We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveler rating
348
183
58
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
183
58
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan isidrositting roomstaff was very friendly and helpfulwalk aroundshopping mallneighborhoodtaxiairportperukitchenettesolesdistrict
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 614 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a 2 bedroom suite, and it was one of the most spacious apartments i've ever rented. There was a kitchen, dining area, sitting area, living room with big screen tv, 2 bedrooms, and 3 bathrooms. A phenomenal bargain. Clean, quiet, and affordable.

There were a few minor issues (no hand towels, no shampoo in our bathroom, etc.) But overall, I can't complain.

Oh, apparently the individual rooms aren't as nice as the suites. So that's something to consider.

Room Tip: If you can, get the apartment suites.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crnky_asian_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniellelostaunau, Owner at Peru Star Botique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Peru Star, the apartment our guest is referring to is called the Deluxe Apartment. Let me be the first one to apologize for the lack of amenities, there is no excuse for our lack of attention to detail. After your review we talked to our house keeping department reviewing our standards, and making sure every unit we have is up to par. We are glad our mistake didn’t completely demean your experience with us. We are glad you found us to be of excellent value, and we will keep providing the best service at the most comfortable price. Once again thank you for your preference and we hope that in the near future we will have the chance to serve you again.

All the best
Marcos Lostaunau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, we got the pick up service from the airport. They wait for you when you land with a sign with your name on it..makes it easy for when you get off the long flight..I would recommend their pick up service, its the easiest, safest way to get around in Lima as it is not the safest. The hotel was very nice and secure. The staff was pleasant all the time and helped us alot. The rooms were clean and big. Came with a microwave and fridge and the shower and bathroom was clean. They provided heaters which is necessary in August since its their winter..it can get chilly at night.

The location was good we were able to walk around to many different food places and stores which is completely safe even at night. The location is really good in a safe neighbourhood. They have a lock on the door and you need to buzz in for someone to let you in..makes you feel safe! The breakfast thats included is simple, but it was good. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lotpmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniellelostaunau, Owner at Peru Star Botique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Peru Star. We appreciate your kind words, and are thankful that our impression on you was a pleasant and memorable one. We are glad that you found our shuttle service to be reliable and trust worthy, even though sometimes at the lima airport you will find an overwhelming amount of people (drivers, family members, friends) waiting for their relatives to come out, it can be hard to find a visitor. We are glad our sign helped and that our driver made you feel safe and comfortable. San Isidro is a wonderful safe district, as a small hotel we work closely with the Serenazgo police force, who have more than once helped a lost visitor find his way to our hotel. We are glad you found the shops and restaurants to your liking. We are genuinely so happy that we were able to make you feel as comfortable and welcomed as possible during your stay. I would like to take this opportunity to say that you will always be welcomed at our hotel and thank you for your trust and preference.

We hope you visit us again soon, and hope to have the honor to serve you again.

Thank you again for your preference!

All the best,
Marcos Lostaunau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed two nights in this quaint family hotel located in the quiet, secure Lima suburb of San Isidro.
As our flight arrived at 12:30 a.m, we had arranged to use their pick up service. (While slightly more expensive than a taxi, it was worth paying the extra for the convenience and comfort, and used the service again for our return trip to the airport.)
We cleared customs and headed into the main lobby of the airport and were met by the driver who we were able to identify by the sign bearing our names. From there it was a smooth drive in a quiet, late model vehicle to the hotel.
The petite apartment we reserved was spacious and quite lovely. We found the staff friendly and helpful and got some great 'top 10 sites' advice from owner Marcos.
We enjoyed our the walk through San Isidro to the pre-Inca site of Huaca Huallamarca, and on into Miraflores where we visited Huaca Pucllana, Parque Kennedy and the Locamar shopping centre on the coast.
Though the provided breakfast is standard fare (a la cart is also available), we were absolutely delighted with the food prepared for us at both evening meals we had. The chef is superb, with food expertly prepared and wonderfully presented. On the second evening we opted to eat in the lovely garden courtyard. What a treat! Truly, the restaurant is reason alone to stay at the Peru Star!
The Peru Star is an attractively priced gem! We would gladly stay again on a return visit Lima.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMandKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniellelostaunau, Owner at Peru Star Botique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Peru Star. I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you for the kind words used to describe our service and our food. Our human resource department goes on what could be considered a literal “man hunt” for months at times, to find a local, well trained chef. We believe in the fact that Peruvian food should be as authentic as possible, thus we try to find cooks who are well trained, and share our vision. We are very glad you found our transportation service reliable and transparent. All of our receptionists are obliged to inform you about our prices and those of our close competitors. Also they have to inform you about the advantages and disadvantages of using our service. We are genuinely so happy that you found our taxi service well worth the extra dollars. Our family´s goal is to make you feel as comfortable and welcomed as possible during your stay. We believe that our guest should be always kept safe and well informed. Knowing that we have reached out main goals with you keeps us sharp and motivated to keep working hard every day to make Peru Star the best, warmest and most comfortable option for travelers visiting Lima.

We hope you visit us again soon, and hope to have the honor to serve you again.

Thank you again for your preference!

All the best,
Marcos Lostaunau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We decided to treat ourselves to a nice place to stay on our last night in Peru and had read good things - We werent disappointed! We were met with friendly, welcoming smiles and were instantly upgraded which was greatly appreciated after a night on the overnight bus. The room we were provided whilst waiting we thought WAS the upgrade so when we walked into our fully kitted out louge/ kitchen / diner / double bedroomed apartment, we were gobsmacked.... it was great. We easily arranged a transfer to the airport for the next morning and the map we were given on arrival of the local places of interest meant that we could pop out readily enough. In the financial district so the are is somewhat affluent compared to other areas and we felt safe and happy there. A Big THANK YOU to those at Peru Star for making our last night in Peru as lovely a stay as it was. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We stated we were only staying one night and had been travelling via overnight bus.... and received an upgrade!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradders82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniellelostaunau, Owner at Peru Star Botique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Peru Star. To all of our future guest the apartment mentioned is called the Deluxe Apartment. Our goal is to make each of our visitors feel at home while visiting the city of Lima. We are glad you found our transportation service reliable and helpful, we are constantly searching for ways in which we can improve this service so it becomes more efficient and accessible. We are genuinely so happy that we were able to make you feel as comfortable and welcomed as possible during your stay, even though we cannot guarantee upgrades for all of our visitors, we are happy that this had such a positive effect on you and on the members of your traveling group. You inspire us in providing a better service, and improving the quality of our product. It maintains our family motivated to keep working hard every day to make Peru Star the best, warmest and most comfortable option for travelers visiting Lima.

Thank you so much for your kind words and know that you will always be welcome at our hotel. We hope you visit us again soon, and hope to have the honor to serve you again.

Thank you again for your preference!

All the best,
Marcos Lostaunau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I travel to Lima approx. 8-10 times per year and have stayed in several hotels and apartments throughout Lima. I almost always make my decisions based on Trip Advisor's reviews.

Peru Star is not a bad place to stay - it is in Miraflores, was clean, and the staff was reasonably helpful.

But it at best an average value place to stay. The rooms and amenities are very dated and worn, and the bathrooms are a little rough.

By USA standards, this is a 3 star hotel that hasn't been renovated or updated in 25 years. Not an awful place to stay, but with all the options for hotels and apartment in Lima that are priced the same, it's not a place I will visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BusinessTraveler253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniellelostaunau, Manager at Peru Star Botique Apartments Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Peru Star. Traveler reviews help us continute to grow. For our future guests we would like to clarify some inaccuracies of the review.

Our hotel is not located in Miraflores. It is located in San Isidro.

Our staff consists of two native English speakers, and the great majority of our guests value Peru Star for its outstanding service ranging from great restaurant to amazing trip and travel recommendations.

Peru Star is not 25 years old, and our Maintenance Staff is continuously working very hard on all of our units and common areas.

We are a small family run hotel and we work very had and genuinely try to do our best to make all of our guests feel at home. I invite our future guests to look pass this review and consider the other great majority of reviews, that have voted us one of the top 5 hotels to stay in Lima.

Thank you again.

All the best,
Marcos Lostaunau
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews