We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best jungle experience out of 7 jungles”
Review of Tapiche Reserve

Tapiche Reserve
Ranked #8 of 51 things to do in Iquitos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE #1 place to see wildlife in its natural habitat. BEWARE: we have recently learned of local scammers selling cheap rip-off tours using our name. We are the only company that operates in our private property. Book directly through our website linked here on TA or at our office in Iquitos inside the Green Track Hostel. NEVER trust the street guides and vendors in Iquitos, for your own safety and well-being! When you sign up to go to the jungle with us, you're not just going to experience one of the purest, most pristine primary rainforests on earth. It's not just about witnessing wild animals of the air, land and water in their natural habitats, undisturbed, like you've probably never seen before. Those things are a given. But you should also know that when you visit, you are helping us protect this precious place. We can't do it without you. The Reserve is located in primary rainforest, and it is our mission to coexist with the jungle environment without disturbing its natural processes. We have ongoing efforts to save a species of river turtle known locally as taricaya (Podocnemis unifilis), which can live to 60 years of age and plays a crucial part in the region's ecosystem. We have also been monitoring our populations of red uakari monkey (Cacajao calvus), which is nearly extinct in Peru due to hunting and the destruction of its habitat. By choosing to visit the jungle with us, you are directly helping us maintain and protect these projects, the Reserve and the local people. Your presence on the trails and in the creeks shows local hunters and loggers that we are watching and patrolling the property. Your financial contribution pays for lodge and boat maintenance and the local people's salaries. Quite frankly, the area's (and Peru's, for that matter) conservation laws are few and weak. Those that do exist are not enforced, making them equal to non-existent. To add insult to injury, the government continues to support business interests over the environment, effectively turning the rainforest into a giant lumber yard/oil well. We don't get support from any other organization, government nor private, local nor international. You absolutely make a difference. We'd like to highlight two main areas of concern with regards to conservation in our area: the illegal animal trade and the illegal logging trade. Both are booming business sectors that have been deeply entrenched in the local psyche and economy for years. Yet, like all businesses, they are driven by demand. And who is doing the demanding? Tourists, clients, customers, buyers...basically you. You can help change the landscape of the market simply by making conscious decisions about what you spend you spend your money on, regardless of whether you're buying experiences, food, souvenirs or furniture. Get ready for a life-changing experience at the Tapiche Reserve!
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The best jungle experience out of 7 jungles”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

I've been on 7 jungle trips in total in 3 months (in Colombia, Peru and Bolivia), 2 in Peruvian Amazons. Among this five Tapiche reserve is without a doubt the best tour. The most animals (many monkeys and many different species ), the thickest vegetation, the highest trees, biggest beautiful mahoganys (red and yellow), the most/biggest fish when fishing and pink dolphins everywhere (earlier tours saw none). On earlier tours we only spotted a 10 cm kaiman after a 2,5 h trip night trip, here while you are looking at many different birds close up there appears a 5 m big k-man in day light right next to the boat. The example with the kaiman describes every experience in this reserve compered to the the other jungles I've been in. The owner of the reserve has a policy to not catch the animals or cut down the threes. This is really obviously in the way the animals curiously are looking at you instead of running away as soon as they hear you. Plus you will support a good thing for the amazons by paying this trip. The long trip makes it possible to go in to the real jungle and not just the "suburbs". The guide, and owner of the land, Katoo is an amazing guide! Not only because of he's passion about the jungle but he can spot animals far away in thick three crones, smell them and hear them far away. Small signs that for any other person are non-existent. If you want a REAL jungle experience this is the place!

Visited December 2013
Thank Klarskrifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for teh generous review, It is very important for us from the Tapiche Reserve( the staf and the jungle iteself) that peop0le go away feeeling they have the time worth and the experience was for life time. yu are not the first person that went to many other places and found Tapiche the best, It lays on the jungle itself. WE might not have the best accommodation, not the best trasporta, the distance some time due the weather seems too far. But fro sure better jungle is impossible to have. And that is what Tapiche Reserve is about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Must-do Authentic Jungle Experience”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My friend and I just completed a 5 day visit to Tapiche Reserve. It was an absolutely amazing experience and I would recommend to any nature lover who wants to see the WILD life, as opposed to animals being captured/held/petted to benefit tourism at the detriment of the animals. Katoo is the most knowledgeable tour guide I have come across and his passion for sustainability and conservation was evident. In addition he is a real 'Bear Grylls' type with obvious jungle survival skills, and many great stories to tell. Every day we saw lots of wildlife- monkeys, birds, caymans, otters to name a few - learnt so much and each day was a unique experience. 

The facilities at the lodge were better than half the hostels we stayed at in Peru and you can expect to sleep in hammocks to add to the authenticity (very comfy!).  It is obvious that this tour is conducted out of passion, rather than making money, with small group sizes. 

In going to Tapiche Reserve you can expect to see loads of wildlife, participate in bush walking, canoeing and fishing as well as tasting various jungle fruits. The boat ride to/from the reserve is long (about 7-8 hrs in total each way) but it did not bother us and worth it to see wildlife in the wild. 

To Yulia, thank you for welcoming us and assisting us to organise ourselves. To Katoo, thank you for your passion, inspiration, hard work and above all, passing on your knowledge to help protect such a beautiful part of the world and beautiful creatures! 
I can't wait to come back and will definitely be staying for longer than 5 days next time!

Visited December 2013
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for the review and generosity. With your support the Tapiche Reserve dream still alive.
NOT been seduced by the offers of seeing animals in domestic condition, and preffering the challenge of seeing the wild life in the real wild, That is a atitude of nature lovers like you we just did our work showing ir to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good experience with some disappointment”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked into this trip after reading the fabulous reviews on Trip Advisor. There were aspects of our experience that were truly amazing, however there were also some that were a bit disappointing. Our aim in writing this review is to inform of the good and bad to help readers make an informed decision when booking into Tapiche reserve.

Day 1 we were picked up early from the Hostel (Green Tracks, which is a good hostel, we would recommend this place). We paid the remainder owing in cash, but as we didn't have exact cash, we ended up over-paying as there was no change available at the time. We never received our change. So our advice would be have the exact amount handy, not more, not less and they prefer USD.

After a long drive we got to the boat area. Our expectations from the description and information given to us at the hostel was that the first part of the journey would be in a boat with undercover area and toilet. However when we got there, we found that this was not the case and we were loaded onto a long speed-boat, which had no shade available. We were on this boat for 4 hours initially, until we arrived at the village where we stopped for lunch; and then we had to get back on for another 4 hours on the same boat to reach the destination. If we had of been prepared for this, it might not have been so bad, however all of us by the end were sunburnt and quite achy - not a great introduction to the reserve unfortunately! The lodge was good, with even a shower and flushing toilet too! We had an early dinner and an early night ready to start the experience the next day.

Day 2 was interesting, but challenging. It comprised of a 4 hour morning trek through the jungle, with the aim of spotting wildlife. We came back to the lodge for lunch and then went on another 3 hour trek in the afternoon to spot more wildlife. Unfortunately our Spanish is very limited. Part of the reason we selected this tour was because there would be an English speaking guide. Whilst our guide seemed very lovely, and keen to show us and teach us about the jungle - he spoke about as much English as we did Spanish - which is to say - not much! It meant that we missed out on all the explanations about the jungle, and animals and couldn't really have a general get to know you chat at meal times, which was a real shame! We feel that this significantly impacted on our jungle experience; and was a great disappointment to us both, as we wanted to learn as much as we could whilst we were there.

The third and fourth day were both really enjoyable - we loved the piranha fishing, and exploration of the lagoon - we had a memorable monsoon type rain experience whilst cooking our fish for lunch - with all of us standing over the fire protecting it with a rain poncho so the fish and fire wouldn't get wet! We also saw plenty of river dolphins, and quite a few caymans!

The last day we caught the speed boat back to the village, but as we were prepared for the journey this time, it wasn't as bad, and none of us got sunburnt this time. The second half back we did end up getting an undercover boat - a chartered boat. It was a bit daunting however as our guide went back to the reserve at this point and we had to make our way back to Iquitos on our own, which was somewhat challenging with our limited Spanish!

So, there were definitely aspects of this trip that we really enjoyed - it really was the proper nature experience, we saw many interesting animals and experienced the beautiful surrounds of the Amazon. The guide seemed lovely, as did the 2 others working at the lodge, and the food was delicious - we even had a cake on our last night!

Unfortunately we do feel let-down by the lack of English speaking guide, and also by the speed boat experience on the first day - these really impacted on our overall enjoyment of the trip, and as a result we felt that we did not get the value for money we had expected.

Visited October 2013
4 Thank KatePaulWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
HI Paul and Kate,
thank yo for the feedback and the positives coments. I dont like to ngive sciuses for the clients when somenthing is not Ok and i want to know it so we can improve our services. But the speed boat that you had on teh first day (and didnt like because was open and no shadow) was a improvised action, the chartered boat with toilet just would no go because didnt have enough pasangers, so we used our speed boat that didnt have any cover at that day. Normally the second part we do not use any cover because we want the people to see the most of the scenery. And as you experienced the chartered boat was running on the way back and we used ( but you didnt like it ).
I guide 90% of the visitors and unless the visitors ask for a spanish guide there would be a english tranlater all teh time, our tranlator. I could not be there at the time I was in a rowing trip to Brazil and the translater that we have organised for your group (4) falled ill and could not go, and we met in I wish you had sayied somenthing when we met on your last day before you get the chartered boat at the lunch time and I asked you if everything went OPok and all of you sayied it was great also in your group was a german spanish girl that sppoke fluent spanish ( luckly) but I wish you had told or wrote me a email, because this remained unknowed for me untill now.
The local guide is a native indigenous person, shy and quiet and I can understand that the comunication must have been a barrier for you to enjoy and learn more about the jungle.
There is nothing to replace your loss, furtunately you went to the Tapiche Reserve and Im happy to hear you saw lots of wild life and enjoy the activities.
The groups that we run are small like yours 3 /4 people and most of the money goes to the logistic and mantenation and your visit make possible to us to go around the reserve and wile we are showing the wild life we are on the same time protecting it, so your money was well spent.
We keep improving and your coment help us, now we have our own speed boat with a remooveble cover ( no toilet) for the first part 3 hours from Nauta to Requena and we use the chartered boat (with toilet) only whne we have a full group (6) for the first part.
Thank you once again for your critics and positive coments we will use it to make our place even better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My Stay at Greentrack hostel and specifically during my stay at the Tapiche Ohara Reserva was nothing other than mind blowing!

It was magnificent Katoo and Deborah made it all worth it , Long Hikes in the jungle everyday , long snoozes in brazilian hammocks in the Maloca.

The most important aspect about this Reserve is that these people have done everything from their hearts and because they genuinely care about protecting the amazon rainforest from poachers and loggers who would otherwise destroy it , and not just trying to have as many people visit the reserve as possible to make a quick buck.

I had some profound experiences during my week in the jungle among them was seeing a Boa constrictor devour a Squirrel monkey a meter away from us!

The rest I cannot mention you will have to see for yourself the Smells tastes and incredible Beauty that this Reserve has to offer , The wild life is like nowhere else as it is still Wild, although one gets the sense that some animals in the canopy are petrified of humans due to the past, the love and compassion that has been put into this Venture is like few places I have ever been to in my life.

To Katoo and Deborah and the rest of the team thank you for the warm welcome and departure and the incredible hospitality, despite.the remoteness of the reserve and sometimes the shortage of amenities in such a remote location the Greentrack Team would always make a plan to make sure you are comfortable and at home.

I will definitely visit here again above all other establishments in and around the peruvian amazon in Iquitos because it deserves the attention , this is a must do in my book s!

Visited August 2013
Thank IncaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Real Jungle Experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Tapiche Ohara Reserve is the highlight of any trip to Iquitos and should definitely not be missed! I spent 5 days at the reserve in July 2013 and had such an amazing experience whilst i was there. I really wanted to have a raw jungle experience and it was certainly delivered. The first day was spent doing a 3 hour trek through a mangrove swamp with the guide Katoo spotting wildlife and some spectacular flora and ended with a swim across the river! It was not what you would call ' a walk in the park' but it was so exhilarating and i felt very mentally and physically strong the end of it! You very much feel a part of the environment during this trip and you really get to feel the beautiful energy of the rainforest and gain a greater understanding of the need to preserve these places. Katoo has an unbelievable knowledge of the nature of the region and i felt very comfortable asking him questions all day about the things we were seeing. The whole trip felt very special and other tours should definitely aim to be like Reserve Tapiche Ohara. Opposed to exploiting the rainforest for economic gain, Katoo has definitely built a place that promotes education and awareness of the issues facing the rainforest and the need for preservation and it is clear that these issues are very close to his heart. It was the best couple of days i have ever had, i have waited a long time to see the rainforest and i don't think i could have asked for anything more than what Katoo delivered. Thanks to Katoo and all the staff at the reserve, i do hope to return in the wet season. Leah

Visited July 2013
1 Thank leah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much Leah,
To show the jungle is the greatest job I could ask. And having enthusiastic nature lovers like you is a bless. We are improoving soon our 40m high observation tower will be done and I hope you will be back to check it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapiche Reserve also viewed

Iquitos, Loreto Region
Iquitos, Loreto Region

Been to Tapiche Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing