We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Iquitos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa Fitzcarraldo
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Reviewed November 22, 2011

After spending some time in Iquitos, my friends and I just happened upon La Casa Fitzcarraldo and could not have been happier. After a couple of sweaty days in town, we were elated to find this beautiful hotel with an outdoor pool, beautiful grounds and lots of animal friends. The room was spacious, clean and modern- a nice change from our other experiences in Iquitos. Standards in Iquitos are not high. We were having a very hard time adjusting to places with no toilet seats, no toilet paper and dirty conditions. The Fizcarraldo is a beautiful sanctuary and only a 3 sole drive outside of town. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Iquitos. The staff were very friendly, breakfast was great (and free) and they also have a full menu to choose from later on in the day. Internet access was included and we were allowed to leave our bags there while we went on a two night jungle trek. Check this place out!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brianj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for La Casa Fitzcarraldo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I just spent 5 amazing days in this private tropical jungle.

Walter and the staff were very friendly and the sea food ceviche was incredible!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levinyair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Iquitos is not for everybody, but we loved it. We stayed at La Casa Fitzcarraldo because I loved the Werner Herzog film that was made there. Be sure to see it before you go. If you arrive or leave by boat, it is not very far to the docks. The fun and crazy mototaxis are everywhere and can get you around to everything in Iquitos very cheaply. The owner is a very kind gentleman who speaks fluent English. He was the producer of the movie. They have a wonderful and very clean pool and the craziest treehouse that I ever saw. We had a couple steaks and some Argentinian wine there that was incredible. Breakfast is included and is really good, with lots of homemade bread and jams. It is about a 15 minute mototaxi ride from the main square in Iquitos. Not in a good area for just walking around, although there is a small local market around the corner where you can buy munchies, water, pop, etc. The place doesn't look like much from the outside, but is super nice on the inside.There was only one other couple there because they had missed the boat out. They ended up staying for a few days. The room that we asked for wasn't ready, so they upgraded the room for free. I think that you need to pay in cash to get the best rates. The owner liked us and threw in a free cab ride to the airport when we left. We used this as a base to visit the butterfly farm (getting there by boat and hiking was as interesting as the attraction), Iquitos Zoo (which is super nice and be be sure to bring your swimsuit for swimming in the lake there with a nice beach), and the markets of Iquitos. Iquitos has a long boardwalk along the Amazon that is a great place to hang out. The Explorers Club is a great English speaking hangout. The food and drinks are great and people are very friendly. There is a local newspaper in English with the best news and info on the area. The Editor was always handing out free copies there. There are a number of interesting jungle properties for sale around there. Several American men have retired there. It would be easy to become part of the locals. We almost did.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were good
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Following positive reviews from Tripadvisor, we decided to stay here for two nights. We were not disappointed. Located about 15 mins away from the downtown of Iquitos, La Casa Fitzcarraldo was an oasis.

Included in the price (~60 USD for a double room) was an excellent and filling breakfast, and hanging out in the beautiful compound of La Casa Fitzcarraldo while waiting for our flight was the perfect way to pass time. There is an excellent pool and their restaurant had an extensive menu.

If you are a fan of four legged friends, this will be a bonus, as the friendly four legged inhabitants of La Casa Fitzcarraldo were not shy about befriending guests.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

La Casa Fitzcarraldo is the place to stay in Iquitos. It's a great escape from the madness that is Iquitos. Not being in the centre of town is a bonus as you can escape the hustle and bustle but still easily access everything in very little time, by mototaxi. Walter (the owner) is very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are large, clean and well presented. The pool area is very relaxing with great areas to chill out in your hammock, not to mention the ultimate treehouse which tops them all! Breakfast was delicious. Overall, a very pleasant and memorable stay - look no further, stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MundoTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

What a time. We stayed here on our way in and again on our way out from Iquitos. When we arrived we were hustled in off the plane around 8 at night. Walter sent a car to pick us up which was a big help. As we were driving down the main road we were a bit nervous looking around, we didn't know where we were going. However we arrived at this hotel and were buzzed in through the large reinforced security doors and in to the complex. Honestly as soon as you walk in you are just overcome with relaxation. It is like you step through a portal in to the rainforest. As soon as we came through we were met by Walter to brought us over to the very cool tiki bar they have where we sat for about 4 hours with the bar tender, another guest, and Walter the owner. We just shared some beer and ordered in some pizza. It was one of the most relaxing nights we had. Beyond that the rooms are not fancy, the bathroom is rough, but if you wanted luxury you would have gone to Paris. It is a beautiful spot with a gorgeous pool with big wooden decks and balconies surrounding with some awesome hammocks. Totally relaxing. Plus if you manage to get out of bed on time there is a five star breakfast made just for you with some amazing coffee. The Fitzcarraldo truly is a treat, you can't go to Iquitos without staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This place was anything but quiet. First, it's next door to a very noisy, street that likes to stay up and party all night. Garbage collectition on that street is questionable. I had difficulty sleeping.
Secondly, the room to the Bungalow is not secure - anyone could easily break open the door with a screwdriver or credit card . It was less than clean and it had a noisy fan. The bathroom was small, and I didn't bother to have a shower.
Third, it's way over priced. You can find something for half the price that's clean, quiet and has air conditioning.
Fourth, the food is overpriced, very simple, and not that good.
Fifth, the bricks on the walkways are trecherous. They are covered in some spots with a green, slippery, slime and need cleaning. Walk carefully.
Sixth, there was no explanation or real welcoming from Walter. We had to figure out where breakfast was served, and when. He was not very communicative.
Because of the noise, lack of cleanliness, security, and communication we decided to leave early. There was some trouble that ensued with that. To be quite honest we were just happy to get out of there. We found something that was clean, quite, had air conditioning, and with much greater sense of hospitality for a lot less.
Perhaps in the past this place was the place to be. My experience here is they need to bring it into the present.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shell8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
1.2 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Nativa Apartments
Nativa Apartments
#1 of 27 in Iquitos
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#11 of 27 in Iquitos
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 27 in Iquitos
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Posada de Lobo Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#5 of 27 in Iquitos
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Fitzcarraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Fitzcarraldo

Address: Avenida La Marina 2153, Iquitos 16001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Iquitos
Price Range: $51 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Fitzcarraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA CASA FITZCARRALDO, birthplace of the Werner Herzog films Fitzcarraldo & Aguirre, offers an unique and unrivaled housing and jungle oasis Whether you are coming to Iquitos for volunteer work, a jungle adventure, a medicinal Ayahuasca quest or just to get away from it all, we offer like-at-home accommodation , including the naturally cooled swimming pool without chlorine, thanks to ECOsmarte, the most advanced pool water treatment technology on the planet . If you are already in Iquitos, we are open from nine to six daily. Come enjoy our great food, drinks, & lounge about, even in our impressive four-level treehouse with panoramic views and great sunsets. A dense and diverse arrangement of indigenous plants and plenty of orchids highlight the property. Birdwatchers are often impressed with the species they come across, especially up top our tree house. At night you can hear our jungle chorus, unlike any hotel in Iquitos-Peru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casa Fitzcarraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Hotel Iquitos
La Casa Fitzcarraldo Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing