We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft from stored Bagpacks”
Review of Hostal El Colibri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal El Colibri
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Iquitos
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night before leaving for a five day jungle trip. When we came back for another two nights, we found out, that our bags have been carefully checked by somebody. We lost about 250U$ out of two Bagpacks, which were stored next to the reception (in service for 24 hours), in a little box with a proper lock. We are sure somebody of the staff took the money, as nobody else had access. All atempts to find a solution were not supported and we were called liars. I tried to talk to all employees, but arranging a meeting was also not welcome. The way they took the money was intressting, because who ever took it, left some money there so we may not find out that we miss money until we leave Iquitos.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Martingoingsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostal_el_colibri, Gerente at Hostal El Colibri, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Huèspedes

Le agradecemos su tiempo para compartir una opiniòn sobre nuestro hostal; lamentamos realmente que su estadìa en nuestro hostal no haya sido todo lo agradable que debiera.

En respuesta a su comentario; cabe resaltar que en lo sucedido Uds. al dejar las maletas no declararon que estaban dejando dinero, pese que en todas las habitaciones hay avisos en español e inglès donde el establecimiento no se responsabiliza por la pèrdida de dinero u objetos de valor.

Uds. dejaron sus mochilas en un armario donde solo se guardan generalmente equipaje que no necesitan llevar a la selva; osea nada de valor, dinero o documentos; porque para eso tenemos servicio de caja fuerte. En relaciòn a lo sucedido nosotros les preguntamos si pusieron algùn tipo de seguridad a sus maletas, candados o llave, y Uds. dijeron que NO, Como no declaron lo que guardaban;nosotros no sabemos de que efectivamente habìa ese dinero, les sugerimos ir a la policìa de turismo y no quisieron. Felizmente durante los 8 años que tiene este hostal ha habido huèspedes que dejaron objetos como celulares, càmaras fotogràficas y otros y les fuè devueltos.

Una vez màs;le ruego mis disculpas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here back in November before a trip into the jungle. The room was not large but big enough. The fan worked surprisingly well to keep us cool at night despite the heat and humidity. Bathroom was normal sized and clean. Wifi was... interesting - it looks like they route you through something else so we got messages saying someone else was trying to access our accounts from Costa Rica. Figured it was their internet because we both got the messages in separate email accounts. A few weeks later (long after leaving) I got a message saying the same thing - so maybe they were keeping people's passwords or maybe someone else was trying to hack my account. Not sure. If you're worried about it just don't log into bank accounts and save your password when you leave. It was just weird. Staff was friendly and overall it was a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The room was musty but it was a lot less so than our previous hotel. There was a little cafe for breakfast in the lobby. The room and shower were clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and it was quiet at night. There was a fridge for guests to use. Overall average.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnekeAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

As I had room reservations, they arranged to pick me up from the airport. A lovely idea. No hot water but, hey, this is the jungle. This truly is a very convenient location. Yes, an on street room is a tad noisy, but it truly conveys the energy of Iquitos. There is a market just outside the door. There is a laundry just across the street where the ladies do an excellent job at a very reasonable price, and excellent restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean and with an attached bath.
Although I have located hotels with hot water since, the service staff here is wonderful and the location too convenient to stray. I will be back.
It is helpful to know a bit of Spanish as the staff speaks that and maybe some Shipibo.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yippyiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the hostal and were fully statisfied. The rooms are basic, clean and the staff is very friendly. Even if you leave the city for some days (e.g. for an amazonas trail) you can securely store your lugage there w/o any charge, same with valuables which are stored in a safe. The location is perfect with the Plaza de Armas and the waterfront only 1 minute on foot away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMXIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

If you are looking for a neat and cheap place, this is the one for you. The single AC room I got had a TV and an attached bathroom. You might need ear plugs at night to keep out the noise from the street. You could eat American or continental breakfast for additional cost. Right at the center of the city and a stone's throw away from the plaza de Armas, you cannot get something better for the price you pay!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank SangeethaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

If you are looking for a hostel for your stay in Iquitos, El Colibri is as good as it gets. Rooms are very clean, light and come with fan and cable tv (good to drown out the noise from motortaxis if your room backs onto the street). Good price too, and location can not be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.1 mi away
Emperador Terraza
Emperador Terraza
#7 of 28 in Iquitos
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#5 of 28 in Iquitos
333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hospedaje Aziyade
Hospedaje Aziyade
#14 of 28 in Iquitos
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 28 in Iquitos
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#10 of 28 in Iquitos
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Colibri

Address: Raymondi 200, Iquitos, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Iquitos
Price Range: $22 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal El Colibri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostal is located in Raymondi 200 street one block from square; all the rooms have private bathroom, TV cable, hot water and cold, WIFI.There is service coffe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal El Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Colibri Hotel Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing