We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant with delicious seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canta Rana

Canta Rana
Ranked #77 of 2,441 Restaurants in Lima
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Barranco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with delicious seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This place has a great vibe, is always full of locals, and has delicious food. I highly recommend the seafood fried rice dish - absolutely delicious! The ceviche is also very good.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    230
    64
    25
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place had a huge menu and the seafood we had was fresh and delicious. It was also reasonably priced. Full of locals, it seemed, all happy diners. Wish we'd had a chance to go back a second time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite meal of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I loved this restaurant (as well as the area of Barranco). We arrived around 3pm on a Monday and it was packed. There was a very local crowd and the ceviche was by far the best I have ever had. Definitely do not miss eating here when visiting Lima.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjaegscoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ceviche like no other!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place has such an authentic, salty and eclectic vibe like none other. Your head can swivel 360 degrees to try to take in all the odd and random memorabilia that leaves no square inch of walls ncovered. The delicious smells envelop you and the hum of everyone's conversations and energy fills the air as well. This is a no fuss type place, but the food is serious business! I have lived here for ove a yea and this is the best ceviche! Their menu is not limited to ceviche or seafood either. The have phenomenal plates of traditional criollo food. Everything is stellar!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Oooh Ceviche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Best little hidden gem in Lima. Filled with locals. A friendly owner, and listed in the "where chefs eat" guidebook. Best ceviche in Lima.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canta Rana also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Canta Rana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing