We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Centro Historico de Lima
from $40.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
Reviews (4,639)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveler rating
460
367
97
19
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
367
97
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic center presidential palace government buildings beautiful architecture wooden balconies the main square plaza san martin at noon every corner city hall walk around south america walking tour felt safe nice area take pictures guard
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

I enjoyed walking dowtown and going to the artisan places. Great place to shop for silver and silver variations goods.

Thank NCSPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Any visit to Lima would not be complete without a tour of its historic centre which has been declared a UNESCO World heritage Site. Much of the architecture and monuments date from the time of the Spanish presence in Peru.

Thank 53Shadrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nicely kept and a good place to walk around to enjoy the sites. We took a tour bus around the city, which is probably not the way to go due to traffic as it took too long and the weather was a bit crispy. All in all, glad we visited.

Thank Shela01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Centro Histórico is not to be missed on a trip to Lima. Spacious, clean and lots of beautiful buildings with great photo opportunities. Plenty of restaurants and cafes, some very old and traditional. Handicraft shops are worth a look as well.

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One gets a good impression of the size of the city of Lima when traveling through the congested streets by bus. It took us a good half hour to get from Miraflores to the Historic Center of Lima, founded by Francisco Pizarro in 1535 is known as the “City of Kings”. A UNESCO World Heritage Site, this center is among the most important tourist destinations in Peru, boasting a high concentration of historic monuments from the Spanish occupation. According to UNESCO, “the evangelization process brought several religious orders by the end of the XVI century. They gained great recognition which translated into the construction of many churches and convents of great extension and sophistication. Also, hospitals, schools and universities were built.” It is interesting to note that many of the buildings of Spanish construction did not survive the earthquakes, in comparison to those built by their predecessors, the Inca and other ancient civilizations.

Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our tour of the Plaza de Armas was limited to viewing the Cathedral and Archbishop’s Palace, Government Palace and the Municipalidad (City Hall) from the outside only. All look very impressive set within this UNESCO Workd Heritage site, although the vultures roosting on the cathedral spire looked ominous. Sadly, I cannot comment on their interiors as I did not have time to visit. In contrast, the nearby Santo Domingo Convent (actually an active monastery), is well worth visiting built in rococo style with an inner courtyard having beautifully tiled walls and pillars, interesting library and a crypt containing an ossuary of hundreds of skeletons and the remains of Santa Rosa of Lima.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm not sure if I was annoyed with the noise (honking non-stop) and disgusted with the dirty streets, horrid smells and bums everywhere because it really IS that bad or because I'd just spent two weeks in the mountains listening to birds and waterfalls but I found this city to be quite awful.

I'm still glad to have spent an afternoon here - but that's as much as I could take. I'd recommend a visit to the catacomb, a short walk-around the main squares and side streets and then go back to Miraflores or other neighbourhoods to enjoy the evening and night.

Although we were safe during the day, I could see how "bad" it could get at night. Lots of police presence, at least.

Thank Anikabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As another reviewer has mentioned, Lima’s historical center is no better and no worse than any other central historical site. The balcony of the Palace of the Archbishop and the Cathedral are beautiful and standout in this area. There are a lot of people trying to sell trinkets, pictures, and other things as soon as you step into the historical center. It is crowded as is to be expected. It’s still however worth a stop since there is a lot of action here. There are several shops in the area that are great for gifts.

Thank sharms202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is another historic district in a continent full of them. The Plaza San Martín and Plaza de Armas are nice enough but overall this is no better or worse than any other.

Thank Millet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

We tried the 16 course tasting menu with South American beverage pairing. Simply amazing masterfully used ingredients. Very special night for us with my daughter and her boyfriend. It's expensive but really worth it. We would not be able to try this menu anywhere else in the world.

Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews