We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Family House
Ranked #50 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Location, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Has all you need in a hostel. Clean, friendly staff, good beds, great location. Can't go wrong staying here. The staff are very helpful, and provide you with a map of the area upon arrival at the hostel. I felt comfortable and safe during my stay at Backpacker's.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
3
52
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very nice and helpfull staff that give a lot of them self to make an extra effort.
It is allways a lot of other travelors around, so It is easy to come in contact with other intersting peaple.
The hostel is lokated in the nice naborhood Miraflores and close to al lot of what Lima can offer.

I would realy recomend a stayover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oskar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I really. enjoyed my stay in Family House . the staff is very helpful with all the information about Lima and others parts of Peru . Confortable beds, good breakfast and me and my girlfriend gottwo hoursof free spanishlesoon with Pedro( excellent teacher)...free Pisco Sour and super nice atmosphere, for sure I gonna come back!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5 it was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

It's a very nice place to stay. The staff is very helpful and very friendly, you will get all informations that you need from them. The hostel is very close located to the surf of miraflores. And the hostel is very close to a really good supermarket and to different restaurants as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mischa_b3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hersham
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a cheap lodging in an expensive part of town although not as cheap as the price I booked it for on hostel world. I first stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom; window had been left open, arrived at 1am & it was freezing (no blankets). Bathroom dirty with no loo roll. Staff friendly & nice vibe but rooms & breakfast not great. The dorms are moldy from damp but otherwise ok. You need your own padlock for lockers. Taxi drivers never know where this place is (there's no sign) so bring a decent map. I can't imagine how this place is a top choice in the lonely planet. A long walk to any entertainment although a nice safe neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegeorgiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a double room with shared shower. Owners were friendly and helpful in giving directions etc. The room was clean and okay but nothing special. Showers were hot - except that in the morning peak time the hot water seemed to run out quickly (at least before I got in). Breakfast was basic. Overall I would say the place was average for a hostel (though I haven't tried other hostels in Lima). Wouldn't mind staying there again, but wouldn't go out of my way to get a room there either.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We didn't hate our stay here but nor did we love it. When we checked in we were given a pretty dank room all on our own on the roof, not good. We tried to change and to their credit they moved us the next day and gave us a reduction for the roof room.

So what was good:
- they had bedside lamps in our second room.
- the water was hot and had towels.
- it has an OK kitchen
- staff give the impression of being friendly, if a little strange.
- location is fairly good.

And the bad:
- rooms were small and a little damp.
- not enough bathrooms when fully occupied.
- bathroom had a wet floor permanently.
- breakfast is average for south america which is to say bad by anyone else's standards.
- pickup service was expensive compared to other places.
- noise travels a lot.
- expensive for what you get.

Overall it was OK and about average for Miraflores but there are better options out there and it isn't a rank 11 place in our opinion.

Room Tip: Avoid the roof room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klang180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#6 of 325 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 325 in Lima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Nomade Backpackers Hostel
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 325 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Condor`s House
#33 of 325 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Family House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Family House

Property: Backpacker's Family House
Address: Juan Moore 304 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 325 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's Family House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Family House Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing