We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay there every time I am in Lima.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel
Ranked #82 of 378 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hostel was great, the service was amazing, and we all had a really great time. It is in a safe area, and they always helped out us with recommendations of things to do and how to get there. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRFloresita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

I love coming here. The staff is amazing and always willing to help. You meet people from all over the world. I actually miss the hostal once I'm back home. Can't wait to go back. The location is great very safe. You can't beat the price either.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melimeli333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Really friendly hostel, great communal space and only 6 bunks per room. Also very clean and in a good location in Mirraflores, highly recommended. Breakfast not great but at least its included!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place is located in one of the best areas of Lima (Miraflores) . The Love park is just a few blocks from the hostel. Unfortunately, my mattress was as hard as a rock! I stayed 2 nights in a dorm and the last one I changed to a private room and the mattress was better. The breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Loved it. the location can't be beat, it's walking distance to a good organic grocery w/ cheap food upstairs; nice little restaurants, and a longer (but not too far) walk to Parque Kennedy.
Also loved the staff here -- saw the same three or four faces for most of my time. It's a big place, and maybe could use a few more workers, but these women got the job done and are nice, to boot. The crowd was young-ish and drinking-ish, but we (a family of four, w school aged kids) felt comfortable and at home.

Room Tip: the cabins in the back are good. avoid the room that looks out onto the patio -- people sit up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dedruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I made a booking but when I wen there, there were no rooms abaible for me...when i asket for the reason...no reason again...so, for me a bad service...

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gosxop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Granted, most people don't bring their children to backpackers hostels, but we did and it worked out pretty well. We stayed here a total of 5 or 6 nights, on two different occasions. This place has the expected transient crowd, which seemed divided into the adventurous folks traveling (by bus, camper, bike, or motorcycle) around the region, and those looking for a place where they can drink excessively safely away from the judging eyes of home. Multiple times there were people partying late in the courtyard, passing out in the public space, and even tossing their cookies near a bathroom. While the self-indulgent were visible, they were by far the minority, with a friendly and diverse group of guests. the staff here are friendly and excellent - reservations were handled professionally, both for rooms and for taxi service to/from the airport, which made this stay very easy. The breakfast was basically a prisoner's meal, consisting of two pieces of bread, a little jam or margarine, and one cup of coffee (no refills) and juice. but there's a supermarket close by with lots of prepared food options, and we did have access to the kitchen too, if we wanted to cook.

The space is comfortable, with the only real criticism being a shortage of bathrooms. There are only three for all the shared rooms, and since all 3 bathrooms have showers, they regularly were all occupied for extended times (visitors seemed largely oblivious to the arid surroundings, and took very long showers). Waiting for a bathroom is a real problem when you are suffering from intestinal distress, not an uncommon thing in Peru. Some guests arrived in motorhome type vehicles, which the hostel lets them park on the patio, along with the motorcycles of other guests. This means the patio area in the photos can sometimes be a crowded place feeling as much like a parking lot as a sitting space. Still, having tables and chairs and a ping pong table made this place fun.

Room Tip: Room 7 upstairs has lots of windows, but they open onto the patio which can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Condor`s House
#27 of 378 in Lima
315 reviews
Cercado de Lima
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Dragonfly Hostels
#5 of 378 in Lima
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inka Frog Exclusive
#15 of 378 in Lima
406 reviews
Hostel Playa Ola Grande
#127 of 339 in Lima
1 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel

Address: Calle Bolognesi 400, Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 378 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $16 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitchhikers is a lima hostel that offers its guests a comfortable, accommodating, fun, and clean place to stay. Our staff will help you in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. We offer both dorms and private rooms with and without private bathrooms, a guest kitchen, parking spaces, a shared computer with internet and wifi, 2 living rooms where you can listen to music or watch a movie from our large dvd collection, and an open patio with tables to hang out or to have a BBQ. We want our guests to have the best stay and we are sure you will feel at home with our exceptional service.Our hostel is located in a very central and safe location in the best part of Miraflores which is close to the ocean and tourist places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hitchhikers Backpackers Lima Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing