We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Great location, affordable Hostel”
Review of Lion Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lion Backpackers
Ranked #106 of 392 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have stayed twice at the Lion Backpackers.
I would go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HitTheRoad_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 121 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

This hostel is fine (secure, clean etc) but is nothing special. The staff are pretty unfriendly, with the exception of one woman, and the private rooms are ok but very small. There is a breakfast of bread and a banana included in the price. It seemed quite pricey but I think that is generally the case in Miraflores.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

After getting off a 26 hour bus ride from Cuzco, our taxi driver took us directly to Lion Backpackers. It was our fault we ended up here and not some where recommended because we did not make reservations a head of time. At first glance I was not impressed with the interior of the building, dark dirty and did not have a good vibe. We checked the room and at that point all I wanted was a shower and food and agreed to the room. It it probably the priciest budget backpackers hostel at 90 soles. We thought it may be reasonable depending on the area but turns out it is way overpriced compared to other hostels in the area which are MUCH nicer. In the first moments in our room I went to take a shower, I noticed that the bathroom had not been properly cleaned. there was hair all over the place and scum and dirt on the floor, door, and sink. I was hesitant to use the shower knowing there probably was not Hot water either and I was right...the hot water ran for about 1 min and then went cold. While my friend was showering I noticed that the blankets were very old and dingy and look like they have never been washed. I stripped the bed and left just the sheets not knowing what was lurching in the blankets. After, we went to dinner and returned to sleep. We were sitting on the bed when my boyfriend started itching the back of his legs. I noticed his itching and saw that he had 3 new bug bites. Immediately we took all of our things of the bed to prevent infestation in our bags. I lifted the sheets and noticed inside the crease of the mattress and infestation of BEDBUGS. I went downstairs to see what the guy at reception could do for us. He was not apologetic and didn't know what to do until I suggested he move us to a newer cleaner room with new mattresses. He said he had one available. At this point in the night it was too late to switch hostels. We moved downstairs to a newer room with new mattresses but they had the same filthy blankets on them. After examining the new mattresses they looked safe enough to sleep on for a few hours. needless to say I couldn't sleep much thinking about bugs in my bed. In the morning my friend left early for the airport. While packing my things later on, I realized that I had left my computer case behind in the other room in the frantic change to switch rooms. I asked the lady at reception if she had seen it and she said no and barely helped me look for it. I had to go to the cleaner who finally helped me look for it through the trash and dirty linens. We still did not find it. They said that another person had cleaned the original room and they were not present to ask them about it. Go figure. So Overall this hotel is not recommended because it is dirty, unhelpful, no hot water and BEDBUGS!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sawa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This place is for the budget traveller, but rooms are not clean at all, and the bathrooms are not in good shape either (what we consider to be 2 basic must haves). Definitely smelled of mold and we got breathing problems from the dusty sheets/blankets...
At $30 for a doble, you might get better, but in Miraflores it is hard to come by. Maybe upgrade and go to the Maria Angola Hotel ($70), at least that is what we did... Or to some other hostels in the same street at around $40-50, that were way cleaner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed 4 or 5 nights. The price is okay for the area. (We got a discount as members of South American Explorers). The best was how much the staff went out of their way to suggest good activities to do, and help us get bus tickets to Cusco. We staying in private room, but the dorms looked pretty comfortable too. Secure baggage storage, too.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Everything was OK, the rooms, the bathroom, the breakfast was good. The only thing that kinda bothered me was the fact that we got there in the morning (around 8 or 9) and told the guy at the reception that we've been on a bus for 30hours and if we coule please have a shower. He told us the bed won't be ready until 11 although the guys that were sleeping in those beds were just leaving (we saw them leave). We told him we didn't need the bed, we can just leave the bags here and hang around and just have a shower. But he didn't let us and also we had to leave the hostel until 11. That was way weird. And unneccessary.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wai13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank JesuAedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
The House Project
The House Project
#31 of 392 in Lima
251 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Miraflores
Flying Dog Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Miraflores
Hotel Stefano's
Hotel Stefano's
#42 of 236 in Lima
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Backpackers

Address: Grimaldo del solar 139 - 143 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 392 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $31 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion Backpackers is a Clean, cozy and good hostel in anexcellent location only three blocks from Larco Avenue and Kennedy Park in Miraflores. We have Internet, Breakfast and Kitchen included. We have 11 private rooms(singles, Doubles, triples, Cuadruples and Quintuples with bathrooms and tv) and 3 Dorms (2 of them have private bathrooms included. If you come to Lima by bus from the provinces or foreigner we can pick you up for FREE from the bus station to Lion Backpackers(I need for you to send an email before with all the details of your trip or call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lion Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing