We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel - little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Kokopelli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Kokopelli
Ranked #17 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Lima
New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Hostel - little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We really liked this hostel. Its location is fantastic in the heart of Miraflores on a street full of bars, 1 street away from loads of restaurants, 2 blocks from the square, 20 mins to the parks/beaches/Larcomar. The hostel has a very cool chilled out vibe, with awesome wall art and a big bar/chill out area on the top floor. They have happy hour offers most nights, its very friendly and sociable. A great place to meet people. Our double room was small and a bit noisy as it faced the street & above a bar, but we are heavy sleepers so it didnt bother us. The private bathrooms are interesting. ITs actually one bathroom with 3 cubicles, each has a toilet and shower, sinks are communal outside. You have a key to your bathroom which other people cant use, but its really no different from a shared bathroom. All very clean and towels included. The breakfast was scrambled eggs, bread, jam and fresh juice. The main desk were friendly but not overly helpful with suggestions/advice. They were generally snowed with people arriving/leaving. It was a very busy/popular hostel. Im glad we stayed here and would definitely recommend it, but if you're on a budget and thats your priority there will be cheaper places to stay im sure. If your priority is to meet people this is a great option.

Room Tip: I think most rooms are street facing, so bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LW2010NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    135
    54
    20
    12
See reviews for
9
96
88
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed in a 4 bed dormitory. The beds were good and the lockers were huge! Good vibe in the place and a great rooftop bar. The location of the hostel is great, just a few blocks from parque Kenedy in the Miraflores district of Lima.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The front desk staff are really helpful and friendly, as are the bar staff on the top floor.

Rooms are large and the lockers are HUGE (I could fit my whole backpack lying down on one shelf and lay out toiletries and laptop on the other - and there was a power socket IN the locker to securely charge my laptop while I slept!!)

The mattress was nice and firm (and new), wi-fi is pretty fast and the upstairs bar is a great area to hang out.

Only complaint is that the eggs and fruit-juice in the free breakfast "run out" every day at 10am even though they advertise that breakfast is until midday (why not just make more!?).

Also, the tour desk seems only interested in selling you on busses etc where they get a commission, eg I wanted to go to Chachapoyas from Lima and none of the 3 bus lines they sell go there, and the guy tried to dissuade me from using Movil Tours (who do go there directly and were totally fine) so he could sell me a bus ticket that only got me 1/2 way there.

But, overall, the hostel itself is excelllent and I'd def stay there again when in Lima.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Definitely your typical party hostel. Great location, but I felt like I was paying quite a bit for what was offered. Stingy breakfast with a lady giving you one piece of bread. Had to pay more for anything else. But they did help us book a bus which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iverson_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was traveling by myself through Peru. Came right away from Zürich to the Kokopelli which is in the middle of Miraflores. I choose a girls dorm (6 bed) and had the best time ever. The stuff is very very helpful they booked 3 trips for me which was perfect. Every night there is something going on at the roof top. You are never alone. The bathroom which you share is not so clean you have a shower and a small toilet You have safe boxes which I suggest, to bring your own locker. The door is often open so if you have really expensive stuff better to take it with you. During the night (since it is a party hostel) you can not sleep so well. People are coming in and out even guys. For me it was just perfect I did not look for the 5 star hotel I wanted to meet people which I did and traveled with them for a couple of days. I wanted to stay 3 nights and stayed 5! I really suggest to young people to go there and have fun.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReJoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had an ok experience at Hostel Kokopelli. It's a great hostel if you are looking for a place to drink and meet other travels who want to party. We are a thirty-something couple who probably weren't a good fit for the place. It's in a great location in Miraflores, close to great restaurants and things to do. We had a private room that was very simple, but clean with a comfortable bed. Internet worked well. Private bathroom was across the hall...not in the best condition or the cleanest, but ok. It was about $36US/night. Breakfast was simple, but good...made to order eggs, bread, jams, coffee, juice.

We had a very negative experience using their pick-up service from the airport...The cost was higher than a taxi would've been and the taxi was in terrible condition (wires coming out of the floorboard, driver reading his paper/talking on cell phone, backdoor where our luggage located about to pop open at any moment!) I highly recommend getting your own taxi, but be careful and watch for scams.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lam0246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Clean, cheap and a great location in Miraflores. The staff also went out of there way to help me with my trip. I don't speak a ton of Spanish and couldn't find any info on the internet on how to book buses to Huacachina for sand boarding. These guys booked all of it for me and were very responsive by email weeks before my trip. We also stopped by there before we stayed and they let us leave half our luggage with them while we went to the desert for a week.

The hostal is nice, seemed somewhat new and has a good vibe if you're looking to have fun. On the downside it can be a bit noisy and I booked a private room with a private bath but the bathroom is not in the room. It's down the hall and you get a key to a private toilet and shower but you used the shared sink. It's not a big deal but something that should be stated before you book because that's weird (to Americans at least). Overall though, a good experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXtourst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 325 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#9 of 325 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
LOKI Lima
#3 of 325 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 325 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Kokopelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Kokopelli

Property: Hostel Kokopelli
Address: Calle Berlin 259 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Kokopelli is a fun place for backpackers to spend the night and meet people from all over the world. It's a clean and inexpensive hostel with a convivial atmosphere and a great location in the heart of Miraflores. The beds at Hostel Kokopelli are large, the clean showers have high water pressure and sheets and towels are provided. There are funky indoor and outdoor common areas, personal lockers and a luggage room plus Wi-Fi and computers with access to the Internet. Guests can also take advantage of the hostel's laundry service, book exchange, bike rental, and surfing tours and courses. Reception is available 24 hours a day and the multilingual staff is ready to help guests in any way they can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Kokopelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Kokopelli Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing