We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down, the best hostel in Lima”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Family House
Ranked #47 of 366 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed April 24, 2009

I have stayed here three times. The owners, Pedro and Christian, are the best! Super clean, great location off the main street Av. José Pardo (so not too noisy, and two blocks from the ocean), nice comfy beds, rooftop patio with views of the Pacific, all around excellent. I stayed in an actual hotel once while in Lima cause I was with my dad, we paid a lot more, and it wasn't NEARLY as nice and BFH--we regretted not staying in Backpacker's Family House the whole time! From now on, I'd never stay anywhere else. Every time I go through Lima I have to see Pedro and Cristian. And Pedro makes the best pisco sours!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sicdbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 169 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2009

This hostel is in a converted house so it's only very small and very very basic but the owners who run it are really nice and really make an effort for you to have an enjoyable stay with them in their hostel and in Lima as a whole. Give you a really detailed map!

We booked a double and it was a little noisy as the hostel is so small that the noise really carries. The showers didn't have any hot water but the bathrooms were o.k. other than that. The hostel is well situated, close to the centre of Miraflores in a safe area.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrynfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We came to Lima after 24 hours of travelling from the Uk and I had booked one night in this hostel I found on hostels.com. We arrived very late and the hostel arranged an airport pickup for us (propabably not difficult to arrange a taxi from Lima airport but we where so glad that we did). The managers Pedro and Christian made us feel really welcome and as there only had one bed for the next night (we immediately thought that we wanted to stay a little longer) sorted out us another bed out! They where full of ideas of things to do and places to go, can help book taxis/buses/tours etc. (if your spanish is a little rusty) and are always on hand to help out. We met a really good mix of people in the hostel and the atmosphere is that of a second home. There are 4 double/twin rooms and 2 dorms with 4 beds in each. There are 3 bathrooms so no worries about squeezing in showers in the morning and a living room with the internet, a tv and loads of DVDs to watch and use of a full kitchen with just about everything that you could need in it. Rooms are cheap and the area around the hostel is really safe and has banks, shops and bars all nearby. If you do stay, get them to take you for `Anticuchos` its really tasty!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank thatpixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tofnux53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank barbarabrandao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank Léopoldine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Dragonfly Hostels
#5 of 366 in Lima
461 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 366 in Lima
783 reviews
Condor`s House
#27 of 366 in Lima
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#11 of 366 in Lima
375 reviews
Miraflores
Flying Dog Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Family House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Family House

Address: Juan Moore 304 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 366 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's Family House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Family House Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing