We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Ranked #72 of 366 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed April 26, 2013

So I have stayed at this place twice found it by accident when a competitor screwed up my reservation. I really like this hostel, has the right balance between party and quiet, its like when you want it - the party is there when you wat quiet, you get that too... The location is really good, close to beach, food, and nightlife but not "too close" Hostel has a png pong table which is a total plus.. I come to Peru often to play tennis and hang out and this place is a lot of fun, and good value. The rooms themselves are basic, not soper plush or anything but the thing that I like is that every time I stay here I have a blast and meet lots of good people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikedaGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 219 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great location in a really beautiful old house. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was pretty minimal (bread, jam, tea), but they did allow us use of the kitchen to make our own food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had told the hostel we'd be arriving late. We arrived around midnight (exhausted), and when we did, we were told they had given away our room. They put us in an inferior room with no bathroom. This is understandable, but naturally we'd expect some kind of discount. Instead, the guy there was smug and rude and told us we could take the room or find a different hostel. Everywhere else we stayed in Peru was great and this place stood out.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turban80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I found Hitchhikers on the Internet. My 21 year old was going to spend the day in Lima before flying out late at night. Hitchhikers allowed him to store his bags all day, hang out in the living room and only charged him 5$ to get a shower.

Since then I have brought college students and adults and they all love the welcoming atmosphere of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xfrontera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff was amazing and friendly. The drivers they use are witty and intelligent, as all great taxi's are. The location is close to a supermarket, money change/banks, and bars making it easy to enjoy the neighborhood amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerrenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hitchhikers for 1 night in a double room with shared bathroom. We were really impressed by the services available (great kitchen, good wifi, indoor and outdoor common areas) and the overall level of cleanliness of the place. The location is perfect, just by the beach in Miraflores and close to lots of good cafes and an amazing supermarket. Our room was lovely, quiet and spacious. Also the 2 different men on reception during our stay went above and beyond to help us out with information. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaznMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place has everything. Loads of common rooms, a huge outdoor area, security, 2 tvs, DVDs, friendly staff and decent location.

The only negative was that the breakfast was a bit sparse. Being only bread rolls and glass of juice and coffe or tea. I have been to some hostels in Ecuador and Peru that give eggs and bowle of fruit as well as blthe above for similar priced lodging.

Other than that great place to stay if you want to meet people and have a nice place to stay,

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_killara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Condor`s House
#28 of 366 in Lima
310 reviews
Dragonfly Hostels
#4 of 366 in Lima
461 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel
#26 of 366 in Lima
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hostal El Patio
Hostal El Patio
#13 of 327 in Lima
501 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#12 of 232 in Lima
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Address: Calle Bolognesi 400, Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 366 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $17 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitchhikers is a lima hostel that offers its guests a comfortable, accommodating, fun, and clean place to stay. Our staff will help you in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. We offer both dorms and private rooms with and without private bathrooms, a guest kitchen, parking spaces, a shared computer with internet and wifi, 2 living rooms where you can listen to music or watch a movie from our large dvd collection, and an open patio with tables to hang out or to have a BBQ. We want our guests to have the best stay and we are sure you will feel at home with our exceptional service.Our hostel is located in a very central and safe location in the best part of Miraflores which is close to the ocean and tourist places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing