We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maido is awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maido

Maido
Ranked #6 of 2,441 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Miraflores
Description: Nikkei food restaurant
Utica, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
“Maido is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This restaurant is the best! It is my favourite! I totally reccomend it to anyone. Definitely the best Sushi restaurant in Lima! Go there! NOW haha

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,541
    340
    92
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go only if you're not paying”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

To be honest, the food is pretty darn good but portions are tiny for such expensive fare. The bill for myself and a friend, for a grilled ceviche, a roll and a tartare with non-alcoholic drinks came up to 157 soles, or about USD61. We should have known looking at the mostly-business crowd, which probably meant very few actually paid their own meal. The worst was the waiter blatantly asking us "how much tip are you gonna include" when swiping our credit cards. I do tip for good service and have been to michelin starred restaurants, but have NEVER been asked outright to tip. So they got none from me.

Helpful?
Thank seepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The very best Japanese/Peruvian restaurant in Lima”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have eaten in this excellent restaurant dozens of times and have always left in a state of great satisfaction. The food is fantastic, the service perfect and the setting simple but pleasant. I can only strongly advise to try it out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongorock56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Pleasant Japanese food but nothing to write home about for vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of the reasons we chose Maido was its likely good options for vegetarians. Our waiter was accommodating and lovely, but the choices aren't massive and the veggie dishes are fairly unremarkable, though certainly tasty. The restaurant is attractive, but having failed to make a reservation, we were put in the bar area which lacks much ambience. Quite expensive for what we got, but the food was well prepared and tasty. Note they have two different menus - Fusion and Japanese. Ask for both! And note both have English language versions.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Absolutely excellent. Honestly nothing bad to say about this place.

Try the Guraton sushi roll. They have goat cheese Ice cream which was interesting!

I went for dinner and then went back for lunch later in the week. Make a reservation if you have more than one person, I sat at the bar. Great food, Great staff, great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maido also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Maido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing