We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Ranked #16 of 393 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This was our first time in a backpackers hostal and we were pleasantly surprised at the good service and being right in Miraflores was excellent. We could walk to so many places, especially the vegetarian restaurants nearby. We arrived very early because we took a bus and they gave us our room right away. We had the matrimonial room one night which was much more spacious than the double with bunkbeds!
When we left, Luis drove us to the airport....ask for him when you arrive or leave - he was so nice.

Room Tip: We liked the matrimonial room best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanitayRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

red psycho llama is a very nice place for people who begin their trip in perou ! we've been welcome by very nice people. They gave us a lot of information about LIma and all the places we wanted to visit in Perou.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed at the Red Psycho Llama Hostel for 5 nights. When i arrived there I was really sick and so my 2 friends asked the reception staff for the number of a doctor nearby. It turned out that the owner's (the amazing Johann) Mom is a doctor and she called and talked to my friends to give some advice (i was too sick to come to the phone). She also arranged an appointment for me the next day with a specialist friend of hers. Johann took time out of his busy day and drove me there half way across the city, free of charge, drove me back across town for blood tests while cutting through the historical centre of town for a quick tour of the city. I still cant believe his amazing kindness and generosity. Not only this but the hostel itself, is clean, quiet & comfortable, right in the centre of Miraflores and eco-friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

we stayed there for 2 nights on our way south and had such a great experience..the owner was a gem and all the staff who all spoke perfect english, went out of their way to help us sort out buses and hostals in the next town!
clean rooms,free internet, great location, and an awesome breakfast...highly reccommend stayin here!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glassonion0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We booked this place weeks in advance by contacting them directly. When we arrived they told us that they d messed up our booking and didn't have a private room for us. Our only option was a more expensive private room at another hostel in a worse location or two beds in a cramped and musty dorm. Oh and there was no hot water in the adjacent shower. Terrible!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonPluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannss, Propietario at Red Llama Eco Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2015

Reading this old comment just make me feel happy about all the changes that we have had in this years.
We would be glad if you return and see all the changes
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I visited Lima in December of 2010 and Red Psycho Llama was the first place I called to make reservations. The staff was super quick with email replies and confirmation of our stay, and even after numerous flight delays kept us from arriving for a day and a half after we had originally scheduled, they were very accommodating and helpful! They were also super cool about giving us tips and advice as to what to check out in Lima and Peru as a whole.

Thanks to Luis the driver for getting us through the crazy streets on our way to and from the airport!

As for quality/value and stuff: The rooms were clean and comfortable and fairly priced. The rooftop bar and lounge area was a great place to chill out after a fun day in the city. Great location near a lot of action in Miraflores. Walking distance to the surf beaches, great restaurants and clubs.

Thanks again to Johann and the staff! Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvandriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We were only 3 days in Red Lama, but it was great!! the location is excellent, and we like that there is a real mind of ecology in this hostal!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yojimbo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#10 of 393 in Lima
437 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 393 in Lima
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Marqay Hostel Miraflores
Callao
Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel
Miraflores
Alpes Lima
Alpes Lima
#23 of 393 in Lima
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Llama Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Llama Eco Hostel

Address: Calle Narciso de la Colina 183 | Miraflores, Lima 033, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 393 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $11 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Llama Eco Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Llama Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing