We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really friendly staff, felt really safe and looked after”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Ranked #10 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Really friendly staff, felt really safe and looked after”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My friend and I stumbled across this place after struggling to find a room in Miraflores late at night. We were so happy that we came across this place, the lady at reception was so friendly and really made us feel at home. We stayed in the 'matrimonial' room, the only one they had left and it was sweet and nicely decorated. It wasn't big size wise but had everything we needed in a room. The hostel also has an ethical feel and there is lots of information about recycling which was a nice vibe.

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a nice, friendly place with no fuss.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    56
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
32
68
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Red Psycho Llama is an amazing place to stay in Lima. Unfortunately I was only there for 1 night but it was awesome. I was picked up at the airport by Luis, the transfer driver from Red Psycho Llama and he immediately made me feel like we were good friends. We discussed nightlife, his favorite futbol team, where to go to get authentic Peruvian food like the locals...etc. The next morning he drove me all around the different districts in Lima explaining about their history and the rivalries b/t futbol clubs. I cannot express how awesome Luis is and I look forward to staying at this hostel and hanging out with Luis on my next journey to Lima.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was just Ok. We had a private room with two beds but we could hear people coming and going from their rooftop bar. There was no hot water during our stay (get used to that idea when travelling in Peru on a budget). The staff was not particularly knowledgeable about the area, or overly helpful in arranging transport, and largely left everyone to their own devices. With that being said, they have a large library of pirated DVDs (some of them even work) and comfortable public areas. I thought there would be a continuation of the "repurposed" and recycling theme, but that was pretty much limited to what's in the pictures. Lima was the second highest rate for a hotel room during our stay, so choose wisely, this hotel is solidly middle of the road, I wish they had some better merch because they do have a pretty cool logo.

Room Tip: The room that is on the second floor in the back with the bridge to the bathroom you will hear every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gettingoutofkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heredia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed in the five-bed mixed dorm. We were the only three in the room for three days, so ended up being private. Showers have warm water with decent pressure. Breakfast was standard bread, jam and tea plus juice and a little something extra each day, like pancakes or veggie Sandwiches.

Not many people stay here which makes for good nights sleep. They recycle everything which is nice. Workers very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for one night for about $15 each in a twin room which was actually a sort of split bunk room a bit like a prison cell. For one night it was fine to crash - the beds were actually really comfy - and it comes with its own shower room next door which is good. The communal areas are good for chilling and chatting. The wifi is very good for South American hostels. Breakfast was good and expansions were available. There were lots of signs up saying happy hour 7-9 on the terrace or out the back but there were no signs of it happening and when I went to ask for a couple of pisco sours (advertised) the girl looked very surprised and went to see if they had any limes, which they didn't. So I'm not sure how often happy hour actually happens. But if I'm passing through Lima I'd stay there again. The location in Miraflores is superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 5 nights. It is well located in Miraflores and is far enough from the main streets that's its not too noisy. Breakfast are Ok and the staff are excellent. There are excellent restaurant within easy walking distance and the Metropolitana (bus system) is within easy walk (5 min) to take you downtown Lima, in the old sections. The Hostel is about 25 min. walk from the coast which is a pleasant walk where one can enjoy the beach, surf and shop at one of the most exclusive shopping centers in Lima.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a lovely, secure, Eco-friendly hostel with friendly and helpful staff and a great calm atmosphere. The Wi-Fi is almost always great, the showers are hot, the breakfast is prompt, the kitchen and rooftop are available for guests to use and the whole place feels secure and hospitable. I stay here every time I am in Lima and it wonderful to have such kind people to come back and visit while I am here! There is only one thing they still need to add to make my stay here even more enjoyable: a nice hot espresso. Other than that, I can find no complaints here!

Room Tip: Pick the second cheapest room - it's quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaEsylviano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#29 of 228 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#3 of 334 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel
Puriwasi Hostel
#9 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Llama Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Llama Eco Hostel

Property: Red Llama Eco Hostel
Address: Calle Narciso de la Colina 183 | Miraflores, Lima 033, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Llama Eco Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Red Llama Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing