We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Las Camelias
Ranked #148 of 306 Lima B&B and Inns
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
86 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very hard beds”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very friendly staff, but the beds were so hard, I did not go back here on my way home. I tried two rooms! It is a little far from everything except the park with the fountains. Few reataurants, you have to take a taxi for everything.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplecat8104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
14
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

If you are looking for good value for money, do not hesitate to book your stay at hotel Las Camelias. Any hotel in Miraflores or San Isidro (the tourist and posh areas of Lima) offering the same as Las Camelias will cost you twice as much. Expect a decent, clean, safe and modest 3 star hostal with very friendly and reliable staff. My wife and kid have travelled quite a lot in Peru and this hotel has surprised us positively!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

As I was arriving into Lima in the evening, I wanted to get a hotel that was near the Cruz del Sur coach station for an early start the following morning. This hostal was perfect. I asked when booking if someone could pick me up from the airport and all that was organised. Someone was waiting for me as promised. The following morning I was driven by the hotel manager to the station. Everything was no trouble to him. This took alot of pressure off me. I would definitely recommend this hostel, it wasnt too far away from the airport either. It was quite standard in the room but it was very clean. But the manager & his wife were exceptional.

Room Tip: Its not too far away from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oohhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Hostal Las Camelias was a good place to stay in Lima. We spent two days there and it's close to the Water Park and the Historical Center of Lima.
The host picked up us at the airport for 20 dollars, and the stuff were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loregm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

My son and his college roommate and I visited Lima to do some Christmas shopping - specifically Lecoste Polos shirts for $8 at Polvos Azules nearby.

My rating reflects that this hostel only cost $40 for a 3 bed room. For $40 we received very good value.

The room was clean, the bathroom was tiny (think cruise ship small). There was good pressure in the shower - the water took about 4+ minutes to get hot - but get hot it did.

Our room 201 received a fair amount of traffic noise - but I always bring ear plugs when I travel and they did the trick. Other rooms may or may not have this issue.

We were there in the spring, if you go in the summer, ask about air conditioning as I don't think our room had it - just a ceiling fan.

The staff was helpful but did not speak a lot of English.
The included breakfast of scrambled eggs and ham was good and the rolls were heavenly light.

I would stay there again. We opted for the optional pick up at the airport for $22 each way.

The place can be kind of hard for taxi drivers to find. Tip: take a business card from the hostel - it has a small map on it. Next hand the map to the taxi driver and he will eventually get you home.

The free Internet worked fine for me even with a weak signal. Ask the front desk for the password.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FatherOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peru Pacifico
Hotel Peru Pacifico
#142 of 224 in Lima
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panamericano
Hotel Panamericano
#124 of 224 in Lima
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Mundo Hotel
Gran Mundo Hotel
#145 of 224 in Lima
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Estadio Hotel
El Estadio Hotel
#98 of 306 in Lima
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel La Primacia
#112 of 306 in Lima
3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Victor - Lima Airport Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Camelias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Camelias

Property: Hostal Las Camelias
Address: Montero Rosas 976, Miraflores | Urbanización Santa Beatriz, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Las Camelias 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Las Camelias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing