We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Family House
Ranked #51 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hostel was very welcoming and friendly , The staff gave great local information. Free Internet was a big plus ,
Rooms were clean and the area was safe.
Only negative were the showers but you get over that . Otherwise rating would have been an Excellent !!!
Highly recommend here , stayed twice here on my travels through Lima.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyonsanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 169 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hostel is perfect. It is right in the heart of Miraflores, which is a nice, safe area in Lima. Christian, the owner, is extremely helpful, and one of the nicest people we have met on our travels. Our only complaint was that the Internet went down for a day and a half while we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

I really just want to address the review that was "terrible" first-- that person said the taxi was sketchy bc it was unmarked and the driver couldn't speak English. That's a bit harsh. There are a ton of unmarked taxis, often they work with hostels. Also, the native language of Perú is not English, so people aren't required to speak English. If you're traveling in a country where the native language is different than yours, it doesn't hurt to learn a few words. Don't be ignorant.

As for the hostel-- loved it! Includes breakfast-- continental. Kitchen is available for use too. Dorms are clean and cozy. There are a ton of bathrooms. Lockers in the rooms and lockers in the common area too. Great common room with big tv-- cable and a ton of DVDs. Staff is so friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff was especially friendly with me. I chatted with two different ladies every day, practicing my Spanish and helping one lady practice English. One of the cleaners even shared her lovely Peruvian lunch with me! So friendly. Good price too. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed there in June 2012 with a friend in a doble room.
Overall it was great.
Very chill place to stay in a big city. It is not a party hostel, but yes a relaxed and cosy place to be if you want quiet, meet people, and a great starting point to visit Lima.
The staff are very nice, helpful and available to anything you need.
Sometimes I felt I was home and not in a hostel.
There's free wifi downstairs in the living room and outdoor.
Nice breakfast and located in a wonderfull neighborhood, very close to the beach.
It has a supermarket nearby and all the main streets close by as well.
I completeley recommend it, if you are planning to visit Lima.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We (my, wife, and sister in law) were going to stay one night but it didn't happen because a friends possessions were stolen at the mall in Miraflores. We were able to walk to the mall in about 35 min and the beach is really close. What amazed me was that David was so concerned with what happened to our friend he was advising us what to do and how to do it to help out. The place looked amazing and was big. The had a huge tv for chill time and surf boards to go out to the beach. Again, David was amazing and just his genuine concern for our friend he never met was enough for me to write a review!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Family backpackers is only a 5 minute walk from the beach in Miraflores. The beach has a nice view, but is not so good for sunbathing, swimming etc, though it is very good for surfers.
The dorm rooms are fairly spacious. We stayed in the downstairs 7 bed ensuite, which was fine, but got a little loud in the morning when everyone started having breakfast. The bathroom for the dorm was huge as well. There are metal security lockers, which are able to fit a medium sized rucksack.
There is a private room on the top floor which we looked at, but it looked as though someone had just put a shed on the roof. The dorms look to be a much better bet.
Downstairs, there are a few large sofas, big TV and a huge selection of DVDs. There are also smaller security lockers for people who have checked out etc. The kitchen is very well equipped, with lots of communal ingredients and plenty of fridge space. It’s only a ten minute walk to the supermarket, so it’s worth stocking up.
This hostel has the most amount of toilets/bathrooms that I have ever seen. You are never going to have to queue here.
Wifi is fairly reliable and fast, and is available throughout the building. There is one computer for use, though they request that you only use for 20 minutes and leave a one sole contribution.
The whole place feels very secure, with a buzz in entry system, that is operational all the time.
The staff here are really friendly and really do go out of their way to help

Room Tip: Try to avoid the private room on the top floor, or the dorm adjoining the garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Loved, loved, loved this place. The staff were so nice, and helpful the guys on the desk helped us book further travel and made you so relaxed and the ladies cooked eggs each morning and were really sweet. Its a minute from the beach to watch a beautiful sunset and 10min walk to the supermarket, have reccommended this place to others we have met in Peru.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Dragonfly Hostels
#5 of 372 in Lima
463 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 372 in Lima
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
511 Lima Hostel
511 Lima Hostel
#10 of 372 in Lima
375 reviews
Condor`s House
#28 of 372 in Lima
311 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 372 in Lima
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Family House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Family House

Address: Juan Moore 304 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's Family House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Family House Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing