We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Ranked #50 of 343 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Place!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff was amazing and friendly. The drivers they use are witty and intelligent, as all great taxi's are. The location is close to a supermarket, money change/banks, and bars making it easy to enjoy the neighborhood amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerrenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    83
    56
    23
    8
See reviews for
8
75
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Hitchhikers for 1 night in a double room with shared bathroom. We were really impressed by the services available (great kitchen, good wifi, indoor and outdoor common areas) and the overall level of cleanliness of the place. The location is perfect, just by the beach in Miraflores and close to lots of good cafes and an amazing supermarket. Our room was lovely, quiet and spacious. Also the 2 different men on reception during our stay went above and beyond to help us out with information. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaznMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place has everything. Loads of common rooms, a huge outdoor area, security, 2 tvs, DVDs, friendly staff and decent location.

The only negative was that the breakfast was a bit sparse. Being only bread rolls and glass of juice and coffe or tea. I have been to some hostels in Ecuador and Peru that give eggs and bowle of fruit as well as blthe above for similar priced lodging.

Other than that great place to stay if you want to meet people and have a nice place to stay,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_killara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Airport pickup was great, very nice driver!
Location in miraflores is central and secure. Everyone of the staff is really kind and they would help you in any occasion. They clean all the time. Simple breakfast, but in the kitchen you can make everything depending on you needs. Offers Tv room and a computer(kind of slow) and ping pong etc.
After all I had a very nice stay there in Lima and thanks to the staff I did everything I wanted to do!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff was amazing, and our room, #1, was really comfortable and quiet. The cabins (for 3 people with shared bathroom) are very noisy next to the street.

We felt safe there and the hot tea was nice. It was also nice that they have beer and BBQ facilities as well as entertaining stuff to do. There is many close by restaurants and "love park" is only a few blocks away. They have good wifi throughout the hostel.

The only downside was breakfast. It was two hard pieces of bread and coffee and juice. The coffee was instant and if you want a second cup, you will be charged 2 soles (coffee with milk). I thought it was a bit pricey for instant coffee. Also, the room did not seem like that good of a deal, it was like $40 a night for my boyfriend and I in room #1.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are really nice and quiet and have their own bathroom. 9-12 are the cabins with a bunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyeighteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

we spent two nights in HiHi-Hostel. The staff was always friendly and helpful and spoke english. The rooms are clean as well as the bathrooms. A big plus at HiHi-H. is, that there was always hot water in the shower. Which is not self-evident in every accommodation in peru as we learned during the trip :-)

Room Tip: not the room next to the living room if u want to go to bed early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima is a very good option. Well situated, good value for the money, friendly staff. Really cool that they offer a taxi service from the airport, especially when you land late at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Dragonfly Hostels
#4 of 343 in Lima
440 reviews
Miraflores
Hostel Kokopelli
Hostel Kokopelli
#18 of 343 in Lima
311 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 343 in Lima
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Explorer's House
#49 of 343 in Lima
46 reviews
Miraflores
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Red Llama Eco Hostel
#11 of 343 in Lima
180 reviews
Cercado de Lima
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Property: Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Address: Calle Bolognesi 400, Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 343 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitchhikers is a lima hostel that offers its guests a comfortable, accommodating, fun, and clean place to stay. Our staff will help you in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. We offer both dorms and private rooms with and without private bathrooms, a guest kitchen, parking spaces, a shared computer with internet and wifi, 2 living rooms where you can listen to music or watch a movie from our large dvd collection, and an open patio with tables to hang out or to have a BBQ. We want our guests to have the best stay and we are sure you will feel at home with our exceptional service.Our hostel is located in a very central and safe location in the best part of Miraflores which is close to the ocean and tourist places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing