We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pariwana Hostel Lima
Ranked #1 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As far as a hostel goes, this is one of the best (although I think Pariwana Cusco tops Lima). They have a great atmosphere, with incredibly helpful staff. The location is ideal for walking around the artistic center of Lima, right across the street from a park where art and craft festivals are sometimes held. We stayed in a twin double room (ie. private bathroom). The rooms were very basic, but the bathroom was bigger than in many hostels, which was nice. Our room faced a side street, so we couldn't hear too much street traffic - but we did hear a few party goers returning late at night. What sets this hostel apart is the great staff, amazing (and cheap) food, complimentary tea, and the rooftop bar/lounge. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 769 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

The staff here were the highlight, friendly and entertaining, decent bar a party hostel where you can sleep like a baby in the biggest bunks around, the only disappointment was the tour office - we were completly ripped off in booking the paracas ilsa and national park tour - do not trust them for tours but great hostel

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here in December 2012 for three nights. Firstly they have pretty secure lockers by the reception that you can put your small valuables into. That was nice. Then they have lockers in the dorm bedrooms which you can leave your backpacks in, But you should put absolutely everything into these lockers, DO NOT leave anything on the beds there as the cleaners will take them. We made this mistake. I had to get the cleaners to go through over a dozen bin liner bags full of clothes until they could find my jumper. They found it eventually but couldn't find my girlfriends cardigan and to be fair made a bad effort and didnt bother to go through all of the bags before giving up and saying that they didnt have it.

When you stay there they right your name on a piece of whiteboard and your checkout date on your bed. I came back one day to find that all of my details had been wiped off of this and the bed made ready for some new guests even though my checkout date was another 2 days off. That was pretty bad to be fair as the checkout date was clearly displayed on the bed.

This was a personal experience however so i would imagine that this doesnt happen often. I hope. The bottom line is however that this is a party hostel and is based at a major junction in miraflores with taxi drivers beeping their horns 24 hours a day. This is a very noisy hostel. Do not expect to get a good nights sleep here.

Also Don't bother to get cocktails here either as the staff quite clearly cannot make them and mess up the bills if you put drinks on your tab. PAY upfront to avoid this. Our bartender was drunk and stoned and screwed up the tabs for a few people and brought shame to the world of cocktails.

Room Tip: Do Not leave anything on the beds and bring a good set of earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We are so glad that we stayed here. In the beginning we solely picked this hostel bec we can store some of our luggages before heading off to other parts of Peru then just return back to Lima to catch our flight. But we liked this place so much that instead of just getting our luggage when we returned, that we made sure to stay 2 more extra days in Lima so we can relax in Pariwana and we booked a private room in advance.
We stayed in the dorm and also a private room and all in stayed 5 days.
(+)
Friendly atmosphere
GOOD breakfast
the best TV room of all my journeys- large tv, wall to wall carpeting (they vacuum everyday) large pillows to lie in or prop with.
You get towels and soap (only if you take a private room prolly with bathroom)
You get 2 pillows per person. This is important for me.
You can cook your own meals although you can order at their restaurant as well and the food is tasty.
Available Free Coffee or tea (stops late at night tho)
FOR DORM - We stayed at the 6 person with shared bathroom inside the room, this is preferable coz you get more space to move around, its not so cramped inside this room. No provided towels for dorm users. This room is also in a quiet place.
LOCKERS- huge, can fit your whole backpack and usually has a socket inside so you can recharge your cellfones/laptop etc and lock it away.
FOR PRIV ROOM- We got the twin (2 separate beds) room with bathroom. If your a couple then just join the two beds together =).
Our room got a fan and ample sized bathrooom with towels and soap.
LUGGAGE STORAGE- they give you a stub whenever you have your luggage stored. We left ours for almost 3 weeks and was able to retrieve it with nothing lost.
We made friends.

(-) No wifi in dorm or priv rooms
Minimum or laundry is 2 kgs.
Restaurant is over priced imo.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pariwana Lima is a party hostel through and through. The average age group of people staying here is late teens to late twenties, so it's great if you're into meeting the partying crowd. But steer clear of Pariwana if you're an early sleeper as many guests only come back well after midnight, and most if them drunk and rowdy.

The hostel is situated in the centre of one of the richest, safest and prettiest neighborhoods in Lima, Miraflores and we felt very safe walking around the neighborhood at all times of the day (there are many security officers patrolling the neighborhood). Bars, restaurants, banks, shops, the beach and Larcomar Mall are all situated a stone's throw away.

The beds at Pariwana are some of the most comfortable hostel beds I've slept on in South America. Beds are made daily and fresh towels are handed out everyday. I also love the lockers, which come with a electrical outlet in them (great for charging devices when you're out). Pariwana also gets extra points for the many guest activities it has planned for its guests.

Some cons. The reception counter is always understaffed and you normally have to wait for awhile before being served. So when checking out, give yourself plenty of time. Laundry is a whopping 6 soles per kg. Unfortunately, there are no lavanderías nearby so it's not like you can do your own laundry and save a couple of soles. Wifi is only available in the common areas i.e. the reception and bar area so Skyping or calling home is always a challenge because these common areas are always busy and noisy, particularly at night.

Tip: Ask for a dorm to the left of the reception area. Rooms there tend to be quieter. It was impossible to sleep in the dorms facing the main street.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights between Cusco and getting a flight out of Lima. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm, and on my first night I was the only person there (lucky me), although on the second night I had four people in the room, and it was pretty disruptive with two of the guys coming in drunk to their bunk in the middle of the night. On the plus side, the service was immense (I think Solange helped me - very nice), and it's very fun and social, and they provide a cheap-ish dinner option on most nights too...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesSteerforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

They do not provide towels and will charge you to "rent" otherwise. Fantastic location and beds. Rooftop terrace has a stocked bar with food and drinks, although it's a little pricey compared to buying outside the hostel. If you don't mind a big social hostel, this is the best place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
Courtyard Lima Miraflores
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#13 of 230 in Lima
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 358 in Lima
211 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 358 in Lima
428 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pariwana Hostel Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pariwana Hostel Lima

Address: Av. Jose Larco 189 | Miraflores, Lima 14, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $12 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pariwana Lima is the top located hostel in town: right in the heart of the residential and cultural district of Miraflores and with a privileged front view to the Central Park, also named Kennedy Park. The hostel is surrounded by shops, coffee shops, restaurants, fast food franchises, cinemas, drugstores, transportation facilities and superb night life. Pariwana is bringing with it a huge range of Peruvian design and arts. This ideally located house has been decorated within the range of the Peruvian-trendy movement and has been specially thought to target the backpackers desire to experience our culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Pariwana Hostel Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing