We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Las Camelias
Ranked #162 of 333 Lima B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hostel was fairly basic, but provided a good base for our one night stay in Lima. We wanted somewhere not too far from the airport. It was located very close to the Parc Reserva, where the water magic light shows are well worth a visit. It was slightly far from the centre of Lima, it took us about 30 minutes to walk to the main square. Overall, simple and basic, with helpful staff.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cheets_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two nights by myself and was very satisfied. I paid $34 per night and that included a breakfast of eggs with ham, toast, coffee and juice. The room was clean, the shower was hot and the front desk personnel were very helpful; I speak almost no Spanish. The location was great; not too far ( by taxi) from anything I wanted to see ( huaca pucllana, museo larco, church of San Francisco)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfquinn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a small hotel very close to Parqe Reserva and the "magic waters" light show at night which is lovely. The hotel is economical with nice, basic rooms and excellent bathrooms. Breakfast is served to order and included. Staff are kind and helpful. Located outside the Lima nightlife in Miraflores, but only about 8 soles ($3) to get there if you want to catch the Lima scene-which is worth viewing-but don't want to stay downtown. The Inca Market is a few blocks away from la Calle de Pizza (pizza street) in Miraflores and you can find any sort of souvenir or artisania you might want. I can recommend this hotel highly. Put the hotel's fone # in your fone and carry a map with directions, as many taxistas won't be able to find it on a small side street..
Buen Viaje!

Room Tip: Away from reception and on an upper floor toward the rear away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sevaman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed just one night in late May in transit between a flight in one day and bus out the next morning. We chose this hostal because is close to the zone on Paseo de la Republica where so many bus lines have their terminals (located between the city centre and Miraflores). We could walk to the bus line to buy our tickets and it was only a short taxi ride with luggage the next day. It is also located very close to the Water Fountains park in Parque de la Reserva. This park is a blast and well worth a visit after dark - the variety in shape and design of wonderfully lit fountains and the set piece light show are a great spectacle. Accommodation in Las Camelias had a functional feel but rooms were neat and clean with WiFi, good bathroom and hot water. Quality was similar to a place we later stayed in Miraflores but substantially cheaper. Staff were pleasant (though only a little English) and provided a (limited) tray breakfast for an early start. Taxi to/from the centre and Plaza de Armas was 8 Sols, or you can catch the bus up the Paseo for 2 Sols.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonniesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The room was clean, basic, but noisy and without proper bed clothing for the cold winter! The staff was friendly and Mr. Carlos was kind to change the booking date (because of a flight delay). The hotel is a good solution for the price compared to the expensive an tourist area of Miraflores, althought the neighborhod is not very safe.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very friendly staff, but the beds were so hard, I did not go back here on my way home. I tried two rooms! It is a little far from everything except the park with the fountains. Few reataurants, you have to take a taxi for everything.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purplecat8104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

If you are looking for good value for money, do not hesitate to book your stay at hotel Las Camelias. Any hotel in Miraflores or San Isidro (the tourist and posh areas of Lima) offering the same as Las Camelias will cost you twice as much. Expect a decent, clean, safe and modest 3 star hostal with very friendly and reliable staff. My wife and kid have travelled quite a lot in Peru and this hotel has surprised us positively!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel Peru Pacifico
#151 of 234 in Lima
18 reviews
Inka Frog Exclusive
#16 of 372 in Lima
404 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#12 of 234 in Lima
877 reviews
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Callao
Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Camelias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Camelias

Address: Montero Rosas 976, Miraflores | Urbanización Santa Beatriz, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range: $33 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Las Camelias 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Las Camelias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing