We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local fish restaurant (Only Lunch)”
Review of El Pez Amigo

El Pez Amigo
Ranked #141 of 2,505 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Williamstown
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great local fish restaurant (Only Lunch)”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I found this place through tripadvisor, and decided to try it due to its proximity to my hotel. It is in a safe part of Mira Flores. Oddly enough, many fish restaurants do not serve dinner, especially the local ones.

I ate here twice during my trip, mainly due to the great food and relatively low prices. The restaurant fills up by 3:00, so go earlier if you don't want to wait. All of the customers appear to be local, which is generally a good sign of consistent quality.

The staff doesn't really speak English at all. They have one busboy who speaks some English. The menus are in Spanish with long, complicated explanations (at least for my level of Spanish). I thoroughly enjoyed every dish we had: 3 kinds of ceviche, 2 soups, and the special crab casserole.

I very highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrolleig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    74
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
181 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Great Recommendation from A Local and Lived Up to His Rave Review”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were wandering the Miraflores area trying to get to the waterfront. When we came around a bend a very kind local man began a conversation with us and after a few minutes he made the recommendation for El Pez Amigo for good ceviche.

We got into the restaurant which was very clean and greeted in a friendly fashion. The waiter smiled and said "Habla Espanol?" When we responded no, he smiled and started pointing to favorites on the menu. With a phrase book and a lot of laughs we ordered our ceviche and a crab casserole.

The food was incredible. The ceviche was fresh, and nicely seasoned. The crab was also fresh and delicious. Enjoyed with a good piscos sour and a local beer.

A great way to enjoy great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Looking for great seafood that is not pretensious-- Go Here!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The seafood is great and it is made even better by the friendly atmosphere. As we were struggling with the Spanish menus, we were greeted by the owner who suggested not only delicious Ceviche dishes but also gave us information on Pisco drinks to accompany our meal. After finishing the Ceviche, we asked for another suggestion and were impressed with the daily fish special he suggested and dessert is not to be missed either. Though the rest of the staff did not speak fluent English, they were very attentive. Prices were very reasonable for the quantity and quality of the meal.
Please note: You must enjoy this restaurant for lunch. As it is a family based restaurant they are note open for dinner, but it is well worth making the trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pharmgirltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“a superb local seafood restaurant in Miraflores”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

El Pez Amigo is just a great neighbourhood seafood restaurant with excellent ceviche and well-prepared fresh fish. Luis, the owner, is a wonderful host and speaks good English to help his staff with your order. It might not be one of the fanciest, most expensive restaurants in Lima, but it certainly is one of the best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Quality of the food is very good but I found it pricey !
Nice surroundings, good service and good atmosphere, a place that you wouldn't think twice before deciding to go there even if it is not the first time, but I really dislike places that overprice and unfortunately, this is one of them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernieSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pez Amigo also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to El Pez Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing