We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE security, organization and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Youth Hostel - Hostelling Internatinal Lima - Peru
Ranked #66 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE security, organization and stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I stayed at this hostel with about 18 of my medical school classmates while volunteering for a Medical Mobile Clinic with Medlife and I had an absolutely terrible experience.

First, the lack of security lead to the theft of money. Youth Hostel requires you to leave your key at the front desk whenever you leave the hostel. However, the front desk is not attentive to the keys whatsoever- sometimes no one is at the desk guarding the keys and most times when you come back for your key, the employees tell you to go around the desk and grab they keys yourself. This clearly poses a problem, and for me personally, it led to the theft of $140 US dollars from my money belt that was stowed in my luggage in my hostel room. My roommate and I left the key at the desk, left for the medical mobile clinic (together), and came back (together) to missing money. Someone easily "borrowed" the key and stole the money- the hostel took no responsibility, and did not even offer an apology. They only assured that they would be more careful with the keys in the future.

Next, the room assignments. The staff was highly disorganized in assigning rooms and keeping their guests straight. This resulted in about 6 of us moving twice in the matter of a week. We were there for a two-week stay and within the first week, we were forced to move to three different rooms. Very inconvenient, especially after a long day of work in Lima.

The rooms themselves were atrocious. The beds were damp, the pillows smelled of mildew, and the bathrooms had cockroaches. The first room I was in had 12 beds, 1 working toilet, and 2 showers that got hot water 1 at a time.

The staff was not unfriendly by any means. However, I would not recommend this hostel to anyone who cares about their belongings, safety, and comfort. There are better options for your money in Miraflores.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeNina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
10
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The hostel was aesthetic, but for the price did not live up to standards. Had a pool and a nice patio, but did not have hot water at 4p and did not offer breakfast. There are plenty of other great hostels in Miraflores that are a much better value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pachamoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lima hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Nice place to stay! Very well located in Miraflores, you can wander around safely. This hostel has actually hotel standard and also seems like a familly house, good one. Very nice rooms, lovely garden with a pool that we enjoyed because luckily that day was hot . The staff is very friendly too. Pity that you have to pay for the breakfast, but not expensive.... Otherwise, we really liked it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This is by far the worst Hostel we've been in. We tought that we could trust in the name "Hostelling International" but it was a pure disappointment.

The Hostal is totally overpriced!
We booked a night in advance at the HI in Cordoba. Unfortunately the lady there made a mistake (ALWAYS DOUBLECHECK YOUR RESERVATION OR BOOK IT BY YOURSELF!!!) so we had to cancel the reservation and change the room. The Hostal was nearly empty, but they didn't refund our 10% deposit. We were really angry as it wasn't even our mistake.

But it come's even better:
If you want to use the PC's - you have to pay
Using the oven - pay
Use the locker room - pay
Get towels - pay
Breakfast not included!
Most hostels offer these services for free!

- The toilets & showers in the Shared rooms can't be locked, there's no hot water, the lobby is really smelly (dogs...)

- THERE IS NO LAUNDRY SERVICE IN THE HOSTEL AS INDICATED ON THE HI WEBSITE!!! (not even for cash)

Better look out for another hostel...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimb0_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This was one of the most overpriced, disappointing hostels I have stayed in. Our room smelled of damp (and so did all our clothes by the time we left the following morning). Our beds were very damp and because of this we did not have a very good nights sleep. There were also 2 dogs living in the hostel and as a result the otherwise impressive reception area smelled like wet dogs (not very pleasant). There are much nicer places to stay in this area. The following night we stayed at "one hostel" in Barranco and I could not recommend it highly enough - lovely rooms and the most helpful of staff.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Poppy122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Girasoles Hotel
Girasoles Hotel
#24 of 224 in Lima
583 reviews
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
San Isidro
Wyndham Costa Del Sol Lima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Callao
Wyndham Costa Del Sol Lima Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel - Hostelling Internatinal Lima - Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel - Hostelling Internatinal Lima - Peru

Property: Youth Hostel - Hostelling Internatinal Lima - Peru
Address: Av. Casimiro Ulloa 328 - Miraflores, Lima Lima18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Youth Hostel - Hostelling Internatinal Lima - Peru 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostelling Lima, is a Hostel belongs to Hostelling International. Lima Hostel is located in Miraflores, a residential district of Lima that concentrates the biggest quantity in recreation centers and trade of Lima.Here you will find a traditional, beautiful place, full or history and safe, where exclusive hotels of 5 stars abound, casinos, discos, pubs, restaurants, banks, supermarkets, exchange houses, folkloric fairs, laundries, mail, Internet, cinemas, as well as others.We have 20 rooms, dormitories, private rooms single, double, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all with private bath, TV and cable.Our facilities include garden, barbecue, swimming pool, kitchen for guest use, and free internet access, lounge bar and TV room, where they can share good times.We specialize in receiving groups, for which we provide all facilities and even conference rooms we provide the necessary equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Youth Hostel - Hostelling Internatinal Lima - Peru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing