We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet alternative in Lima”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Ranked #51 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed July 27, 2013

After spending one hour trying to find availabily in a hostal in Miraflores I got a bed at this hostal.
The staff was very nice and helpful, the rooms are big and clean but there are only 3 bathrooms (one good one !)for the whole hostal. There are 2 tv areas to chill at night, a big kitchen where people seem to gather in the evening to cook and chat. They also offer a nice breakfast in the morning (with passionfruit jam, yam!)
It's well located : There is a supermarket a few blocks away and lots of restaurants but it's quite expensive as the area is very "exclusive" ! It's far from the historical center but buses pass right across from the hostal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieNCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had a great experience at Hitchhikers. The staff were really friendly which made all the difference. Also it wasn't a fall over drunk party hostel which is what I look for. Plenty of people around but not stumbling over drunk. A couple of beers and civility is what i look for. There was enough space to find some of your own if you wanted and there was a low key atmosphere which made socializing easy. Clean bathrooms with hot water and a good movie selection. If I'm ever back in Lima I'd go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKoy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hitchhikers Lima is located in the Miraflores section of Lima, a nice upper middle class area with lots of shopping, restaurants, etc. Easily walkable, 2 blocks from the Malecon de la Reserva along the seaside cliffs. The hostel is generally clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The shared kitchen is large but as with most hostal refridgerators, it's jammed with items, I'm sure a lot of which has been abandonded and someone ate the only thing we left in it even though it had our name on it. We had a double ensuite located all the way in the back so it was quiet. Couple of suggestions, some paint in the room would really improve the looks and the shower curtain badly needs to be washed. Generally, decent value for the price.

Room Tip: Room #1, double ensuite is in the back and quiet. However, could use some paint.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staff is nice and helpful, they can provide pick up service from airport on time. Location of the hostel is quite good too, easy to go other place from the hostel. The toilets were quite clean and hot water is provided. However, the water is hot enough but not strong enough. Beds are tidy and quite clean.We are 6 pl and all of us sleep quite well. But the curtain in room is too thin, we all wake up by the sunlight at around 6:30 every morning and difficult to fall asleep again. Overall, it is a quite good place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TangChuiChui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good location, nice people, clean, secure and good common areas. They stored our bags for 3 weeks for free.
We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. Downsides We're that the matress was solid and plastic, more like a gym mat, and there was a lot of street noise.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Both the Hitchhikers Lima and Hitchhikers Cusco locations were great. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Due to some bad weather, we missed our original flight to Lima from the U.S. and didn't arrive until 4:30am. Hitchhikers still sent a taxi to pick us up in the wee hours of the morning, and were friendly and helpful when we finally arrived at the hostel, at 5am! The showers are hot, and relatively clean, and I really appreciated the computer with internet. Plus, the location in miraflores is great. They have staff at the desk 24/7 and buzz in anyone who enters, so I always felt like both myself and my belongings were safe. We stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom for a total of four nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double rooms along the street, and they do get a lot of road noise (car alarms, scr...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloImLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed a private outdoor cabana. It was made of wood and dont know if it was some kind of pest control chemical but it smelled of gasoline. The worst part was that when i left anything that was in the room continued to reek. I had to take my backpack into the shower at the next hostel. Otherwise a reasonably good place, especially for people with a camper vehicle, but dont stay in room 10

Room Tip: dont take an outside cabana
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guysteuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Dragonfly Hostels
#4 of 350 in Lima
450 reviews
Condor`s House
#36 of 350 in Lima
303 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#9 of 350 in Lima
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Red Llama Eco Hostel
#10 of 350 in Lima
181 reviews
Miraflores
Hostal El Patio
Hostal El Patio
#14 of 316 in Lima
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Address: Calle Bolognesi 400, Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $17 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitchhikers is a lima hostel that offers its guests a comfortable, accommodating, fun, and clean place to stay. Our staff will help you in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. We offer both dorms and private rooms with and without private bathrooms, a guest kitchen, parking spaces, a shared computer with internet and wifi, 2 living rooms where you can listen to music or watch a movie from our large dvd collection, and an open patio with tables to hang out or to have a BBQ. We want our guests to have the best stay and we are sure you will feel at home with our exceptional service.Our hostel is located in a very central and safe location in the best part of Miraflores which is close to the ocean and tourist places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing