We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning View, great food, great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Verde

Costa Verde
Ranked #493 of 2,437 Restaurants in Lima
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The weekend brunch buffet is so extensive that it's featured in the Guinness World Records book.
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning View, great food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I have been there four times. We had our wedding reception there. Its expensive, but the food was great and the service was excellent couldn't ask for more. I did not happen to see the 1970's look I was in too much awe to see the ocean. Five min taxi drive to Chorillos, which is an area of large exposed statues.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    164
    113
    54
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The environment of this restaurant is horribly outdated and falling apart. The inside of the restaurant looks like it was really rocking back in the 1970's and early 80's, but the customers disppeared and they never changed it or maintained - the decor is way outdated, old, ugly and unkept. They put a CORNY, silly flag at your table to represent the country your from and they think you'll find it neat to look around and see all the different nationalities represented - but it's just stupid. It may have been cool back in the day (70's and 80's) when Lima was so third world, that all the rich foreignors would come to place like this, but times have changed and this place didn't keep up. The decor deserves this long explanation - it's pretty bad.

The food is just as worse. I have been in Lima for 3 months and I have tried a TON of restaurants and investigated which ones are good - all based on personal trials and recommendations for LOCALS. And every person I have spoken to has told me "Costa Verde is old and not good - avoid it" They right. The food is HORRIBLE. The ingredients tasted like cardboard and were not fresh. The one and only positive aspect was that they had an amazing key lime pie - but that was it! The rest of the experience was horrible - and to top it all off, this has to be one of the most expensive restaurants in Lima - amazingly rediculous. Only unknowing tourists keep this place in business. Trust me - avoid the reviews of ignorant tourists. The locals hate it for a reason.
AVOID at all costs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank StevenC734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“COSTA VERDE RESTAURANT IN LIMA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Their food is delicious, service is excelent; a tradition in Lima. A very good place to have a dinner for 150 peoples, business dinner or lunch. They have enough space for you to rent and they do their best for your meeting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perla35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The restaurant is at the very edge of Miraflores on the beach adjoining Baranco. The setting is breathtakingly beautiful with outstanding service. The food is very good although falls a bit short of excellent - lacks that a wee bit of finesse in the sauces. Can't go wrong with the seafood choices.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveleasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner on the coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great dining experience with three other co-workers. Ceviche was exceptional. Probably the most expensive meal out of one month in Peru, but very memorable.Somel locals celebrating special occasions, mainly tourists filled the area covered by the white canvas. A glass wall separates you from the spray of the sea while you eat. We ordered from the menu instead of having the buffet. Steak and shrimp were cooked to order perfectly. Pecan pie with ice cream to end a great meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank texasdetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Verde also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing