We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chosen on strength of reviews, they were right.”
Review of Miraflores House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miraflores House
Ranked #40 of 370 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay in Lima before returning home after completing the 4 day Inca Trail. This place had great reviews and I had to meet the famous Francis so I booked a double ensuite room for 2 nights B&B for my teenaged son and I. Shortly after check-in we were summonded to the living room to meet Francis who proceeded to give us a full briefing on Lima, the surrounding area, where to go, what to see, where to eat etc. and he was always on hand to ask advice. The room was Ok for the price but by far the best thing was that he made you feel at home and gave us full run of the place. We could relax and watch TV, help ourselves to tea, coffee and drinking water and we could've prepared our own meals in his kitchen but we chose to eat out. This is an ideal place for travellers on a budget and it has several computers doted around with free internet. Great place, definately recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robjp099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 129 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

We loved everything about Miraflores House!:) we stayed in Lima for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hostal, like the name already says, is situated in Miraflores, a very nice neighbourhood! The owner of the Hostal thought about everything you need while furnishing and decorating the house. Anything you need, you will find there! there is also a big livingroom with loads of entertainment: dvds, instruments, maps, books, guides, etc.
The owner himself, Francis, is a really good host. He enjoys having people in his house and does everything to make you feel like you are at home!
Go to Miraflores House and you will enjoy Lima in a different, better way!:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markpatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Wow, what an incredible house! Everywhere paintings, pictures, handicraft – everyday we've discovered new things, like in a museum! And Francis, the owner of Miraflores House can explain you a lot about every little thing. We had a double room with private bathroom and a good hot shower for 110 Soles. There was even a small balcony. It was not a very bright room but spacious. Breakfast is included, there was always different kind of fresh bread, coffee, tea etc. The hostel is located in the safe area of Miraflores, we walked around there also at night without any doubts. As other reviewers have written: you will get a great map of the city with all the information that you need: taxi prices, busses, restaurants, museums etc. Francis organized a lot for our further trip to Iquitos, everything was exactly how he explained us, we had a great trip by boat. And not to forget all the staff: everybody is very friendly and seems to be happy to work there. Thank you very much!! If we come back to Lima, we know where to sleep...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

It's a hostel, so nothing great to say about the double room we staying in - clean but solidly average and not brilliantly comfortable. The reasons to stay here are twofold, and are compelling. First of all the environment of the place is relaxing and slightly eccentric - perfect to lock yourself away from the streets of Lima and relax. Secondly, and most importantly, Francis the owner gives you a great briefing on Lima, what to see and do and how to do it. His self-photocopied map hilariously coloured in its multiple highlighter pens has become our favourite souvenir of the trip! We never had any dramas in Lima but it seems from the other reviews that if you do, Francis will sort it out for you - that level of personal help in a hostel environment is virtually unheard of and deserves plaudits - keep it up Francis!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank alwayswander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We originally wanted to stay near Kennedy Park in Miraflores, but were interested by all the reviews here saying how helpful the owner is. Everyone is right - the owner Francis is so helpful, wants you to make the best of your time in this huge city and will give you a map and a full briefing when you arrive. We booked in advance through Hostelworld and after a long overnight bus journey we were able to get into our room at 7am - even more surprising we were straightaway offered coffee, bread and jam - a nice touch. We picked a room at the back which was exceptionally quiet. The furnishings in the room were a little old, but very clean and there was always hot water. The hostel is near to a number of fast food outlets, a couple of nice sandwich and icecream shops, a huge supermarket, laundy and even a cinema. At 8pm we were all offered free Pisco sours - excellent! Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front might be noisy from the busy road, try and get one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Albergue House is well located but on a busy and noisy street. Make sure to ask for a room in the back! The rooms are old but spacious and very clean; the bathrooms are private but VERY small, but again clean,which is most important, with plenty of hot water. There is free WiFi (good connection) and a simple bread, butter, and jam breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful - especially the owner, Francis, who helped us book some bus tickets after several agencies told us they were sold out. At 8pm he has happy hour and offers Pisco sours to all guests for free! Great service! All in all we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheArcherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

My third time around, simply fantastic! Francis is the cherry on top! THE best in town, super safe, great staff and really clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schorchi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lima hotels
Miraflores
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
Puriwasi Hostel Lima
#7 of 370 in Lima
433 reviews
Miraflores
151 Backpacker Hostel
151 Backpacker Hostel
#37 of 370 in Lima
83 reviews
Pariwana Hostel Lima
#1 of 370 in Lima
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lima Backpackers
#2 of 370 in Lima
213 reviews
Miraflores
The House Project
The House Project
#20 of 370 in Lima
250 reviews
Miraflores
Hostel Kokopelli
Hostel Kokopelli
#13 of 370 in Lima
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miraflores House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miraflores House

Address: Av Cmdte Espinar 611, Lima, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Miraflores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 370 Specialty Lodging in Lima
Price Range: $32 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Miraflores House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for stopping by the Miraflores House!We have a higher than average rating because we have higher than average standards. Besides our great location in Lima's top neighborhood of Miraflores, we offer comfort, hospitality and - most of all - a friendly staff that's always ready to help, whenever you need it. The prices for rooms are often quoted in dollars but we accept only soles, please made your booking in Peruvian soles in these web site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Miraflores House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing