We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service and nice rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angels Inn Backpackers Peru

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angels Inn Backpackers Peru
Ranked #133 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Friendly service and nice rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

The service at Angels Inn is very friendly. Good breakfast (better than most places you'll find in Peru). Great location. Spacious comfortable light filled rooms.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
28
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hostel in June 2010 for 2 nights. It started off great with Isabel organising our airport transfer (it was with Killa Remisse). He was excellent - trying his very best to be a mini tour guide on our way to the hostel (at 5am!!).

We reserved Room No.3 (just off the common dining area)- huge room with TV, ensuite (great hot running water all the time). The bed was comfortable enough but the only thing I can comment on is that there is a skylight in the room (I think they are in all the rooms) so you can get woken up as soon as the day breaks....but this is minor. Breakfast is also included - you get cooked eggs, juice, bread, and coffee. There is also free use of the computer for internet access.

This place, although a backpackers, feels very homely and the hosts were always happy to see you and wanting to assist anyway they can.

We tried to take the bus to the historical centre (which we did unsuccessfully - but that was our fault as I think we got the bus going the wrong way - only 1.20 sole one way per person). So, if you want to get to Plaza Mayor/Aramas etc, you need to either use the bus (hopefully you'll be better at it than us) or a taxi (which should be around 10-15 soles from Miraflores if you bargain) - unfortunately it is not walking distance. However, Lacromar (a shopping complex) is very close by. Plenty of eateries, cinema, shops (North Face, camping store etc), and a starbucks (free wifi for those that need it). The Inn is also walking distance to Kennedy Park and surrounding tourist attractions.

All in all I definitely recommend this place for those on budget. We paid USD$28 per night (worked out to be 168 SOLES - they seem to times the USD by 3 to get to the sole equivalent).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MONTY78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

The family and staff were very friendly and helpful (wish my spanish had been better to communicate better with them). They helped us get taxis and figure out where to go to eat. Isabella was great to help us figure out restaurants.

We had two rooms (#2 & #3). Definitely go for the bigger and brighter room number 3. Room #2 was a dim and very musty smelling. Our comforter on our bed was dirty and looked like it had not been washed for a while. The bathroom floor was dirty when we arrived (they cleaned it), but there was hair in the sink and cupholder. It is located in Miraflores which is a safe area to walk around and we shopped at the markets and walked to restaurants from here. (some really really good food is nearby).

Make sure if you want to eat at a better restaurant you eat at lunch, we missed eating at a great restaurant because it closed around 4pm.

It is a hostel, and is cheap. If they step up the cleanliness it will be very nice for what it is.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradams2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

We had the best time at this hostel, the family that runs the place are so so helpful and very adorable! The room we stayed in was great! We had a private with a massive bathroom and huge mirror! Close to everything!! Breakfast topped it all off! :) Highly Recommend this hostel!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emlouise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tatita03, Propietario at The Angels Inn Backpackers Peru, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
We are very pleased to have you as our guests. Our mission as a backpackers hostel is to make you feel comfortable, pleased and secure as our home.
Thank you very much to choose The Angels Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We spent quite a few nights at The Angels Inn and had a lovely time. The main highlight is the family who run the place - they're really friendly and helpful and really make you feel at home. We particularly enjoyed their tips about the awesome Peruvian food - Vayolet really knows her stuff.

The rooms themselves are fairly basic, but they do have everything you need and they are nice and quiet and away from the road. It's also in a good safe area in Lima, with some exceptionally cheap restaurants nearby. A tasty three course lunch for just a couple of pounds each!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Had a terrific stay at The Angels Inn. It is in a great location close to everything you will want to see and experience. Staff were amazing and helpful. Rooms were clean, we stayed in a private double with an ensuite. It was perfect for what we wanted, cheap, comfortable and with our own space.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manimala1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

The family (and friendly dog!) that runs this little hotel/hostel is very sweet and attentive. They made us feel very welcome. The hotel shares an entrance with another hostel, but it's all fairly quiet and relaxed. It's in a good neighborhood for walking both to the Miraflores central park area, with the restaurants and activities, and to the beaches and parks along the coast. It's a great value and breakfast is substantial.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gobeatthedrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Arawi Lima Miraflores Hotel
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Alpes Lima
Alpes Lima
#27 of 321 in Lima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angels Inn Backpackers Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angels Inn Backpackers Peru

Property: The Angels Inn Backpackers Peru
Address: Calle Porta No. 540 | Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angels Inn Backpackers Peru is a house from the early 1920s, newly renovated since February 2008, and opening with the philosophy of offering great service and welcoming you to stay in a very nice, comfortable, pleasant, clean, quiet, safe and friendly guest house for travelers all around the world. The Angels Inn Backpackers Peru makes you feel like if you are at home with us and remember “The best place for you to stay”.We are located in Calle Porta Nº 540 Miraflores, about 1st & 2nd block of 28 de Julio Ave or 9th &10th of Larco Ave.We are located in the heart of Miraflores, one of the most recognized and safe districts in the capital city of Lima. Miraflores is a tourist district of Lima, has a modern infrastructure, highlighting the malls, streets tidy and safe. It concentrates the highest number of hotels, casinos, banks, travel agencies, restaurants, supermarkets, pubs, discos, theatres, cinemas, art galleries and an active culture life. Our hostel is not in the main street, so you can sleep like at home without any noise. Friendly and warm atmosphere Continental or American breakfast Free coffee and tea all day. 24 hrs/7 hot showers Late check in/check out. Lockers in dorms/Safety box Free internet and Wi Fi connections Pick up services from the airport and the bus terminal. Ask for fares. Full kitchen facilities Cable, TV/DVD movies Tourist information Laundry services and others Storage services Board games and books exchange Bed linen and towel free of charge No curfew 24 hrs reception Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board Sale of bus tickets to any part of Peru Adventures guides for surfing and paragliding. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing