We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Racist Statements by MANAGER”
Review of LOKI Lima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LOKI Lima
Ranked #2 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Lima, Peru
1 review
“Racist Statements by MANAGER”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

after travelling all over south america for about 3 months we finally arrived at the famous Loki hostel in Lima.. with great expectations!
everything was going great up until the moment a friend of ours that was not a loki resident needed to come up to our room to get something..

as we started climbing the stairs one of the managers named DAVE started raising his voice with sentences such as "i dont care who the [--] he is.. i dont care if he´s family.. he´s not going up"

after a short arguement we decided to let it go and told the friend to stay on the lobby floor..

while climbing the stairs DAVE shouted - "it´s always the same problem with u Israelies!" as if we were trouble makers that were wreaking the hostel.. (on the contrary.. that same night we contributed a real nice amount of money to the hostel´s bar)

in my opinion.. a hostel manager that has RACIST statements like that.. should not even be in contact with travellers..

it a shame that these are the people who are in charge of a lovely traveller´s place like that..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    145
    59
    19
    14
See reviews for
4
43
107
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My gf and I stayed at the Loki for the last night in Lima. Before heading to Cusco and the sacred valley, we stayed in Lima for 3 nights at a $70/night hotel. Boy did we mess up. The Loki had a double bedroom with private bathroom for $30/night and it was just as nice. There were also dinners, events, sightseeing, and a bar scene that did not exist at the other hotel. It was fun and friendly although the Australians that made up a majority of the guests were a bit cliquey (but that is expected). It appears that Liam is the social chair and he does a great job- always something going on. There is a party atmosphere but they do a great job of keeping the noise down. The bar tends to be too smokey though.

The reception is the strong point of this hostel- friendly and accommodating.

This hostel rivals some of the best ones in Europe. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Island1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2009

second loki i´ve stayed in.. this one is brand new, and was much more mellow than the one in cusco. had a very good stay here, nice clean rooms, bathrooms, everything.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mthomasphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

The first night we had a good room and we were happy. However the second night, they decide (rudely of course) to switch us to this crappy and very small, ugly and most importantly DIRTY room with DIRTY walls. While we were still paying the same price...

Please DO NOT go there...there is plenty of hotels in Lima and in Miraflores that are cheaper and better :)

Loki is very unequal..I think you can be lucky (loki haha) and get a nice experience, but the total opposite is also true...

I have been to youth hostels and seriously this one is one of the worst...

Have fun in Peru it is such a great place by the way,

Lyz

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyzette33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This is a great hostel for meeting people. It's really all about the bar and the communal space here - and it does that well. This is not the place for you if you want somewhere family-friendly or quiet. We had a small but clean and comfortable private twin room with a private bathroom (shower, not bath). There was a some problem with hot water when we were there but it resolved itself so it must be temporary. Great bar and food deals each night so brilliant for tight budgets. Free internet (limited time per "go"). Great location.
We didn't experience the same problem as the person who reviewed before me, but the service was usually slow. Just not enough staff there - the place is staffed by backpackers working their way around the world so maybe a very high turnover of staff is the problem. We booked ahead and got our room, whereas many were turned away who had not booked - very busy place, especially with Oasis playing in Lima around that time.
Would recommend - we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Never mind the cockroaches in the bathroom, or the broken window, or the door to our room that mysteriously is wide open whenever we return to our room.

But the attitude of 99.99989% of the staff is rude, smug, condescending, and over all unhelpful.

We had a reservation for one room (scheduled weeks in advance) when we arrived at 2:30pm (their checkout time is noon) they claimed our room wasn't ready. so they asked us to wait a few minutes. I happily obliged, stuff happens, I am patient.

One hour later we complain, they apologize and say we have to wait longer, so we mill around for another 30-45 minutes, at which point we inquire further. They say the prior occupants have left for the night but failed to pay/checkout/remove their belongings and we must wait until they return. (and they had no idea when that could be) but they gladly welcomed us to hangout more in the smoke filled lobby.

We eventually leave to try and find another Hostel/Hotel, ANYTHING, but everywhere is booked.

So we return and hangout for a bit longer, and overhear the staff yelling at other customers who have also over-stayed the checkout time by 4+ hours. This is a bad sign, apparently they don't ever enforce their checkout time rules. We insist we get a room, and eventually the manager agrees to remove the previous occupants items so we can finally put our stuff away and start our day.

We throw our bags down and lock up the room and head out for dinner, when we return we find our door WIDE open, not unlocked, not a jar, but completely open. When we ask the front desk about it, they act clueless, and give us mixed answers in regards to whether or not the previous occupants had a key still, or if they would be coming back, or had come back and left our door open. She sarcastically asked if anything was missing, and as we looked quickly through our belongings she snuck off without awaiting an answer.

I understand a cheap hostel is supposed to be a place to sleep and that is it. But this place is expensive, loud, and serves mainly 17-22 year old Bro's/Hipsters who get screaming drunk until 4am and rudely bump you or jump in front of you when trying to order food, a drink, or talk to the front desk person.

The only redeeming thing about the place is the late check out time, which they obviously do not enforce so hey, I guess leave whenever you feel like it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoriumLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Me and my bride were returning from Machu Pichu to Lima for a night. We decided to stay in the Loki because of its good reputation, and I'm absolutelly happy for going there. Staff is great, breakfast is varied, there is a great pool table, Internet, a restaurant and all the interesting people you would expect to find there!

Our room ( #11) was a matrimonial with bath, and the shower was great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#3 of 334 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Mana Hostel
Mana Hostel
#15 of 334 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOKI Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI Lima

Property: LOKI Lima
Address: Calle Jose Galvez 576, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — LOKI Lima 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the brand new addition to the family, boasting all the great features you would expect from a Loki Hostel, the place for budget travellers to stop, relax, meet people have fun and party in Lima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your LOKI Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing