We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Family House
Ranked #52 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable rates”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Overall this place is okay, but of our entire travel around Peru it was probably the worst place we stayed in.
Bad points: breakfast was standard fair, hot water was seemingly in short supply and the bathroom was not particularly clean or well kept.
Good points: the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Christian was extremely helpful. The location is also great for seeing the coast but walking into the city can take a fair bit of time.
We got stung for the taxi pick up also, I assumed the fare was negotiated for us, however, it cost us $20 USD; another review here clarifies that this is comparatively expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevej2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
3
53
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Thanks Family backpackers for everything. Lovely chilled out and comfortable place. Nothing was too much for family backpackers and was always told you´re one of the family´. Excellent travel advice, help organising buses and things to do around the city! Will stay there everytime I pass through Lima!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We waited for a good hour for our airport pickup, but it turned out to be just another taxi. He also refused to accept our quoted rate. We were foolishly already in the cab before we confirmed his price, so we ended up paying $20 USD (Green Taxi's posted rate is S/. 45 or $16 USD).

Also, we got two "Double Bed Private Shared Bathroom" and misunderstood the language. Since we paid "$15 per bed" and our total was $60, we thought that we were getting two beds in each room. "Per bed" really means "per person" and we got two single-bed rooms. One of our rooms connected to the courtyard, and there was some late night noise, but it's pretty quiet otherwise. We only found one washroom to use.

Other than these issues, the place was nice and seemed to control Lima's humidity better than Hotel Espana. They had bread, jam, butter, tea, and juice for breakfast.

Juan Pablo and Christian were very helpful in directing us around the city and giving us estimates for taxi prices.

Room Tip: Know what you're getting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakuychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 2 nights and loved it.
Great location, great rooms, great staff and great coffee.
We have nothing bad to say about the place and would definately recommend it. Some of the reviews here complain about noise, but it was very quiet and chilled out when we were there. Definately not a party hostel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My boyfriend and I arrived in Lima as the first stop for a rtw trip. We were reallypleased with the service we received from family backpackers, they arranged for us to be picked up from the airport and upon arrival gave us lots of help and advise. The hostel is located in Miraflores and was within easy reach of restaurants and bars. The room was fine, simple but clean and the communal bathroom was also clean and the shower was hot too, the only little issue was the bathroom lock didn't appear to work. The communal area was good and there was also a kitchen, overall we were really pleased to go here for our first stop in Lima!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Camper_ap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We paid $25 for our room here and we got just what we paid for. The room had a clean bed and clean sheets. The bathroom was communal and usually wet since the shower curtain was to small. The communal space was pretty clean. The worst three things were: Dirty walls in the room, loud people until around midnight, the number of staff changes (never saw the same face twice). The three best things were: location, cost, and the staff. We had pick-up at the airport which was good, we also were setup a street cab for $10 since we didn't have the cash to have a car called to return to the airport. Great staff, clean towels and sheets, great value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Lobby and main sitting area was comfortable and clean however our room and the bathroom was not. Toilet paper was never in the washrooms, we ended up buying our own. It was loud all night. Probably a good cheap place to stay if you are spending an extended period in Lima but not a good idea for a couple stopping over for a day. They did pick us up at the airport however, it seemed sketchy as our driver could not speak english and was in an unmarked car. other taxis were also cheaper but they were unwilling to call one for us when we were leaving for the airport.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gremanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 331 in Lima
719 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#8 of 331 in Lima
405 reviews
Miraflores
151 Backpacker Hostel
151 Backpacker Hostel
#50 of 331 in Lima
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 331 in Lima
204 reviews
Miraflores
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Red Llama Eco Hostel
#11 of 331 in Lima
175 reviews
Miraflores
Nomade Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Family House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Family House

Property: Backpacker's Family House
Address: Juan Moore 304 | Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker's Family House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Family House Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing