We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real thing!”
Review of Tapiche Reserve

Tapiche Reserve
Ranked #8 of 52 things to do in Iquitos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE #1 place to see wildlife in its natural habitat. BEWARE: we have recently learned of local scammers selling cheap rip-off tours using our name. We are the only company that operates in our private property. Book directly through our website linked here on TA or at our office in Iquitos inside the Green Track Hostel. NEVER trust the street guides and vendors in Iquitos, for your own safety and well-being! When you sign up to go to the jungle with us, you're not just going to experience one of the purest, most pristine primary rainforests on earth. It's not just about witnessing wild animals of the air, land and water in their natural habitats, undisturbed, like you've probably never seen before. Those things are a given. But you should also know that when you visit, you are helping us protect this precious place. We can't do it without you. The Reserve is located in primary rainforest, and it is our mission to coexist with the jungle environment without disturbing its natural processes. We have ongoing efforts to save a species of river turtle known locally as taricaya (Podocnemis unifilis), which can live to 60 years of age and plays a crucial part in the region's ecosystem. We have also been monitoring our populations of red uakari monkey (Cacajao calvus), which is nearly extinct in Peru due to hunting and the destruction of its habitat. By choosing to visit the jungle with us, you are directly helping us maintain and protect these projects, the Reserve and the local people. Your presence on the trails and in the creeks shows local hunters and loggers that we are watching and patrolling the property. Your financial contribution pays for lodge and boat maintenance and the local people's salaries. Quite frankly, the area's (and Peru's, for that matter) conservation laws are few and weak. Those that do exist are not enforced, making them equal to non-existent. To add insult to injury, the government continues to support business interests over the environment, effectively turning the rainforest into a giant lumber yard/oil well. We don't get support from any other organization, government nor private, local nor international. You absolutely make a difference. We'd like to highlight two main areas of concern with regards to conservation in our area: the illegal animal trade and the illegal logging trade. Both are booming business sectors that have been deeply entrenched in the local psyche and economy for years. Yet, like all businesses, they are driven by demand. And who is doing the demanding? Tourists, clients, customers, buyers...basically you. You can help change the landscape of the market simply by making conscious decisions about what you spend you spend your money on, regardless of whether you're buying experiences, food, souvenirs or furniture. Get ready for a life-changing experience at the Tapiche Reserve!
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have just come back from the Tapiche reserve. What an amazing experience. Its a days trip to the reserve. Via motortaxi, minibus, fast boat then small boat with an outboard motor for the final leg. This you may think is a lot of travelling but boy is it worth it. You are in the jungle proper no small trip away from iquitos. Our guide was Hector an ex hunter turned guide using his hunting skills to find the animals and his jungle knowledge to find fresh water and some tasty some not so tasty fruits in the jungle.

A day consists of moving through the jungle by canoe and/or foot. Occasionaly wading in water over your welly boots (supplied) surprisingly refreshing. Now the important thing animals. We saw monkeys, sloth, caymen, giant frogs, snakes, bats and too many birds and insects to mention. I really think this is down to the fact you are deep in the jungle on a reserve where hunting isnt allowed.

Im travelling for a year around south america and this will definetly be a highlight!

Tip - bring sun cream, insect repellent a hat, waterproof coat and two changes of clothes one for the jungle and the other dry for the lodge.

Thank jamtubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Hello Tom,
Thank you so much for your review and especialy for your visit, Thank you for trusting us and taking the chances ( to see wild life free in theier habitaht ) of going to a place where there are no wild animals as pets for taking pictures and fake indigenous shows. Your visit supports our cause, give the locals a alternative income( instead of timber), and inderectely protec the rain forest.

In name of the all Tapich Reserve (literally )
Katoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 97 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place is amazing!! I spent 5 days there and loved every minute of it. The full day travel from Iquitos to the reserve was the perfect way to start our adventure, Our guide Secondo ( I'm not sure of the spelling) was incredible. His knowledge of the jungle blew us away, we saw so many animals! ( 6 species of monkeys in one day ) Wading through waste deep water in the amazon while howler monkeys jumped between trees overhead was definitely a highlight! The lodge itself was really good too. The hammocks were comfortable, bathrooms clean and there was lots of good food. The other reviews i've just read here really sum up my own feelings about the place and after talking to Katoo about conservation and his love for the jungle i'm really happy I chose this place to experience the amazon and not one of the many companies that are based closer to Iquitos. It's really worth going the extra distance to have a real jungle experience.
I also hope Matilda the tortoise we released back into the wild is happy at her new home!!

4  Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your support and been so enthusiastic about the nature.
Thank you for supporting our reserve and our dreams of protecting the jungle .
Segundo changed his life froma hunter now he hs more fun showing and explaning the wonders of the Amazon.

Katoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Tapiche Ohara is way out there...Katoo is a expert wildlife tracker... full of good stories and info he grew up on the Brazilian side of the amazon...it one hell of a journey to get to tapiche - really gives you a sense of how the local Indians live and how the bigger rivers converge and separate - He can spot animals russling faraway - and slalom through small rivers in the middle of the blackest nights full speed with only a flashlight - the outlines of the trees against the night sky are the natural road signs he knows so well....

Never seen so many pink dolphins swimming buy,within seconds of spotting a cayman at night and he cornered it lifted it in the boat...awesome treks through the forest in the daytime.. caught some piranhas ...beware of jaguars..on the walk.!

Awesome adventure- some mystical old trees out there as well... highly recommended - was there for a bout 4 or 5 days wish i had been there much longer

Tim

1  Thank tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your review, With your visit you helped us to keep the reserve the way it is. And honestly, is not so dificult to spots wild life when the people are keen and interested to learn and enjoy the Nature and at the reserve we just celebrating in this 21rst of november 2 years that no animal has been hunted / captured . Thank you once again and hopfully to see you back on the wild side again . Have you developed the new stile " Iririma " yet ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Words cannot describe the experience I had at Tapiche Ohara Reserve and, I feel very lucky to have happened across the experince. I simply wish I had more time there although, included in the 2 & 1/2 days I saw 8 types of monley, watched the sunset surronded by dolphin (Pink and Grey type) and saw a myriad of bird life such as green and gold Macaw, a variety of humming bird and larger birds like the horned Screamer....a rare woodpecker posed for us for ages! As well as the birds and mammals the trees and insects took my breath away. My most memorable moment was whilst we sat a group of white capuchin monkey came and surrounded us windering what the heck we were! They shook the trees, threw twigs and basically tried to get a reaction form us. This moment clearly showed me how untouched and protected the wildlife is at the reserve.In addition to the abundance of wildlife my experince was complimented by excellent food, comfortable rooms and, an extremely professional and experienced guide. I felt completely looked after and at ease.

This was absolutely what I wanted...not a petting centre but a true jungle experience which, doesn't harm the animals or their habitat in any way. A must see :D

4  Thank LJC_1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for the greatreview. As i told you when you were enquiring about the reserve at our office: It maybe far away, and seems short time, but the Reserve will well compensate your effort to visit us. The monkeys specially are getting used to be observed and not chased and that helps a lot. We can not expresed our gratitude in words for the ones trhat come to visit , helping us to keep the place as it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It was a year ago, and my feelings about the reserve, the contact with the guides (that became friends), and the beauty of nature are always in my mind and heart. It was for me a great opportunity to live with the rhythm of nature and to learn from it, from the animals and from the people that live in a simplicity that is very difficult to find in our occidental ways of living! The experience and knowledges of the guides are incredible, they know all about the jungle and how to live in/with it. When I was in Iquitos I was searching for a trip deep in the jungle but the propositions that I found weren't so convicting, and then I met Katoo, that explains me he's way of exploration, I decided to go in his hostel in Iquitos and to do the trip with the team, it was amazing, and I thank them that permitted me to live this incredible experience that I will never forget!

3  Thank Noemi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murilo Reis d, Owner at Tapiche Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013
Google Translation

Hallo Noemi,

Danke viele mals von diene worten, Es ist eifach zum arbeiten wenn leute so begeistern sind wie ihr wahren,
Ich hoffe dir gut geths und jergend wan noch mal wieder kommst oder dein freunden schikst.

katoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapiche Reserve also viewed

 
Iquitos, Loreto Region
 

Been to Tapiche Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing