We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful, friendly and well-located”
Review of Hostal Killari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Killari
Ranked #35 of 308 Lima B&B and Inns
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
“Helpful, friendly and well-located”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

From the airport pick-up and throughout our stay at the Hostel Killari we were greeting with friendliness and great hospitality. The staff were always eager to accommodate us in any way possible, including orientating us about proper taxi rates (taxi drivers will always try to rip off tourists) which was very helpful. The hostel is also located in a great barrio with very reasonable rates. We will definitely return to the Hostel Killari if and when we return to Lima.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirko1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
50
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We ended up staying for 3 nights It was amazing! You get a free "American" Breakfast- Coffee, OJ, Eggs and Toast with your stay. It's clsoe to Miraflores (10-15min walk from the main street) the most popular area in Lima. They all where very helpful and would give this place a A+ and we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triptanight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
348 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The staff of the Hostel is very nice and also very helpful. The Hostel is located in Miraflores on a main street and therefore it is very noisy. Also, our room had in the bathroom on the roof quite a lot of mold - it is not dramatically but also not very nice.

A nice place to stay for one or two nights for a good price. To stay longer, I would recommend another place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wernesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostalKillari, Owner at Hostal Killari, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Dear Wernesto,

We appreciate the comment regarding the mold. Unfortunately, the mold was caused by the humidity of Miraflores area. By having the hostal in Miraflores, we all struggle with this kind of issue, and constantly we have to repair in order to keep the hostal clean for our guests. We apologized that we didn´t notice mold in the cealing of the bathroom before, but let me tell you that the problem is already fixed. We took action as soon as we saw your comment.

Thank you once again, hoping to see you soon next time you plan to visit Peru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed three nights at the Killari and overall we had a pleasant stay.
The airport pickup worked perfectly, the hotel itself is very clean, the management (Alejandro and his brother) are super friendly and very helpful.
The hotel is located between Barranco and the heart of Miraflores, both within 30 min walk although there are excellent restaurants nearby.
The main negatives are a) the rooms are extremely loud even with earplugs as the hotel is located directly on a four-lane mainroad with traffic 24h and b) the hotel has no isolation and therefore the nights are freezing (even high in the Andes we had never such cold nights) and finally c) breakfast (average both in terms of quality and quantity) is served outside which makes it quite unconfortable due to a) and b) above.
The place is okay for one night but there are doubtlessly better b&bs in this price category or for an additional 10 USD.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cifar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

My sister, two friends, and I had two double rooms here in July. This was the cheapest place we stayed in Peru and the only one with reliable hot water and good water pressure. That itself makes it a huge bargain. The location is great, the rooms are superclean, and the service is awesome. We felt super safe and were close enough to walk to LarcoMar and Barranco. The rooms don't seem to have heat, but we were warm in the winter with the extra fleece blanket in the closet. There is some car noise from the street, but it didn't bother my sister at all and I was fine with earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nixon4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Hostal Killari service was superb. The owners and staff were helpful, kind and treated me like royalty. I enjoyed my stay so much that I went back for another two nights. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and spacious. The bathrooms are spotless and private. The breakfast was filling and hot. The taxi driver to and form the airport was the same gentleman both times; I felt very comfortable and safe with him. I only mark a 4 on sleep quality because it is next to a busy highway and it was a bit noisey, but Killari is only 15 minutes walk from the heart of Miraflores.
There is no doubt in my mind that I will visit Hostal Killari next time I'm in Lima! It was well worth the extra $5USD!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TabithaTripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Hostal Killari proved to be an excellent choice of lodging in Lima. It was very affordable, clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. This served as our home base on our trip around Peru. They made us feel as if we were "coming home". They went out of their way to assist us with our plans. The location is excellent and within walking distance to sites in Miraflores. I would highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Miraflores Inn
Miraflores Inn
#65 of 228 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Miraflores
La Casa de la Nonna
La Casa de la Nonna
#60 of 308 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Miraflores
Hostel Kon-Tiki Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Casa Wayra Bed & Breakfast Miraflores
Miraflores
B&B Tradiciones
B&B Tradiciones
#14 of 308 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Mana Hostel
Mana Hostel
#13 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Killari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Killari

Property: Hostal Killari
Address: Av Reducto 1539, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Killari 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Killari is a hostel that offers a personalized service in a family atmosphere.We offer our guests a comfortable, cozy, safe place and the most complete information so you can enjoy an unforgettable travel experience in our country. We are located in the city of Lima, in the district of Miraflores, six blocks from Larcomar and very close to the principal tourist attractions in the cities.Visit Peru with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hostal Killari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing