We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One decent room one terrible room”
Review of Bayview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Hotel
Ranked #120 of 234 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed here twice. One the day we arrived in the peru the next the night before we left peru. First night we had a decent room overlooking the street with nice windows that opened to allow fresh air in. TV, no tub, hairdryer only upon request (you might get one that works), staff was functional but not overly friendly. Location is great. Safe neighborhood, 3 minute walk to the ocean and an outdoor mall where it's easy to find a decent restaurant to eats outside, plenty of ATMs. Second time we stayed here there was some confusion and we ended up with a romm that had 2 twin beds. We could have been satisfied with pushing the beds together (which we did) but the room was just lame. The window didn't open all the way because it would hit the TV, you couldn't get to the toilet with going into the bathroom and closing the door, you had to practically step over the bidet to get in the shower. If they would renovate the rooms this would be a great hotel. If we got the same room on the second visit I would have been very satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miles2321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 300 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2009

The location is great, about a block from the ocean and sea side mall. It is right next to the JW Marriott which has a nice casino.
The staff was polite and personable. The included breakfast was very good.
We had room #10 which was a queen size bed and a balcony and was very sufficient with very good maid service. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFunkinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

This was one of the better places we stayed in Lima, and for the price, definitely good value. Rooms are pleasant and ours had a nice balcony with a view of their garden (and the Marriott!). If I were back in Lima, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drugagainstwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed in this hotel with 2 friends in July before starting a month long tour of Peru. I think it was a good choice for us. It is in Mira Flores, which is a really nice part of the city and right behind the Marriott and Larcomar shopping centre which has everything you need (including Starbucks!). The room was quite nice with a fridge which was handy, but it didn't close properly so it leaked one of the days. I had read some of the other reviews so I was a bit nervous but we found the rooms very clean and got towels etc no problems. The breakfast was only so-so; after a few days eggs get very repetitive! The decour is probably a bit run down but it was clean and the staff were very helpful. We organised an airport pick up for $20 which was a godsend because Lima airport is awful at 2am.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotel-kinda-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I just got back from Peru and stayed 3 days in Lima at Bayview hotel. It's a good choice in Miraflores, very close to the shopping Larcomar. The hotel has a great and helpful staff. The rooms are good and has a small fridge. We didn't like the breakfast, but the dinner was delicious. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuPenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We arrived in the evening (after an 8h bus ride) and they gave us a room out in the courtyard which we thought "wow what a nice view". This room had two double beds but only one towel (I mean really why put out two?) and not much space to get to the bathroom bc one of the beds was literally in the way of the door.
They recently restained the closet space so the room had a super heavy smell (which we being "reasonable" people decided to just sleep with the window open).
Trouble came when my friend and I returned from the reunion with our friend and I was ready to jump into bed when I pulled the sheets and discovered that the BED WAS DIRTY WITH HAIR AND 5 STAINS!
I called to have the sheets replaced and the receptionist came with one sheet and told me to throw the dirty one on the floor (thank you for taking care of your mistakes dear hotel). Under ordinary circumstances I should have stormed out of the hotel or demanded a different room but 1. I was exhausted after a long trip and 2. after 2 drinks, I did not fancy repacking my stuff so I mummified myself in my silk traveller's sheets and the sheet they provided for the night.
Next day, when I requested to speak to the manager, I was not allowed the courtesy. The receptionist expressed pity that they put us in that room and after showing the manager my camera with the photo she said that there is nothing that they can do... because I should have requested a different room last night at 3am.
During our 3 week stay in Peru, this was the most expensive place that we stayed in and the ONLY one with such a dissapointing experience!
I would not recommend this hotel to any human much less friends.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

The hotel is near Shopping Larcomar (1 block) and despite the cleanness the rooms smell musty! The staff is good and attentive. The breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Hotel Senorial
#90 of 234 in Lima
168 reviews
Miraflores
Hotel Ferre Miraflores
Hotel Ferre Miraflores
#92 of 234 in Lima
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Continental Lima
#58 of 234 in Lima
421 reviews
Hotel LLaqta
#127 of 234 in Lima
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel

Address: 276 Las Dalias Street | 1 Block From Larcomar Mall in the District of Miraflores, Lima 18, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 234 Hotels in Lima
Price Range: $55 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel*** is located just a few steps from Larcomar Mall and very close the most important touristic, cultural & shopping attractions of famous Miraflores district. In a charming colonial style surround we offer 45 cozy rooms in 2 small buildings (Classic & Executive), each designed to meet your needs during your business or pleasure trip. We offer free Wi-Fi, buffet breakfast, welcome drink (Pisco Sour) and business center access. 30 Minutes from Jorge Chavez International Airport and 15 minutes from Lima Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing