We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not bad”

Central Restaurante
Ranked #72 of 3,628 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $160 - $260
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

I been before in lima london and it was a nice experience. For this reason I been in Central and because is the 4th best in the world. But I not share that restaurant is the 4th. The food and the service was nice but not to be the best restaurants in the world

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank MilaRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 754 of 3,250 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2016

I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT! ... So ridiculous! It is a tasting style restaurant. Very expensive and what I got was minimal food. There are several stages with a waiter bringing ridiculous portions. Not all speak English and they do not know the name of all the products involved in the dishes. I have traveled the world and this turns out to be an insult to the patience and enthusiasm that we travelers expect when visiting a place and learn about its customs. There are many better restaurants in Lima than this one. The location... nothing special.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Patrick_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

I’ve booked for Central online as soon as the dates in June were available. The dates are available something around 2 months pior to the date. We had an excellent view of the kitchen behind a glass partition and then started the 17 course Mater Elevations menu with paired wines.

Central takes guests on a culinary expedition through Peru’s ecosystem, from the Amazon to Pacific coast. Chef Virgílio Martínez and his team forage in the jungle, desert, mountains and sea to discover diverse local ingredients found at every altitude

The meals were all excellent with a number of outstanding dishes that reflected individual palates. Considering the number of dishes, the dishes were well sized to allow the opportunity to enjoy the flavours and techniques without being too large. Watching the Chefs at work was very interesting and the entire kitchen operation oozed professionalism, confidence and ability.

The atmosphere is fantastic and the staff is even better. Definitely a must see if you are in Lima.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank 888GabrielA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Totally worth the experience if it's your one time in Lima and you are a foodie. Basically do this and Maido and you are set for LIFE.
It is a long tasting menu, many dishes, so make sure you don't ruin your appetite before. Have a light breakfast and get there hungry. Wine pairing wasn't amazing if you like wine, they were OK, too much white wine for my personal preference. I think it also had to do with the price of the pairing, wish they had a nicer option. Ask for the booklet of the description of the food in advance because they give it at the end. I personally enjoy reading and knowing the details while I eat.
Overall amazing. You should not miss it.

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank karinacsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

The restaurant is amazing and the staff take care of your every need. The open and modern atmosphere is perfect and allows you to see straight into the kitchen. The food is a trip around Peru. While the food is good it is not great - the experience is the great part of the restaurant. Be warned it is VERY experience but you should be aware of this if you are even considering the restaurant (it was ranked the 4th best restaurant in the world). Also, please give yourself 3 hours for the full experience and DO include the wine or juice tasting menu.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Restaurante also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Central Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.