We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”
Review of Maido

Maido
Ranked #4 of 2,591 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Peruvian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miraflores
Description: Nikkei food restaurant
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Some of the best food ive ever had in my whole life the sushi is great and the rest of the dishes are great. i recommend the entrana anticuchos and the ribs wrapped in salad those are my two favourite things on the menu. great atmosphere everyone greets you when you arrive and leave. And everytime ive been there the chef comes out and speaks to the guests which adds a great touch
make sure to reserve before you go

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gasper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,854
    368
    108
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Let's make this place #1”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Maido is f******* great. 'Nuff said!
Great service. Great food. Great wine. Even greater desserts - Cacao 100%. Treat yourself!

Helpful?
Thank Maxnwaxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

A reservation is a must, even on a Sunday, for drinks there was a mandarin chilcano, very refreshing. As a starter, the octupus was great as well as a roasted pork in cabbage leaf that you eat like a wrap. The green rice with duck is good but the beef rosst is just heaven. Definitely need to go back to taste other dishes

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Achongc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nikkei Gourmet It's a Must”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The inventiveness of the Nikkei cuisine of Maido will leave you wanting to go back. Simply put, this type of cuisine and this restaurant are on the verge of popularizing a whole new brand of cuisine: Peruvian-Japanese fusion.

First off, this restaurant has the best service in town. The staff has great suggestions, and if you don't go with those, they still will bring out your food in a succession that will maximize your enjoyment. Also, service is prompt and friendly. My four year old had a blast, and this is a grown up place.

Knowing that seafood is the best in Peru, any restaurants offering the fruits of the Peruvian sea are a must while in town. We started with a sashimi, which was extremely impressive, had an amazing texture, it was soft and fresh. Then a ceviche sampler, also amazing although next time I visit, I'll go for the yellow pejerrey which was the best thing I have had in a while.

Then we got an apanado roll, that was one of the tastiest rolls I have had. To close we ordered a fried rice tacu-tacu, pure Nikkei inventiveness, a cod fish, and a tarallin saltado, which in that Japanese style is the best I have ever had. For dessert, we ordered a deconstructed cake, and even though it was good, it was odd.

As you can see, I have said "the best I have had" a few times. It's true and I am not hyping this place up. The new dishes that the Japanese-Peruvian fusion bring to the table are very exciting. It is the tastiest new type of cuisine emerging to prominence. I won't be surprised to see Maido make the top restaurants next year, after they work on their menu a bit.

I did not explore the cocktail menu or the sake menu because I found the drinks menu to be a little bit lacking. Regular wines, drinks, pisco sours are available, but I feel that to be a better restaurant, you need your own drink menu. But even with this snag, I feel that Maido will be surfacing very soon as one of the best restaurants in Lima.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous sashimi”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I went here on the recommendation of a business associate and was not disappointed. The sashimi we were served was exceptionally fresh and delicious. The chef even came over to say hello to us at the sushi bar. While the sake menu is limited, there are some decent ones if you know what to look for. I imagine it isn't easy to import a great many. The uni was the best I have had in years and prepared nicely with great care and flourish. I recommend it if it is in your budget.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maido also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Maido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing