We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel near Coast”
Review of El Tambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Tambo
Ranked #6 of 366 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Small hotel in pleasant location in a safe area of Lima. We enjoyed the juiciest fresh fruit for breakfast next to the little garden. We watched a humming bird sucking nectar from the honeysuckle whilst we ate. The staff had little English but were very helpful. The only negative was the room insulation as we were disturbed by other guests on the corridor in the night. The location is excellent as it is safe to walk around and within easy reach of the pretty coastal paths and parks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janweb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 473 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a week over the New Year period. The location was good. It was easy to explore Miraflores and Barranco from the hotel and it was in a nice area. The hotel itself was fine, but nothing special. The room was nice and spacious with a double and single bed and a good bathroom with hot water. We had some trouble with the safety deposit box but the hotel staff were good and sorted it out when notified. The breakfasts were very basic, a little disappointing. On the whole, it was a good place to stay mostly because of its location, it was clean and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Entering the hotel you are lulled in to a false sense of security that the rooms are going to be OK. Check in and being told that the restaurant operates 24 hours, ones expectations are raised go to the room and reality hits home. A basic room, a shelf, a sorry excuse for a desk, no air conditioning, but don't worry the windows open and open and open, one false move and you can see yourself falling out. The bathroom is small with shampoo - at least I think it was.
Wi-Fi here is hit or miss, run around the hotel and see if you can find a hot spot. Breakfast, ok but nothing cooked. Only highlight was dinner on the first night when my wife could not go out. Chef was very pleasant and food was good.
Located in a good neighbourhood but a fair distance from the restaurants.
Would not use this hotel again, go to the Marriott or Hilton within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were two couples staying two nights by start of January 2014. A safe and good location on Avenida la Paz. Nice and clean rooms and a good breakfast. Good wifi in reception area and good access to computers and printers. The staff was very helpful and serviceminded.The location in Miraflores is about 10 min walk to the main restaurant areas.
We will recommend this place when visiting Lima.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Well located comfortable hotel in Miramar. Short 10 min walk to sea front or to Park Kennedy area. Much better appointed than I had expected. Residential quiet street; room was bright, spacious and clean; friendly reception staff; free wifi ( which we found almost everywhere in Peru). After a long flight, this was a lovely start to a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor and above and in new part probably quieter than lower down as further away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here twice a few weeks ago as part of our group tour. The hotel was very clean and we enjoyed the breakfast. During our first stay we were assigned to the 4th floor with a room that looked into the courtyard. It was very clean, quiet for sleeping, room for two to move around, and hot showers and helpful staff. On our second stay, we arrived after 11 PM and we were assigned across the hall from reception. I requested another room, but told nothing else was available. Alas, the reception staff was chatty and playing the radio and TV. I had to ask them to please keep it down. After 1 AM, it finally got quiet. Comparing the two different stays: 4th floor room was more modern and up to date, although smaller then the first floor room. In general: Good location and safe. Bring the ear plugs in case you get the room across from reception desk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bottom floor across from reception and those above the kitchen are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2amigos_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here as part of a travel package organized by our tour operator. Was impresswed with this hotel. Located in a quite location of Avenida a Paz, not far from the Hilton, for what we paid it was more than ideal, good location, good breakfast, internet, quiet rooms etc. Not far from Larco Mar.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Miraflores
El Tambo Dos
El Tambo Dos
#81 of 232 in Lima
286 reviews
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Isidro
Atton San Isidro
Atton San Isidro
#11 of 232 in Lima
2,747 reviews
Miraflores
KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tambo

Address: La Paz 1276, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 366 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $62 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tambo Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing