We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little hostal well located”
Review of Hostal El Colibri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal El Colibri
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good little hostal well located”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Ok for 60 soles (without AC)
80 soles with AC. Had to pay 6 soles for breakfast.
Ok for the price

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 332ricky1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    18
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
29
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a fantastic hotel, considering the inexpensive price. Some people we travelled with for a little bit decided to go to a hostel nearby (don't remember the name) that is quite popular. We checked that one out but the dorm room seemed so cramped! We decided on this place instead, which has very clean rooms, good fans, and friendly staff. If you are two people travelling, it makes more sense to stay here in a private room than elsewhere in a crowded dorm for the same price! El Colibri is also in a good location, very central but not noisy. You can even take a long stroll and get to Belen by foot from here. There is no kitchen, but Iquitos has great, fresh (cheap!) food you wouldn't want to cook your own food anyway!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andazc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

At the time of my stay ( 4 August) there was major construction on the street in front of the hostal, blocking vehicle access, and making lots of noise during work hours. I don't know when it will be done.
This hostal is one block off the malecon, a pedestrian street overlooking the river, with lots of artesan markets lining the street. It is 1 block from the plaza de armas. Great location!
I stayed here for one night after my trip to a jungle lodge. This hostal only takes cash, no plastic, so be prepared. There are a variety of rooms, including singles, doubles and triples. A/C is available for 10 soles more.
Check in went smoothly, and I was given the key, the tv control, and the a/c control. The tv control didn't work, so I went and got another one, no problem.
My room (218) was on the second floor facing the street, so there was some street noise, but between the tv and the a/c, it was minimal. A/c was cold, and you can set your own temp. There is a small desk and chair, and a built in closet with hangers. The bathroom was basic but clean. There is a small shelf for toiletries next to the sink, very helpful.
The sheets on the bed were rougher than what I am used to, but the bed itself was perfect for sleeping.
There is a small courtyard area where the stairs are, and a small cafe but I never saw anybody there. Security is good- they have to buzz the door for you to enter, and the staff seem to know everyone, and their room number, quickly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Clean, spacious, nice bathroom, good bed, strong fan, great location. Excellent breakfast (extra) with strong coffee-- definitely worth it. If you're going to be in Iquitos and want budget lodging, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lk0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Perfect if you want a very simple cheap sleeping alternative in Iquitos. Hostal is in perfect location and staff are really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adricons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREMONT , OHIO USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

My 5th stay at Colibri , Safe , Comfortable , Great Location , Very Attentive & without question a great value for your dollar . If any of these features meet you're needs , look no futher , you've found you home away from home . I'ts mine !! ....Rudy

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudyFremont_OhioUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Ice cold a/c, cable TV for those late nites, clean sheets and none to loud, all for 20.00 and less with no AC, I will stay here again...rooms are not very large but good enough

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kauaiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#4 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Terraza
Emperador Terraza
#7 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hospedaje Aziyade
Hospedaje Aziyade
#15 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Colibri

Property: Hostal El Colibri
Address: Raymondi 200, Iquitos, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal El Colibri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostal is located in Raymondi 200 street one block from square; all the rooms have private bathroom, TV cable, hot water and cold, WIFI.There is service coffe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal El Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Colibri Hotel Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing