We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take an hour or two and just walk around.”

Centro Historico de Lima
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Cultural Lima City Tour
Ranked #9 of 328 things to do in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lima's downtown center, with its breathtaking architecture and rich history, makes it clear why it deserves to be a Unesco World Heritage Site.
Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Take an hour or two and just walk around.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The streets around the Plaza de Armas, are lined with colonia buildings with their characteristic wooden balconies. Apart from the cathedral there are important churches, notably San Francisco with its catacombs lined with human skulls. There are several pedestrian streets with outdoor cafes so take a couple hours and just enjoy the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,973
    1,448
    355
    46
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lots to see in historic centre”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent two days visiting the historic centre of Lima. Very crowded on the streets as it was a long weekend and the locals were out in full force. But it is very colourful and you truly get to see a bit of life of the Peruvians. Lots of historic sites like San Francisco Monastery, the Cathedral (we saw a Peruvian wedding in progress), the Plaza de Armas was a great place to hang out. A nice surprise was the City Hall. You can have the service of a private guide for free (with a tip of course) - you get to see the beautiful colonial stairs and skylight and get taken out onto the balcony that looks out onto the Plaza de Armas.

The area of the Plaza San Martin is also interesting with the Gran Hotel Bolivar a must visit - gorgeous dome. But to truly get the local flavour, you have to venture out to the Av. Abancay, but have to be careful. We were warned not to stay out here after dark or even to take a cab just off the street. We had dinner in Chinatown and ended up calling a hotel cab to come and pick us up. It costs more but worth the peace of mind.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rarecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I visited the historic centre with my language school classmates. We visited the San Franciscan monastery which was beautiful, had a great lunch at a local restaurant and walked along the pretty pedestrian roads. In the evening we had Pisco sours at Hotel Bolivar - lovely end to a great day :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daphne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Kentucky
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's worth a day at least but make sure you don't show up on a Monday when all museums are closed. The public spaces are quite nice and Churches good to see. I thought Chinatown was a bit of a miss but be sure to eat "Chifa" while in Lima

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank smartinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
304 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lots to see in Lima”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

There are many places of interest in LIma, especially in the Plaza de Armas - the Archbishop's Palace with its Moorish balconies, Presidential Palace with uniformed guards & huge flag, the Cathedral, etc. Perhaps not much for kids but very photogenic - esp if you catch it when the sun is shining as we did!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Historico de Lima also viewed

 

Been to Centro Historico de Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing