We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Lima, near to airport, clean and nice breakfast”
Review of Magdalen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magdalen House
Ranked #69 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at Magdalen House for over 2 weeks, the place is very clean, and cozy; the staff makes you feel as welcomed like a family member from day one; and all of them are very helpful, they have (in site) laundry washer and dryer, public coin-phone inside, and a great basic breakfast during early morning (included in their price) 2 eggs, coffe, and 3 fresh pieces of bread.
Pictures at their website are very accurate, rooms, bathrooms, and beds are cleaned daily.

The place is located a few blocks from bus stops, and near stores restaurants shops and more, I stayed in other hotels but this is not just another hotel, it is the only place I will stay in Lima, it is like a home away from home, were you can stay with family

Thanks to all their staff my visit to Lima was an enjoyable experience!

Hermann from Miami

Room Tip: The place is not located at a major avenue which makes it peaceful and rooms don't have air cond...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hermann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Magdalen House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 15 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife, adult daughter, teenage granddaughter, a friend, and I traveled to Lima to participate in a two-week volunteer project. The coordinator had searched for safe and reasonably-priced hostel-type accommodation for our group (eleven in all, mostly early-twenties), and found Magdalen House to be the most suitable. This four-storey hostel is in the safe and walkable city of Magdalena del Mar, one of the many cities that make up greater Lima. This city of about 85 000 is between the Pacific Ocean (about eight blocks away) and a main thoroughfare called Avenue de la Marina. Found on Marina are several "Inca" markets, as well as a large American-style shopping centre, and many restaurants (including McDonald's, Chilis, etc.). The large, European-like city of Miraflores is a short taxi ride away and well-worth visiting, as is downtown Lima. The rest of Lima, from what we saw, is hardly what one would describe as a tourist destination: perpetually grey skies (pollution and humidity), crowded and often unfinished buildings, and horrendous traffic on main roads (think of five lanes of traffic trying to squeeze through roads built for three lanes, horns blaring, etc.). Pedestrians have absolutely no rights or recognition at uncontrolled intersections, which, for most Canadians, takes some getting used to.

Magdalen House is one of the most highly-rated hostels in this part of Lima. The staff is very friendly and helpful, although they speak next to no English (luckily, our coordinator was bilingual). The rooms are basic but satisfactory, each with its own private bathroom. The bathrooms are clean with tiled floors and shower. (The sink has only cold water, but the shower has both hot and cold.) There is no central heating, so the room and bed seem somewhat damp and chilly at first, but luckily, the beds have heavy blankets. The room my wife and I had was on the second floor, and overlooked a central courtyard that went right to the top of the building. It was very noisy in the early morning, as the staff prepared breakfast, moving the heavy wooden tables and chairs (on tiled floors). We considered asking for an outside-facing room, but never got around to it (or else we got used to the noise). Laundry services are available (for a reasonable amount), WiFi service is excellent, and there is a lounge with two computers and a printer. Breakfast is provided in the dining room; it consists of tea and coffee, fresh rolls with strawberry jam, and the staff will provide a fried egg. The kitchen is available for patrons' use for lunch and dinner, with a large fridge for their use. (Fresh food markets are nearby, and at the mall is a huge, modern supermarker [Wong] with anything you could find in a North American store.) The stove is small with two gas burners, and a microwave oven is available.

Before traveling to Peru, we were advised to bring lots of American money (especially ones). This was unnecessary as the Peruvian currency was expected for use (we traded a lot of our American $ for Peruvian Soles at the Western Union at the mall). Also, we were advised to bring transformers and adapters for our laptops, hair dryers, etc. These were also unnecessary as the outlets at the hostel (and also at two hotels in Cusco) were fine for our electronics.

Transportation in and around Magdalena del Mar was fun and convenient in the "Tuk-tuks", small, two-passenger covered motorcycle-adapted taxis (about 2 soles--75 cents). A regular taxi to the airport was about 50 soles.

Magdalen House has an excellent website (magdalenhouse.com) including a YouTube video of the hostel. It would be very useful to access this site if you are considering a trip to Lima.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the outside of the building as those facing the inside are somewhat noisy in t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pedro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prendre les chambres donnant sur l'arriére
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bardamu2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones que quedan alejados de la entrada tendrán menos ruido externo.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATTERINE CECIL... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fernanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones son todas cómodas y no hay ruidos molestos
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hospedaje del Pilar
#139 of 314 in Lima
1 reviews
Pretty House Hostel
#70 of 349 in Lima
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Miguel
Just Imagine
Just Imagine
#106 of 349 in Lima
10 reviews
San Miguel
Acercate Apartamentos Lima
Casa Aika
#97 of 314 in Lima
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdalen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalen House

Address: Jr. Ayacucho 778 Magdalena del Mar, Lima 511, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $24 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Magdalen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing