We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cool old tavern attached to pisco distillery”

Antigua Taberna Queirolo
Ranked #41 of 2,505 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Peruvian, Bar, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pueblo Libre
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“cool old tavern attached to pisco distillery”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

not really much of a restaurant as the menu is very limited - more like bar snacks. main thing is simple ham sandwiches. Great for a few drinks. busy with locals. Most popular is to get a bottle of pisco, a bottle of ginger ale, limes and ice (ingredients for the chilcano) to share with your friends - price 75 soles - approx. $30). If you don't finish the bottle the waiter will be happy to bag for you and you can take it with you. Located near the main square in Pueblo Libre - nice area which includes the archeological museum.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djdgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    168
    33
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I dream about these butifarras!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stopped here for a quick bite after my cousins wedding at the church next door....and WOW! the butifarra with the salsa criolla was so fresh and soooo delicious mmmm mmmm mmmmmm! I didn't even know i liked butifarra's until i tried them here!! It really was delicious! Eat one with a cold inca kola or a beer and you will understand why i dream about this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Taberna, with great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

if yu are visiting the archeological museum in the barrio of Pueblo Libre you should stop at Taberna Queirolo.
You will find very good local dishes with creol inspiration and a nice atmosphere. The Bar Restaurant is full of locals.
The prices are correct and service is nice

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my favorites to have a drink”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I love this place because it's so old school. The pisco is amazing!!! The food platters such as the "huevera" are excellent. This place has true historical meaning to Peruvians. This particular location is the oldest. The Tavern is about 130 years old. I'll be back when in Peru.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank asanz008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Antique Tabern with good food and drinks”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This a traditional bar where you can drink all sort of wines, piscos and beer. While you drink you may order an excellent “butifarra” sandwich also known as “jamon del pais” sandwich (creole ham). They offer also all kinds of creole dishes like “cau cau” (potatoe with tripe), “tacu tacu” (fried beans and rice) and a hundred other dishes. If you are not a drinker just order food and refreshments. Next to the restaurant there is a “bodega” (antique liquor store) selling good liquors with the “Queirolo” brand. Queirolo is a family of italian origin who are producers of pisco and wine for a long time. You may visit the museums located 1 block from there. Do not forget that this is a bar, noisy and informal but clean and safe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antigua Taberna Queirolo also viewed

 

Been to Antigua Taberna Queirolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing