We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good at first glance, but many flaws”
Review of Hotel LLaqta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel LLaqta
Ranked #128 of 236 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our stay here started off on such a good note, but unfortunately things soured somewhat quickly. We arrived at around 9am and were offered breakfast, which at most hotels is not usually given until the morning after sleeping there. They said that we could check in early and that they would have a room ready for us shortly. All of this seemed great.

However, when they told us our room was ready, they first tried to give us the room right next to the front door that many people have complained about on TA. We told them we did not want to stay there. At first they said that was the only room, but when we persisted, they said there was one on the second floor they could get ready for us. However, instead of the second floor, the room they gave us was in the back of the first floor right next to the kitchen. We could immediately hear the loud noises of people eating and plates clanking together coming from the kitchen and dining room while in our room. They refused to move us to a different room and got angry when we asked for a different room, such as the one on the second floor that they had initially offered.

The hotel itself was pretty clean, and had some character to it. The room was not big, but it was large enough to be comfortable. The internet was fast too, and the location is walking distance to Larcomar, Parque Kennedy, and some good restaurants for Ceviche. However, a couple other things that bothered us about this place. For one, the towels in the bathroom had weird gray spots all over them, so they just looked dirty. The hot water ran out halfway through the second shower. The hotel’s taxi driver charged anywhere between 1.5X and 3X as much as a cab on the street to go anywhere in the city.

However, the last straw for us came at checkout. We had been quoted a price on hotels.com of $72. However, when we checked out, they made us pay in soles (ok, that’s fine). But the exchange rate they used was S/ 2.777 per USD instead of about 2.5 (or 2.6 at the most). They said that was their rate and it was not negotiable. We figured this would happen all over Peru, but this was in fact the only hotel that gouged us on the exchange rate. Ended up spending $80/night instead of the advertised $72. Not cool. Bottom line is that if you book this hotel, agree to a rate in Soles in advance, and make sure you email them and get in writing that they will not put you in any of the rooms on the bottom floor.

Room Tip: Arrange in advance to not have a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the Llaqta for 4 days from 3rd to 7th of November. Location close to Larcomar and the famous cliffs of Miraflores in the second line behind the big names. The discount is considerable, rooms are spacy and clean and the fresh fruits at breakfast are just a dream.

Room Tip: Choose a room which doesn't give on Diego Ferré.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Werner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great value for the price. Clean and comfortable room. Best breakfast so far after two weeks in Peru at various hotels. They let us check in several hours early. Front desk very helpful, they even called our cab driver and sent someone in a cab to meet us halfway to the bus terminal after we realised we had left a wallet at the hotel. We would have missed the last bus to Arequipa had they not gone out of their way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finchynadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

There is absolutely nothing about the Llaqta with which I can find fault. Their driver was waiting for me at the airport as scheduled. The car was clean and comfortable, and the driver was very professional.

The hotel is spotless and very quiet. Most rooms look out over a very pleasant courtyard and immaculate pool. Rooms are spacious and airy (but not cold), water is piping hot, and the bed and linens are the nicest I have experienced in South America. Even the TP was good quality.

The hotel's location is ideal: two blocks from the beach, two blocks from the main business district in Miraflores. There is no street noise, but the hotel is right in the middle of everything.

Breakfast is included in the room rate, and was the best free breakfast I have found in Peru: real coffee, home-made juices, whole wheat breads available.

The service is ideal. Everyone at the hotel is super-simpatico. Internet is free and blazing fast. The staff were not only willing, but actually seemed happy to let me print out my boarding passes at no charge.

For the $52 I paid, I consider it a great bargain. I can't imagine a better value in Miraflores. My single regret is that I only spent one night. There is no question that I will stay at the Llaqta next time I'm in Lima.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doctorbfromca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We got a room very close to reception so we didn't get sleep at all. As hotel had closed gate all the time we were woke up with every guest coming to hotel and every phone call to hotel.
Breakfast was in very small quantity. For the whole hotel it was just few slices of cheese and few slices of ham so better go for breakfast very early.
View from the the room was for the hotel garbage.
This was the worst and most expensive hotel during my stay in Peru.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I booked this hoping for some rest time after having done the Inca Trail so was looking forward to resting in the garden and using the pool. The hotel looks lovely but unfortunately when I arrived in mid March they had major renovations going on. It's a shame they hadn't mentioned this when I emailed to make the reservation. If the building work is still going on, then it'd be fine if you want to be out all day but just be aware.
The location is excellent and to their credit the two ladies were very understandiung and helped me find a suitable, quiet, alternative.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Very satisfied and staff very nice,rooms kind small but enought for my family,I highly recommended this hotel ,few blocks away from larcomar great location.

Room Tip: Family room is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pablogarcia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel & Casino Boulevard
Miraflores
Embajadores Hotel
Embajadores Hotel
#126 of 236 in Lima
236 reviews
Miraflores
El Doral Apart Hotel
El Doral Apart Hotel
#124 of 236 in Lima
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores Colon Hotel
#85 of 236 in Lima
164 reviews
San Isidro
Basadre Suites Boutique Hotel
qp Hotels Lima
#97 of 236 in Lima
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LLaqta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LLaqta

Address: Diego Ferre 249 - Miraflores, Lima Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 236 Hotels in Lima
Price Range: $46 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel LLaqta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can be found in the most peaceful and beautiful street in the district of Miraflores- far from the commercial areas, but a short distance from the Center of Lima, and only one block away from Larcomar. Our rooms are spacious and prepared for your comfort with private bathrooms, hot water 24 hours a day, cable television, telephones, 220v and 110v electric currents, hair dryers, laundry service, and safety chests. Guests will feel at home. Each room, including its beds and towels, is cleaned daily. The cost of your room also covers a free buffet breakfast and the 10% tip for services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel LLaqta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing