We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“party house but well organized excursions”
Review of Dragonfly Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragonfly Hostels
Ranked #5 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“party house but well organized excursions”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

in the internet the hostel looks really nice. but when we arrived the room wasn't like we expected.

it was on the roof, small and looooud. they party the whole night at the bar on the roof and was really loud.
also you hear well the traffic around. the location of the hotel it is in a save place in lima, but there is not much to do and see.

the staff are very friendly and we booked Huacachina and the Ballestas. Everything well organized and payed at the hostel.

so, when you'll partying then choose, otherwise let it be.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yann74, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate to have some feedbacks and improve our guests experience at the hostel.
We are glad your enjoyed our services for the tours, we work closely with different operators we have selected with the criterias of quality and price.
About the room, we have some pictures in our website to help you in your choice.
Also we encourage our guests to let us know if anything wrong with their room and we can switch to another one upon avalaibilities.
Our rooms in the roof terrace are budget price, simple and clean but more close to the street side.
The bar is open from 6pm to 11pm, if some people choose to stay in the terrace during the quiet hours, we encourage them to be discret and eventually to move to the cafeteria. If it wasn't so, we please our to excuse us for this mistake.
We are particulary careful that our hostel is not a "party hostel" but more a social place that give encourage exchange with others travelers and the bar is more likley a chill out area.
We sincerely hope your will the opportunity to renew your experience with us.
Best regards,
Yann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    154
    55
    12
    3
See reviews for
12
109
150
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We slept in a 6-bed dorms and it was really quiet. The hostel is near the beach which makes a perfect place to sleep after a surf session. The staff was really helpful and friendly. I highly recommend it !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romain494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place has a great staff and WiFi. But it is not close to the beach and the traffic noise is horrible. Not the fault of staff. The prices are some of the cheapest available in Lima and there is hot water. Upstairs patio area is the best EXCEPT again for the noise. The good news is that it is close to everything, the bad news is it is close to everything.

Room Tip: Do not get the outside upstairs bedrooms unless you are sound sleeper as the noise from the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I booked a bed in the dorm via e-mail, which was responded quickly and unproblematic!
The lady in the reception was nice and showed me around trough the facilities, which offer a nice kitchen with breakfast included, a rooftop terrace, free WiFi, a computer...

All in all a nice hostal, in a good location (15min walk to parque kenedy)

One thing was not so nice:
I changed my bed because the matress was terrible...i didnt tell the receptionist because i tought it wouldnt be a problem anyway as there was only me and another person in the 8 bed dorm ...Anyway, the lady asked me the next day why i changed the bed?? And that she normally had to charge me for that because she was awaiting other guests (who didnt show up) I mean come on, even if, it doesnt take an hour to make the bed...I didnt had to pay in the end.

Another thing, if you want to save money, dont book and airport transfer trough the hostal. They will charge you with 50 Soles, but you can easily find drivers who bring you there for 40.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimb0_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've stayed 2 different times at dragonfly, both were great. All the staff are great and are very helpful. great for booking the bus and other tours. The rooms are fine and the rooftop is nice. the bathrooms and kitchen are both clean and pleasant (no cooking though). the breakfast is good and a good place for meeting other travellers.The location is great, central to both the beach and centre of miraflores. The room prices are reasonable for the area too. would definately stay again when in Lima. and the wifi works outside on the roof!

Room Tip: get a double or single on the rooftop. can be noisy from the traffic but ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice service, bathrooms clean, nice roof, just a few blocks from the beach where ppl can learn surfin,, also they have many explorations. Thanks fernando for a comfortable stayin' at lima!! We're definetly comin' back!! //// Muy buen lugar en lima,limpio, gente muy amable en especial fernando, atienden las 24 horas!! Definitivamente volveremos a dragonfly hostel a la vielta del viaje

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guzmanllorens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was an excellent hostel. The atmosphere was great and relaxing for our last night in lima. The staff was excellent, very chatty but not too much. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast- they actually had filter coffee!!

I wish their airport service was cheaper, it was $50 compared to the $35 for a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dragonfly Hostels, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your great comment!
We appreciate you had spent a good time with us... as we did!

For information about the airport transfer, we work with trusted taxi drivers and we assure the punctuality and the safety. The price of 35 Soles is the cheapest price you could negotiate on the street,but we couldn't assure you to be time safe or on time for your flight.

We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 331 in Lima
721 reviews
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 331 in Lima
204 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LOKI Lima
#3 of 331 in Lima
388 reviews
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#8 of 331 in Lima
405 reviews
Miraflores
Red Llama Eco Hostel
Red Llama Eco Hostel
#10 of 331 in Lima
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hostels

Property: Dragonfly Hostels
Address: Avenida 28 de Julio, 190, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hostel in the safe neighborhood of Miraflores district, in Lima. Great cafeteria with kitchen recently renovated, we offer spacious dorms and comfortable private rooms with quality bedding. We are the only hostel in Lima with surf facilities in the beach, 10 min walking distance. A great roof terrace for chill-out at the bar or BBQ. NEW: find our micro-brewery beers at our bar! Around here you will find restaurants, bars and all kind of attractions. Close access to the beach of Makaha, with surf rental facilities. We will be happy to accommodate you during your stay in Lima. We offer : Free linen, free internet, WiFi, TV Cable, surf board rental, bus and tours booking, free baggage storage, lockers, chill-out lobby, movies, DVD & books, kitchen facilities, hot water 24/7, all kinds of good traveling advices and a selection of tours and treks in Peru. Open 24 hours. Airport shuttle service on request 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dragonfly Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing