We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Mecca”
Review of Pucusana District

Pucusana District
Ranked #112 of 333 things to do in Lima
Attraction details
Bronx, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden Mecca”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to go to Pucu Sana when I visited my friend who has a house there... It was unlike any place I have been to before.... It's rich and poor, fast and slow, populated but full of nature. We got to wake board in the inlet and then take the boat out to see the sea lions basking in the sun. We even got to hang out on a yacht where a chef prepared us fresh ceviche... Delicious!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaMontanara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    17
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pucusan-Day out from Lima.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

For a wonderful day away from the traffic mayhem of Lima, head south to the coastal fishing town of Pucasana. Our driver/guide Mario first took us along the beach road from Miraflores to Chorillos to compare all the known and secret surfing spots and then we took the old winding highway south to the pre-Inca historical site of Pachacamac, which at first sight is more akin to a dusty old paddock with not much to see than a famous historical site.
However, with a knowledgable guide such as Mario, the amazing waves of pre-Inca history comes to life. People have been living there for about 7000 years and each lot put their stamp on the place, with the Inca temple of the sun taking the biggest, highest site overlooking the spectacular coast on one side and the rest of the site on the other.
The journey south keeps going from dry as a bone desert to lush green irrigated valleys lucky enough to be fed by rivers flowing down from the mountains. There are lots of dusty villages lined with piles of bamboo poles and sheets of reed thatching---supplies for the local building industry and especially for the squatters who invade empty patches of ground when the police or owners are not looking. Every so often we took little side tracks to the coastal cliffs to view the best surfing spots, the sandy beaches and picturesque off-shore islands.
At Pucusana there were hundreds of multi-colored boats tied up in the harbour and according to Mario, the fishing industry is disappearing due to overfishing. It seemed that someone must still be catching fish though, as the little streets are lined with fish restaurants, one after another and on pulling up at a mate of Mario's, we eagerly scanned the fantastic choice of fish on menu board. However, when we tried choosing a few dishes, each time it was, "sorry, haven't got that one today." Finally we asked what actually was on offer and the choice narrowed down to fried calamari, fried fish eggs or, there was one flounder. "Fine, we'll have all three dishes", which of course was way more food than we needed but pretty good. We then went down to the fish market, skirting around piles of fish boxes being loaded into trucks, all destined for restaurants other than those in Pucasana (Hey Mario, someone is catching fish?) Past the pelicans, and onto a chuggy boat, we then toured out from the town, past the fancy holiday houses and around the little offshore island, to say hello to marching bands of pelicans, gannets, boobies and penguins, along with lazy, sleeping sea lions, all happily lying in piles of smelly guano.
Best time to go---off season, when all is quiet, not too much traffic and Pucusana is a beautiful, sleepy fishing village. All that changes in summer, when the hordes of LImaneans descend and there is standing room only both in the restaurants and on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YwanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

It's a crowded beach and the sand was a bit dirty...

Helpful?
1 Thank bruno_dx_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Visiting Pucusana”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I don-t recommend to visit in high season (January-March) it is too crowded and dirty.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pucusana not worth visiting”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

its a dingy fishermans village with no apparent tourist or other value

Helpful?
1 Thank limajgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pucusana District also viewed

Lima, Lima Region
 
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Pucusana District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing