UK. Maybe arriving in new surroundings might make you feel a little intimidated at first, but the staff at the Cirque Hostel made you feel right at home. We were constantly asking them for the help and advice about our onward travel and all the staff were more than willing to give a helping hand in our plans. One even phoning and trying to sort all our bus tickets for us.

If we were in Lima again I wouldnt hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben_Yoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Was there April 2012, it was a first port of call on our holiday and we returned for two nights at the end of it. Good spot, nice 20 minute walk to the centre. Take your surroundings in and memorise where you are because we failed to get a taxi driver (except Roberto) to takes us there without having to help or get dropped off a couple of blocks away. The hostel was comfortable, had hot water 24 hours a day and the staff were one of the most helpful we come across. Oh and the Internet worked. Get Kevin to make you a pisco sour, he made the best we came across in Peru and get Roberto to take you to mount Cristobal, amazing spot not covered in tourists. A foot note which would make the difference if I stayed; I left my iPod in my room on our second night and got on the bus to Nazca, I emailed the hostel and they had it and kept it secure until I returned 3 weeks later, honesty is everything, thanks guys.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

really comfortable place, nice kitchen, computer, wi-fi, summarizing very good infrastructure... and the people are just amazingly friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Cirque for 3 nights and had a brilliant experience. The double room with private bathroom was lovely, clean and a good size. The location is very safe and quiet due to being a little bit further from the main hub of Miraflores. The staff were incredibly helpful and hospitable, and the breakfast was great. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hostal Torreblanca
Hostal Torreblanca
#39 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Hotel Runcu Miraflores
#28 of 226 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 321 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cirque Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cirque Hostel

Property: Cirque Hostel
Address: General Cordova 681, Miraflores, Lima Lima18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cirque Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cirque Hostel is situated in one of the nicest neighbourhoods of Lima, Miraflores, just a few blocks away from the beach, local market, and Huaca Pucllana ruins. It is a relatively small (six rooms total) cosy hostel, boasting cheerful circus-style design (hence the name) and relaxed atmosphere. Kitchen and wifi are ment to suite any traveller's needs. Our fabulous TV lounge, open terrace, and garden offer plenty of room to chill out after a hard day. Come and experience it yourself! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing