We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, relaxing hotel but not in centre of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Fitzcarraldo
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing hotel but not in centre of town”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed here for two nights before going to a jungle lodge. I am very glad I stayed there but decided for my final night in Iquitos to stay somewhere more central. The hotel rooms are great and the grounds are beautiful (if you don't stay here it's a nice place to spend a day - for only 5 pesos!) and the service is friendly. The garden has plenty of places to sit and relax, plus a pool. And the showers have hot water. The only drawback, as mentioned, is that it's not in the centre. But it's cheap enough to get a moto between the hotel and town (felt safe to walk but took well over 30 mins).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    38
    10
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
46
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
354 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

First, Iquitos has litte or nothing to offer......other than noise, pollution, and animals on the street, so if you do not need to stay there then I would avoid it. If you are staying in Iquitos and just coming out of a jungle hike this place may look like paradise and it has a lot of potential. Clean rooms, nice little pool, caged animals from the forest, etc. However the rooms are dark, there is no AC, mosquitos are a plenty. The staff does a very good job of making you feel at home but it is a let down after a high end experience.

Room Tip: Transportation to and from the hotel to the airport is very expensive....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamFunIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combermere, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

After spending some time in Iquitos, my friends and I just happened upon La Casa Fitzcarraldo and could not have been happier. After a couple of sweaty days in town, we were elated to find this beautiful hotel with an outdoor pool, beautiful grounds and lots of animal friends. The room was spacious, clean and modern- a nice change from our other experiences in Iquitos. Standards in Iquitos are not high. We were having a very hard time adjusting to places with no toilet seats, no toilet paper and dirty conditions. The Fizcarraldo is a beautiful sanctuary and only a 3 sole drive outside of town. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Iquitos. The staff were very friendly, breakfast was great (and free) and they also have a full menu to choose from later on in the day. Internet access was included and we were allowed to leave our bags there while we went on a two night jungle trek. Check this place out!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brianj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I just spent 5 amazing days in this private tropical jungle.

Walter and the staff were very friendly and the sea food ceviche was incredible!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levinyair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Iquitos is not for everybody, but we loved it. We stayed at La Casa Fitzcarraldo because I loved the Werner Herzog film that was made there. Be sure to see it before you go. If you arrive or leave by boat, it is not very far to the docks. The fun and crazy mototaxis are everywhere and can get you around to everything in Iquitos very cheaply. The owner is a very kind gentleman who speaks fluent English. He was the producer of the movie. They have a wonderful and very clean pool and the craziest treehouse that I ever saw. We had a couple steaks and some Argentinian wine there that was incredible. Breakfast is included and is really good, with lots of homemade bread and jams. It is about a 15 minute mototaxi ride from the main square in Iquitos. Not in a good area for just walking around, although there is a small local market around the corner where you can buy munchies, water, pop, etc. The place doesn't look like much from the outside, but is super nice on the inside.There was only one other couple there because they had missed the boat out. They ended up staying for a few days. The room that we asked for wasn't ready, so they upgraded the room for free. I think that you need to pay in cash to get the best rates. The owner liked us and threw in a free cab ride to the airport when we left. We used this as a base to visit the butterfly farm (getting there by boat and hiking was as interesting as the attraction), Iquitos Zoo (which is super nice and be be sure to bring your swimsuit for swimming in the lake there with a nice beach), and the markets of Iquitos. Iquitos has a long boardwalk along the Amazon that is a great place to hang out. The Explorers Club is a great English speaking hangout. The food and drinks are great and people are very friendly. There is a local newspaper in English with the best news and info on the area. The Editor was always handing out free copies there. There are a number of interesting jungle properties for sale around there. Several American men have retired there. It would be easy to become part of the locals. We almost did.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Following positive reviews from Tripadvisor, we decided to stay here for two nights. We were not disappointed. Located about 15 mins away from the downtown of Iquitos, La Casa Fitzcarraldo was an oasis.

Included in the price (~60 USD for a double room) was an excellent and filling breakfast, and hanging out in the beautiful compound of La Casa Fitzcarraldo while waiting for our flight was the perfect way to pass time. There is an excellent pool and their restaurant had an extensive menu.

If you are a fan of four legged friends, this will be a bonus, as the friendly four legged inhabitants of La Casa Fitzcarraldo were not shy about befriending guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

La Casa Fitzcarraldo is the place to stay in Iquitos. It's a great escape from the madness that is Iquitos. Not being in the centre of town is a bonus as you can escape the hustle and bustle but still easily access everything in very little time, by mototaxi. Walter (the owner) is very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are large, clean and well presented. The pool area is very relaxing with great areas to chill out in your hammock, not to mention the ultimate treehouse which tops them all! Breakfast was delicious. Overall, a very pleasant and memorable stay - look no further, stay here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MundoTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.7 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#3 of 27 in Iquitos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Epoca
Epoca
#4 of 27 in Iquitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Fitzcarraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Fitzcarraldo

Property: La Casa Fitzcarraldo
Address: Avenida La Marina 2153, Iquitos 16001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Fitzcarraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA CASA FITZCARRALDO, birthplace of the Werner Herzog films Fitzcarraldo & Aguirre, offers an unique and unrivaled housing and jungle oasis Whether you are coming to Iquitos for volunteer work, a jungle adventure, a medicinal Ayahuasca quest or just to get away from it all, we offer like-at-home accommodation , including the naturally cooled swimming pool without chlorine, thanks to ECOsmarte, the most advanced pool water treatment technology on the planet . If you are already in Iquitos, we are open from nine to six daily. Come enjoy our great food, drinks, & lounge about, even in our impressive four-level treehouse with panoramic views and great sunsets. A dense and diverse arrangement of indigenous plants and plenty of orchids highlight the property. Birdwatchers are often impressed with the species they come across, especially up top our tree house. At night you can hear our jungle chorus, unlike any hotel in Iquitos-Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your La Casa Fitzcarraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Hotel Iquitos
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing