We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit off the beaten track..interesting lunchtime experience”

Puntarenas Restaurant
Ranked #519 of 2,556 Restaurants in Lima
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Chorrillos
BRASILIA
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A bit off the beaten track..interesting lunchtime experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Let´s face it, there a dozens of good places to eat in Lima and it´s hard to choose between them. For more adventurous tourists I would suggest taking a taxi down the coast to this place in Chorrillos, particularly at lunchtime. It´s a 15-minute drive from Miraflores center. Huge bustling place with plenty of noise, plenty of good food and drink..more of a "comedor" than a restaurant. When I was there a couple of weeks ago It seemed to be patronized mainly by youngish local businessmen who certainly know their pisco sours from H2O in the know. I failed to see another gringo, so you could say it is "typically Peruvian" in style and ambiente..Order the usual things (shrimps, ceviche, papas a la huancaina, causa limeña etc), you will not be disappointed. Prices, unlike in smarter places, very reasonable, though not rock-bottom.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“tasty and fresh seafood, nice atmosphere and design”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Various seafood and peruan dishes, nice decorated hall. Also they have a playing ground for the children. Prices are rather good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntoninaR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Incredible tour of Peruvian favorites”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Pisco Sours, Arroz con camarones, lomo saltado, ceviche, arroz con camarones, causas con congrejo, picarones at Playa de Dulce in Lima! The restaurant is very nice, upscale in a casual way: airy, open. Will definitely find my way back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Accelerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood & great service”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

To clarify, Puntarenas has two restaurants: one in Chorrillos, and one in San Miguel. My review will concern the one in San Miguel.

This restaurant, perhaps a bit off of the usual tourist trail, was my favorite place to eat when I lived in Lima in 2008. When visiting last summer, it was just as good as I remembered. The seafood is just perfect, and the staff is very welcoming and helpful. On several (most) occasions I have relied on the waiters advice, and I have never regretted it.

Here are some of the dishes that this place does really well: jalea mixta (fried seafood), ceviche classico (1/2 conchas negras (type of clam from the northern magrove), 1/2 fish), corvina (chilean sea bass) in shrimp sauce, and last but not least, grilled or fried fresh (whole) fish.

If you decide to visit the zoo (parque de las leyendas), this restaurant is within walking distance. However, this restaurant is more than worth the trip on its own. The quality matches that of Lima's most expensive restaurants, and the price is comparatively modest.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PauldeVries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puntarenas Restaurant also viewed

 
Chorrillos, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Chorrillos, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Puntarenas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing