We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Simple Modern hotel”
Review of El Tambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Tambo
Ranked #8 of 343 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Simple Modern hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here twice. The rooms in this hotel were modern, simply but nicely decorated, well maintained and very clean. The rooms were a bit on the small side, but not cramped.

The breakfast was good for tourist accommodation in South America. Free WIFI for the iPad was good. I didn't use the free computers, but our freind did use Skype on them.

Everything in Miraflores was within walking distance, and it wasn't too far from good places to eat.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    231
    104
    16
    6
See reviews for
78
178
45
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

In short Hotel El Tambo in Lima Peru, is not a place we will return to.  They are not gay aware, on the first check in then gave us a twin room even though our booking was clearly for a double. When we forced the request, they gave us a crap room with insufficient hot water for two people to shower for 5 mins each.  We were prepared to believe this was an over site, and we're eager to return to experience the better side of this hotel, but to our amazement they did it again, even having confirmed double. They gave us a very nice twin, we pushed back, and they gave us a room that captured all the noises of reception, banging doors. We've stayed in quieter hostels than that. Shocking. We didn't experience this type of treatment in Cuzco or Machu Picchu, so we believe this is the Lima tour operator working with Audley.  We are concerned that perhaps they don't want same sex couple business.

Other things of note: dirty bathroom, terrible pillows, safes that don't work because batteries are dead (in both rooms), rooms that don't lock behind you automatically. Tea spoons to eat cereal. No big spoons???Not worthy of the stars it has been afforded in our opinion, and certainly not the experience we were hoping for.  We will mention it again to the local tour guide, but at this stage it's a little late to make changes. 

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAPMJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel, the first being in 2008. Since then, it appears that they have added a second building to the property. The staff was nice enough to give us a room at 9:00 after flying overnight. We stayed in a VERY small room in the old part of the hotel but were grateful to have a bed. Following this, they moved us to a different room in the old part of the hotel that was larger, but definitely showing its age since my last visit. We were staying as a part of a mountain biking tour and ultimately joined the rest of our group. They were all assigned rooms in the new wing. We asked to be moved, but were told that the hotel was full. Ultimately, my broken Spanish paid off, and we were moved to a very large room in the new wing with two beds, tile floor, and a very clean bathroom. We later found out that this was the room we had originally been assigned by the bike tour company. This was by far a huge improvement. I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The staff service is hit or miss. One front desk gentleman was great and helped me order pizza to be delivered. Others were...not so helpul, especially if you do not speak Spanish. Our laundry was returned as promised but quite expensive for Peru standards and a small hotel. It is on a residential street, but definitely within walking distance to several dining options. Overall, for the price this is a great hotel. I have a feeling that the entire hotel will be renovated. But until then, request the new wing. Also, when traveling to Peru, bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper:)

Room Tip: Request the new wing if renovations have not been completed. There is not a lot of consistency in ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taleea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My family just came to Lima on a visit and they stay at the El Tambo hotel in Miraflores. Its a new place, clean and the service stuff is helpful. It does not have a lot of character but the price is good and the location is excellent with many restaurants nearby. They have a nice breakfast and a few computers with free internet. For a short stay in Lima in Miraflores its a good place.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back face a very quiet street at the front La Paz avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gonzalo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My daughter and I stayed two nights in a twin double. Hotel was within walking distance to outdoor mall and nice park on the Pacific coast. We were with a group of eight; we found the breakfast buffet more than adequate. Our only complaint would be the walls were thin; if we left our bathroom door open, we could hear the conversation in the adjoining room. Marble floors magnified conversations, doors shutting and wheeled suitcases. Staff was courteous and helpful! Our rating is not excellent, however, we would return for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LovetoWalk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

A very nice area in Miraflores and good walking distance to nearby shopping areas and restaurants. Rooms very clean and tidy as were other areas in the hotel. We had two two night stays here with very different rooms. The first room was adequate but comfortable if a little small. I am comparing this with our second stay when our room could have accommodated four people. The restaurant although basic was very willing to help at all times of the day. A couple of below average concerns. First our room was not made up after two requests one day (languge difficulty reception staff?) and a 4am wakeup call not forthcoming on another. This would have taken it to a Very Good rating for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Takeiteasytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

El Tambo is in a good part of Lima, but deep on a side street so there is little of interest right around the hotel.

The hotel rooms were adequate but otherwise basic. Breakfast was fine but limited (fresh fruit, a couple hot choices, a couple cereal choices, bread, juice and coffee/tea). Restaurant also serves reasonably price lunch and dinner, but you'll have to hunt down someone for service.

Hotel laundry was unreliable (lost my items) and hotel over booked our group so had to share a room with another member of our tour group for one night.

Hotel does have WiFi, lots of TV channels but like many hotels in Peru, no room heat or air conditioning. You can request an electric heater.

Hotel can be noisy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SixContinents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
El Tambo Dos
El Tambo Dos
#88 of 227 in Lima
249 reviews
Miraflores
Ibis Larco Miraflores
Miraflores
Hilton Lima Miraflores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miraflores
Tierra Viva Miraflores Larco
Miraflores
JW Marriott Hotel Lima
Miraflores
Hotel Vila Santa
Hotel Vila Santa
#14 of 227 in Lima
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tambo

Property: El Tambo
Address: La Paz 1276, Lima, Peru
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 343 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your El Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tambo Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing