We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing trip in the truly wild amazon from an Eco-friendly and ethical business

My trip to the Tapiche reserve was 100% what I had hoped for and more. The nature you will see is... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Patrick C
Tapiche Reserve

Going to Tapiche Reserve was the highlight of my trip to Peru. Everyday was an adventure. It was... read more

Reviewed November 19, 2018
Sarah K
via mobile
Read all 119 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Iquitos
from $3,192.00
More Info
from $341.00
More Info
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
108
8
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green track hostel their natural habitat primary rainforest howler monkeys jungle experience the owner pink dolphins authentic amazon experience giant otters old trees observation tower the river conservation efforts rain water the managers huge trees conservation area
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 119 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

Spending a few days in the Tapiche Reserve is an indescribable experience. Deep down in the amazon jungle, it takes a full day to reach it from Iquitos, taking a bus, a public boat and a private boat. The trip is a fantastic experience in itself, leaving behind villages and markets and penetrating the heart of the jungle, with the size and thickness of the vegetation gradually increasing, and beautiful birds and monkeys making their appearance along the banks of the river.

The (too few) days I spent in the reserve were one amazement after the other, from coming really close to a colony of nesting herons to swimming in peaceful lagoons alongside river dolphins. It was high water season, there was no solid land and all the time was spent on the boat. The number and variety of animals we saw exceeded all my expectations.

The guides, Jose and Raul, grew up in the jungle, their knowledge of the forest and its non-human inhabitants is impressive, their kindness refreshing. Katoo, the owner, and Ana, working there full time, have an energy and passion for their project that is contagious. They care deeply about nature conservancy and about enabling local population to gain a living sustainably alongside nature. Even if this tour might cost slightly more than other tours in the jungle you will be offered in Iquitos, it is really worth it, both because of the quality of the experience and also because you can be sure that the money will be put into good use for nature conservancy purposes.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Costanza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Manager at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

Thank you for your support and for sharing details about your trip. We're happy that you appreciated the journey to the reserve, because we feel it is really an important part of helping visitors understand the reality of the region and the people who live here. The difference between the forest in populated vs remote areas really IS visible, and there is no better way to learn and understand this than to travel the river.

Thank you also for recognizing our local guides. We work very hard to provide local people with an alternate source of income. Almost everyone we work with has previously worked in some kind of eco-hostile job, whether it be logging, poaching, or collecting fruits by cutting the trees down (really the *only* way fruits are currently harvested in our region). It's not that they are bad people; they are simply trying to survive like anyone else would want to, and these are the options they have or is simply what they know how to do. Thank you for seeing the value in our efforts to provide them with eco-friendly options.

Saludos from all of us at the Tapiche Reserve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017

We did this tour and a tour with another company (both were 5-days), and this one was exceptionally better than the other. 10x better!

We saw a tremendous amount of wildlife: eight-different types of monkeys, tropical birds galore, dolphins, spiders, snakes, sloths, etc, etc... And the plants and environment... just WOW. It was well organized, and even though we sat in an open-air speedboat for two hours during a downpour, in hindsight, even that's become a great part of the adventure.

The food was fantastic, the people were friendly, our guide Ana was very knowledgeable, AND our money benefits a great cause! What more can you ask for?

Memories for a lifetime. HIGHLY recommended. (especially in rainy/high-water season)

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank KidAtArt_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Manager at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

Thank you for supporting our project and for sharing your experience online. We are proud to offer what we consider to be the best authentic jungle and wildlife experience in Iquitos, and we appreciate your preference. We will pass your compliments on to our staff and are happy to know that the hard work and effort we put into the details has paid off. Thank you for spending your time, money and energy with us, sincerely and with much love from our hearts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017

After a lot of research on trips in the Amazon, I knew Tapiche was the one for us (my boyfriend and I). We wanted an authentic jungle experience, but more so, we wanted to support a place that cared about what they were doing. We honestly couldn’t have made a better choice. Our two main guides were Katoo, the owner, and Deborah. It was clear from the start how much they cared about what they were doing; protecting the land and keeping the animals safe, and they were both so knowledgeable and passionate, it made the experience unforgettable.

We visited in early April and did the 5 day trip. Since it was still the end of the rainy season, we spent the majority of our time on the boat. We did, however, get to do a few short jungle walks and just getting to see the development of the forest, from new plants just beginning, to large trees that have easily been standing for thousands of years was breathtaking. The natural colors of everything, from the various shades of green, to the blooming flowers, and even the sky at sunset are something that will always stay with me. We also got to visit the canopy observation tower. At the top we had a stunning view over one of the lagoons, and got to see what the jungle was like from the treetops.

This was an authentic jungle escape, not luxury, mind you, but that’s what made it all the more memorable. Though I have a fear of spiders, the first day Deborah was able to but my mind at ease by letting me know that some cultures view them as good luck (and good luck we had). Because we were so far removed from the villages nearby, and because the animals feel safe they won’t be hunted, we got to see some amazing animals. Just to name a few, we saw: Capuchin monkeys, lot of playful and curious Squirrel monkeys, Red Uakari, an ant eater, gray and pink dolphins, sloths (my personal favorite), and a beautiful new species of bird they are trying to document.

One of my favorite moments was on our first day in the jungle. We had just set out after a heavy morning rain and made our way to a small, tucked away river. We were quietly making our way through the jungle when Katoo pointed to the trees in front of us. We got to sit there and watch as a family of Capuchin monkeys crossed, followed by a large family of Squirrel monkeys, all playing as they leapt from branch to branch. We even got to see a mother carrying a baby monkey on her back. We just sat there and watched as they all crossed, and because we were so close, I didn’t even need to use my binoculars.

I cannot thank everyone at the Reserve enough for the incredible experience I had. It was truly unforgettable.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank 913_Julie_913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thank you so much for your visit to the reserve and for your support here online. Nothing is more rewarding for us than seeing the animals healthy and free and watching our visitors enjoy nature at its very best. After you have seen animals in their natural habitat, like the monkey families crossing the creek and calmly going about their daily life, you will never look at a zoo or an exotic pet the same way again. Thank you for the wonderful, happy energy that you brought to the jungle (sloth magic!), and please come back and visit us anytime, perhaps when the water is low so you can experience more of the jungle on foot! The sloths will be waiting for you... ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

Arriving in Iquitos its really not as easy as you might think to find an opportunity to experience the real and authentic jungle, eventhough its basically in the center of it. Yes there a tons of tour operators who offer their services but as always when there are lots of tourists, making money sometimes seems to be the main purpose. Therefore most tours are just heading two or the hours down the amazon river still being in the closer vicinity of Iquitos where the jungle is not as dense hence probably not as filled with wildlife.

Since experiencing the rainforest in its most authentic and natural way as possible has been one my biggest dreams since my early childhood I found myself very lucky to meet Ana and Katu from the Greentrack Hostel after spending a day in Iquitos checking out and comparing the various offers. From the first moment we met I could feel that the jungle and the animals living there are something very precsious and special to them, something beautiful and worth protecting. Obviously beeing on the same page here the decision was easy and I was able to spend five days in this incredible and breathtaking part of the Amazonian Rainforest.

We took a Bus to Nauta early in the morning, then a first trip on a public speedboat to Requena (each about two hours) where we met our local guide Jose who took us another five hours down the river Tapiche. That trip was impressive by itsself. The trees became bigger and bigger by the hour, the green more dense, the noises of the countless inhabitants of the green more vivid. Leaving the last villages behind we finally arrived at the lodge in the midst of nowhere later that evening where we met our second guide, Raul. The next three days we spent on the boat (rainy season, no solid ground at all) in the vicinity of the lodge spotting animals and learning so many things about the jungle and their live in the jungle from our two local teachers. It does not get more authentic and real than that. Again the spirit of experiencing but not disturbing nature was ever-present which I really appreciated. Im not gonna start recounting the animals that we able to see or the moments that just left me speechless but swimming in a lagoon in the midst of the earths green lung, hours away from the next human settlement, sourrounded by a family of dolphines... there are just no words to describe that.

Finally some advise for the ones that are still reading this: If you feel that we are on the same page here as well, looking for an authentic and respectfull way to experience the Amazonian Rainforest at its inner core, you found it! The money you spent here is used to protect this unbelivable treasure and is so worth it. You can't expect any luxury, the lodge is veery basic, the food good but very basic as well. If you expect anything like that you're wrong here anyway. There will be spiders, there will be snakes, the will be mosquitos. But there will also be an incomparable experience that you will most definitely never forget.

Cheers.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank steffenfattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Manager at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Thank you for recognizing how our jungle trips are different than the other offerings in Iquitos. On the surface many things look similar, but we are the only lodge we know that does not keep or manipulate animals for tourism and entertainment. We try as much as possible to educate visitors on how to make eco-friendly decisions while traveling, because many people are not aware! Thank you also for mentioning how important and educational the trip TO the reserve is, because it really shows the current state of our region and gives people a feeling for how fragile the forest is. We are so happy that you connected to the jungle and enjoyed your time at Tapiche. Come back and visit during the low water season so you can explore the forest on foot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017

Tapiche is a very remote reserve where you will have the privileged to experience the Amazon Jungle and its wildlife in their natural habitat. The reserve owner an his guides went so much further than we would ever have expected: hours of off trail hiking to reach remote wildlife, canoeing deep into lagoons through lily thickets, an encyclopedic knowledge of the land and wildlife, and always an enthusiasm to go further if you're willing!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Manager at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2017

Thank you for your visit and support. That is a great photo of a woolly monkey that you posted, and we are so happy that this species of monkey seems to be doing well on the reserve. Woolly monkeys are a favorite hunting target in our area and were absent from the reserve for the first few years after its founding. Females generally only have one baby every 2-3 years, so it takes a while for a depleted population to come back, if ever. Thanks to visitors like you, we have been able to protect the forest and the animals, allowing their populations to grow. We hope to continue this work so that future generations may also experience this pristine forest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews