We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good airport stay alternative” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #19 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good airport stay alternative”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed 1 night here. Like most I arrived late into Lima and was leaving early the next morning. We paid about $40 including the airport pick up service. The pick up service worked well, it may be a little more expensive then getting your own taxi according to one of the previous posters however the convience is well worth the extra $3. A word of note regarding the pick up service, do not pay the cab driver as the hostal as already paid this and bills you for it.
The hostal is a good alternative to the very expensive $200 plus airport hotel.
We had a private room which had a double bed, bunk beds and a private shower in it. The shower was okay, luke warm water. The hostal was very clean.
The double bed was very hard, so hard in fact that we did not sleep on it opting instead to sleep on the bunk bed which were much better.
The common area was a very welcoming area to have a cold beer for $2 after a long flight.
This was a great stay for 1 night.

Room Tip: Do not pay the airport transfer fee to the cab driver, it is paid to the hostal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    88
    42
    14
    10
See reviews for
11
69
71
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

I have held back reviewing places in South America until I have travelled for several months (inculding 2 months in Peru) in order to, hopefully, give a fair review, in the context of the city, culture, price etc.

Pay Purix, this place would be average at best (not great) for $20 per night. At $45 dollars per night, this place is the worst value place I have stayed in South America. In Lima, there are places FAR better for the same money.

Price: US $45 per night for a matromonial room with private bathrooms

Bedrooms: Dark rooms, with external light coming from small windows to internal voids. Painted blue and other colours, whic make it look like an Australian prison, where they thinkl they can brighten the atmosphere by brightening the paint. Typical fake wood tiles seen throughout Peru. Only one central lightbulb, no reading lamps adding to the darkness. The worst bed I have ever slept on, the matress sank below the bed slats with only minimal weight applied. I have stayed in 2 rooms and had the same terrible mattress. The single beds seems to be newer and better, so pay more for a double room, get less. The hard surfaces of the hostel throughout mean that the acoustics are generally bad.

Bathroom: Average condition, some mould in the shower, electric hotwater units on the shower head (what you get for $3 a night dorms in other places). Old but clean towels. Bathrooms vent into the voids, which in turn go to the public spaces, so its a toss up whether you want smell or noise. The bathroom doors have etched glass infills, which offer less privacy.

Hostel Services: This is what they sell the place on. Pool table, table tennis, PS2, TV with DVDs and a bar. Average breakfast with eggs. Pay Puyrix, before you add the extras, get the basics right, like beds, lights and the atmosphere of the rooms. The building itslf is average, and noise comes through the full height voids from the bar/games area below to the rooms. The computers have 256mb of ram, with WinXP and can barely handle loading IE, regardless of the net speed.

Room service: Room service was daily with fresh (but old) towels and daily toilet paper

Hostel Staff Service: DO NOT GET THE AIRPORT PICKUP. The website sells you on this as the 'safe' option to avoid geting ripped off at the airport by taxi services, however their service IS the rip off. It is 22-25 Soles depending on what time of day. This is the same price as a taxi to Miraflores, the nicest, most upmarket part of Lima, which is 30 minutes away, more in traffic, including the airport fee. Pay Purix is 3 minues away. The staff person was waiting on time at the airport, which is obviously good, but then we proceeded to follow him (lugging our own 20kg backpacks) through the entire carpark of the airport to where the taxi was waiting outside of the airport, to avoid them paying the airport fee. You literally (seriously, check Google maps) walk 1/3 of the way to the hostel itself, then pay 22+ Soles for a 2 minute taxi ride. Walk outside yourself, hail a taxi (they are everywhere, day and night) and pay 4 soles to the hostel. 22 Soles to a Westerner is not a lot of money, but the principle of being scammed is. In the hostel, the staff are helpful and informative.

Hostel Patrons: We have stayed twice and met some very nice people there. As mentioned, if people want to party (and the facilities are there for it), the place is noisy.

Location: 3 minutes from the aiport. The area is safe during the day, though aside from the Tottus (like a Peruvian Big W or Walmart) 2km down the road there is nothing to see or do. Central and Modern Lima are 30+ minutes away. The location must sell this place, being close to the airport, but giving the low end demographic of the area, you should be paying low end prices. I walked up the street and found local places that were nicer for 30 Soles a night for a double room (9 bucks for two people). They obviously didn't have to cover the costs of a pool table...

Conclusion: I simply can't understand the good reviews of this place - perhaps people haven't been to Lima before and do not understand the area and prices. I don't like giving bad reviews, and I dislike people that review places out of culture and economic context. However, in its context, Pay Purix would get 3/5 if it were less than half the price and, like every hotel or hostel in South America, simply called you a cab when you needed a ride to the airport. Simply having a acceptable mattress would be a starting point. I have stayed twice there now, to give them the benefit of the doubt, but its remains abismal value for money. I have since stayed in a boutique hotel in Miraflores, with all the trimmings of a 4+ star hotel, with a cheaper and better airport transfer serives, in the best part of the city, close to everything for less money.

Room Tip: Ask to see the available ones to get the best mattress and room atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LeClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We chose Pay Purix for its proximity to the airport. Lima is a city of over 8 million people and in our research we found that most affordable hotels are nowhere near the airport.
We elected to book their airport pickup service and were very happy with it. It was well worth the few extra dollars to know we would be taken directly to the hostel. Anyone that has done any traveling in South America knows that there are some taxi drivers that will try to milk extra dollars from travelers. It is always worth the extra money to use a trusted taxi service.
The hostel was clean and comfortable. The wifi was good and there were 2 computers for use by those without their own. There was plenty to do in the form of flat screen tvs, movies, ping pong, pool..
Our private double room was great. The bathroom was a good size and looked new. The mattress was not the best we have slept on but was fine for one night,
We were not too keen on leaving the hostel in the evening to eat so took the offer of the staff to order in for us. It all worked out very well.
Eric, the owner, was very hospitable and friendly. All his staff were great. They were full of helpful information. We would definitely recommend Pay Purix.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southern_stingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I'll start with the not-great, to get it out of the way: the place was a little expensive (though we had to leave for our early flight and thus missed the included breakfast; this may have made the difference in our opinion of value), and the beds were the second-worst I encountered during six weeks of travel in South America (but still not bad on an absolute scale, as we slept through the night without any issues whatsoever).

The good: super-close to the airport, and the staff is terrific. We had trouble with a shady taxi driver who dropped us off at the hostel (he "got lost" and doubled the fare). The staff members were great-- they scolded him, took his license plate #, threatened to call the police, etc. Throughout our stay, they were very friendly, and the owner recommended a place for us to stay in Cusco, because we hadn't found one yet (his brother's place, Chakana House-- it's excellent).

I'd definitely recommend this hostel, especially if you need to leave for an early morning flight (note that you'd have to take a taxi to get anywhere, as it's in an out-of-the-way neighborhood).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lk0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
422 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

While we stayed only one night, we found the staff to be very helpful. We ordered dinner in after a long flight at a very reasonable price. Nice lounge area with movies available, 2 computer terminals. Our double room with bath was pretty modern and spotless.

We would agree with many reviewers, this is not the best location to base yourself if you plan to visit Lima. But, if you are looking for a less expensive(approx $42) alternative to an expensive airport hotel, we found this to be perfect. They can offer a very reliable taxi service for approx $9. They also stored our bags for a reasonable fee while in Cusco.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

OK place if you want to stay close to the airport. Try not to book a taxi with them. The hostal is located about 1.5 miles from the airport, but they charged us more then $20 for pick up and drop off. Not the safest neighborhood and they had loud music until midnight.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siechnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

The area was not the best...it's really close to the airport. There are a lot of activities within the hostel like ping pong, pool, Foosball.. The staff was really friendly. Breakfast was good.....drinks too :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nierkaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lima
Callao
Wyndham Costa Del Sol Lima Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Cusing Wasi
#1 of 6 in Callao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Limper B&B
#28 of 301 in Lima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel

Property: Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel
Address: Av. Japon 16138 | Callao, Lima 07031, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Callao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a Hostel special for transfer with the international Lima airport. We offer a Peruvian restaurant, great buffet breakfast and the best prices of lima. Our staff is able to read in English, Portuguese, German and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Pay Purix Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing