We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this place a lot!!”
Review of Puro Peru

Puro Peru
Ranked #249 of 2,534 Restaurants in Lima
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barranco
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I like this place a lot!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Usually when a buffet tries to throw a lot of different food experiences together, seafood, sushi, grill, creole, the culinary result is below average. Puro Peru and La Bistecca pull it off wonderfully. Peru Peru is on my top 5 list for group lunches when you want to kill an afternoon eating. I usually stick to the Creole and seafood, but having tried also the sushi and grill i can say that they are on par. The seating is open and comfortable and it is as easy to arrange the tables for a group of 5 or 40. A little out of the way in Barranco, but if your goal is to kill an afternoon, go!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IntiSurTravelPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    87
    35
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Treat”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Fun restaurant. We went on Sunday afternoon. Dancers performed a couple of times for around 7 minutes. Cute show. Good variety of food. Everything I tasted was delicious. I am an adventerous eater so I enjoyed the large variety of foods to taste. This was my first trip to Peru, so I liked the large variety of food items.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth to try: peruvian food”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I am a fan of this buffet restaurant in Lima. It gives you the opportunity to taste a huge variety of tipical foods of Peru. It´s specialized in sea food but you can find other foods, we call them "comida criolla". Also there are international cuisine (italian, japanese) and desserts.
It is not expensive, less yhan US$25 by person and you can eat all you want.
I specially recomended cebiche, spaghetti with champagne and shrimp sauce, anticucho, papa a la huancaína, conchas a la parmesana (ask for them to the waiter, its included in the buffet but its not in the tables) among others. Also try with the peruvian tipical drink, pisco sour.
Best time to visit is at lunch (13:00 hours). If you are not coming in a big group (tourists) you can go the same day and you can find seats avalaible, but if you go past 14.00 hours you maybe will have to wait.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HoracioJavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good buffet, not the best in Lima, though.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a good buffet in Lima that offers all the typical food of Peru under one roof. In my opinion, the food was good but a bit bland. Perhaps good if you are just beginning to introduce yourself to Peruvian food...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Out of this world .... For food and ambience there is none better in Lima”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Platos tipicos, platos international, platos with flavour, colour, and everything that goes to make any visit here more memorable than any prior visit. This is not a restaurant on the tourist list because the Peruvians of Lima want to keep it a secret to themselves. You have to book ... sometimes over 2 weeks in advance, and that is a measure of why this in a restaurant morth than worth visiting.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nigech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puro Peru also viewed

 
Lima, Lima Region
Lima, Lima Region
 

Been to Puro Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing