We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice & fun”
Review of Condor`s House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Condor`s House
Ranked #37 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

well located, walking distance to grocery sore, places to see, things to do like "paragliding" it's a friendly place to stay, easy to meet people, live music on weekends "the best music you can find it here", plus the pisco sour that rocks!!! ... I'm coming back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 305 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

i love this place - it has made my 1st trip to lima wonderful....the boss of condor'house is absolutely fantastic - he has made this house into a home with his humility ?& friendliness...the staff are awesome, always helpful & smiling....the ambiance of condor's is so homely & peaceful....very very clean...& in the evenings the party atmosphere just brings you dancing on your feet....i recommend this stay 100%!!!! for the price i have gotten 5* service!!! keep it up condor's!!!..
Condor's provides dining & wining @ very affordable prices....live music to enjoy....& comfortable rooms to suit your budgets! Free wi-fi is also available...And a huge ping-pong table to play!!!A huge kitchen for you to cook your own meals if you wish & breakfast is complimentary!!
This is an alright little place within walking distance to all the things you want to see in Miraflores.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAVAL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is an alright little place within walking distance to all the things you want to see in Miraflores. The staff cannot do enough for you and the rooms are clean and tidy. The bathrooms are all shared and are a bit scummy. Hot water is lukewarm at best and more of a dribble than a decent shower. Pressure or warmth - the choice is yours! Breakfast is very basic served out of a pretty dirty looking kitchen. But it's not far to go get a real coffee and a bite to eat cheaply. You can't bring your own booze to drink in their nice little courtyard but they will sell you drinks, at double the price of the shops but a fraction of the price at home. For a night or two this is fine - just don't expect luxury!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hostel twice and, frankly, would never recommend it to anyone.

The first time we stayed was in September, for two nights. As soon as we arrived we got a bad vibe... the place was dark and very noisy and we didn't feel welcome at all. The bathrooms are dirty, as is the rest of the hostel. The wifi is extremely temperamental - it cuts out regualrly and when it does work it's very slow. It also seems as though it's a hangout for a group of locals - there seems to be a lot of people there all the time who aren't guests. And all of the people there stay in their little groups and are rather unfriendly. Not a single taxi driver we encountered during our stay knew where this hostel was located, even after being shown the location - it must be an unusual spot - and as a result we spent a ridiculous amount of time lost in cabs. The list of negatives goes on and on. 

Regardless, we needed somewhere to store some of our belongings for two weeks while we flew down to Argentina, but were on a very tight schedule in Lima and didn't have time to move to another hostel. We also needed to pre-book a hostel for the night we arrived back in Lima after our trip to Argentina as our plane was due back after 11pm. So, even though we would have much preferred to go elsewhere, we booked a private room at Condor's House for that night for convenience's sake. There were two main reasons for the private twin room: so we wouldn't disturb other guests when we got back well after midnight, and because we had to pack up two large bags of gifts and belongings to send home before check out the next day. We explained all of this to the staff at Condor's House, and I watched the staff member enter our reservation into the computer. I asked whether I would need to email to reconfirm closer to the date, particularly because of our late arrival time, and I was assured that was not necessary as the booking was 100% confirmed. 

When we arrived back to Lima after our trip, we got to the hostel at 1am after 20 hours in transit to discover the private room we had reserved had been given to other guests. The staff member was expecting us - it was no surprise to him that we were there, but he said the private room had been double booked so my brother would have to sleep in one dorm room and I would have to sleep in a different dorm room. I explained the situation about the need to pack our bags to send home, and that this would mean disturbing guests in the dorm room, I also explained that we would need to be in the same room to do so as we both had things to put in the bags. The staff member said he may have a solution and if he asked a live-in guest to sleep on the couch for the night we could have a "basic" room with two bunks. He showed us to the room, which was essentially a cupboard with two bunks and no door, and literally set up as a bedroom with the other guest's belongings spread out everywhere. As it was now 2am, we had no choice. I asked if the other guest would need to come into the room and he said yes as he lived there. I asked if he could take the clothes he needed so we could be left alone for the night. We then attempted to go to sleep, which was extremely difficult due to the noise coming from the group of people partying in the back courtyard (this was the same as the other two nights we had previously stayed).

We couldn't fit our backpacks, bags to send home and two people in the room. Not even close. So we had to use the hallway to pack the bags to send home.

I asked the staff member whether we could have a discounted price due to the inconvenience caused and he said he had taken two soles off the price for each person - a whopping 80 cents each. I asked for a better deal and he refused.

I don't like to whinge, and won't unless it's deserved. It's not rocket science - when someone reserves a room, it should not be given out to other guests. If there is a question about whether the reservation is still required, the hostel should contact the guest using one of the multiple forms of contact that the guest has provided. If they screw this simple process up, they should offer a decent discount or something substantial to make up for it, particularly when the guest raises their concerns with a staff member multiple times. And if they don't, they should expect a terrible review.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sn3117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Second time I come to this place. The staff is friendly and is working so much to improve the confort for their customers. The travellers are very nice also and contribute to the great atmospher. Some instruments are available and it's not rare to assist to nice concerts! (I spent 2 weeks there)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Condor's house is a very cute little place with very friendly staff, who even mix with travellers in the evenings and share experiences and just chat with you. There is a nice little patio with a barbeque, where you will meet loads of different people. In Lima it is situated very well, just a short walk to the sea and the centre of Miraflores, a very safe neighbourhood. Everybody feels very well cared for and just like home. The rooms and the whole house are very clean, the standard of the bathrooms varies a bid, some are beautiful and large, one is a bid old. I can recommend to everybody to stay in Condor's house - I will definitely come back when I return to Lima one day.

Room Tip: Redondo has a nice bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AaalexD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

After reading the reviews for this hostel I was expecting much more than I got. Me and a friend visited the the hostel the day before to ask what time we could check in the following day, we were told 12pm so left it at that, the next day we turned up at 1pm just to be safe and were told that the room would be ready in 10 mins, 45 mins later we were still waiting and were told again that it would only be a further 10 mins. We were then approached by the hostel manager and told that we might as well leave our bags in storage and go out for the afternoon as the room wouldnt be ready for a while. When we returned a few hours later the room was ready but there was no electricity in the hostel, it came on an hour later but was off again when we woke up the following morning which meant there was no hot water for a shower before we had to leave for the airport. Not a good experience at all!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aledshiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Callao
Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel
Dragonfly Hostels
#5 of 358 in Lima
456 reviews
Miraflores
Alpes Lima
Alpes Lima
#23 of 358 in Lima
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 358 in Lima
428 reviews
Cercado de Lima
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condor`s House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condor`s House

Address: Calle Manco Capac 311 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $20 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Condor`s House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Hostel situated in the center of Miraflores district, Since March 2017,We have moved to a better, new and well located House in Miraflores.5 minutes walking to the kennedy park and the beaches in the coast of lima. Condor's House offers furnished private and shared rooms with shared bathroom facilities. Facilities include an spacious and well equipped kitchen, Free breakfast! , 24 hours reception, Free Wi-Fi , our Bar offers a wide variety of drinks and refreshments. Guests can play table tennis in Condor's House’s garden, Free walking tours, Cheap Bus Tickets, a common lounge with a TV, and airport shuttle services. Condor's House is a nice restored two-storey house with great atmosphere and all you need to have fun and feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Condor`s House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing