We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars street vending”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Iquitos
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I think the hotel is good three stars or four stars. It has five star prices, though. Especially the laundry service is expensive. It works very fast, though. The hotel has two computers with internet connection. I only give it four stars max, because the rooms weren't cleaned well. The maintenance cleaning has been done, but there was dirt in places that were seldom cleaned. The pool is nice. There is a big derelict building right next to the hotel. People actually live in it. That just reminds of the huge income disparity in the country.

The restaurant of the hotel serves first class food, also jungle rat and lizard sometimes. I was kind of divided with all that, on one hand, it is a good option to choose local food, on the other hand, what if they offer meat from some near-extinct species. On the other hand, I had a suspicion that in Peru, "pollo" or "gallina" might not always have been chicken.

The hotel is right next to a plaza and at least in the late afternoon a gringo cannot just sit there in peace undisturbed by street vendors. If you want to buy something from street vendors, this is your place to stay in Iquitos.

The hotel has air conditioning, so the rooms are one of the few places in Iquitos that are cool and dry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birding_vagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradoPlazaHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Sr.
We appreciate all your comments and we take seriously your considerations, that's why we made all the changes to give a five stars service.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 226 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

What a great hotel to come to after spending time in the Jungle, its worth the 5 star, great pool, bar, breakfast, room big & over looking the plaza was a1 watching the locals going about there lives. Staff very helpful only wish i stayed more than the 1 night to explore the town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradoPlazaHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Mr Robert M.

Thanks for your words, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Easily the most expensive hotel in Iquitos. Everything is top flight and in Peru this is 5 star BUT....if you are going to Iquitos to see the jungle it seems like overkill to stay isolated and frigidly air conditioned rather than experience the jungle. I would not complain if I stayed here in a US venue, it's that nice!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradoPlazaHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Mr Fred.

Thank you very much for your opinion, we wait to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Beware - on the 24/8 2012 we booked accommodation at this hotel for the purpose of going to the jungle. We were not permitted to take luggage to the jungle and the hotel staff promised that our belongings would be safe under lock and key at the hotel. However upon our return from the jungle $2100 of our money was missing. When the manager, Oscar Quiroz was informed of this his response was that the money belt should not have been placed in safe storage but in their safety deposit box. My response is- if staff can access a storage room that is locked, what is to say that they can't access a safety deposit box. In most respected hotels there is a log book where the entry of staff is recorded. In this case there was none. Also if the hotel had a safety deposit box we were not made aware. The staff speak very little English and the safety deposit box in our room did not work. Even though the hotel has 4 stars and it looks impressive on line upon arriving and seeing the hotel it does not give you the confidense that it has many facilities. There are no cameras and no senior staff on the floor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 360Helen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradoPlazaHotel, Gerente at Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Mrs. Helen
Let me start saying that we deeply regret everything that happened on your trip to Peru. Our records show that you check-in on August 20th, 2012 and stay one night with us; at this point we took your bags along with bags from other passenger and put them in our storage unit located at the hotel. On your return to our Hotel on August 24th and stay one more night with us, we haven’t receive any complains at this point. On August 25th upon your arrival in Cusco we received an email regarding the money lost from your bags. Which means that we couldn’t ensure that the items lost happened on our facilities.

As I explained on our previous communications, our hotel has a main safe where all items are log and kept on our custody for any valuables that our guests want to save when they go on tour. We are a 5-star Hotel and take very seriously those kind of accusation, over the past thirteen years of operations we haven´t received any complaints regarding missing items. The hotel has been remodeled 2 times over the last 3 years; not only on infrastructure but in service too to be best Hotel in Iquitos. We´ll post soon new picture for all our guests to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The rooms are nothing really special but the beds are very comfortable and the shower had water pressure, a luxury in Iquitos. Breakfast buffet was very nice with very friendly service. Only a couple of blocks from the vibrant promenade and the Amazon. Located right on the plaza and from my room I could watch the friendly carnival atmosphere. The air conditioning is a blessing after a day of wandering around sweltering Iquitos and it is not so strong that it makes you feel lousy in the morning. ATM machines just around the corner. Nice pool too!

Room Tip: Try and talk the rate down and you can probably get a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradoPlazaHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Sr. Breckbmcq

Thank you very much for your opinion, we wait to see you soon.

Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Centrally located, close to the promenade and best pizza place. Rooms are large and comfortable.
New pool area. Spacious lobby. Airconditioned restaurant. Breakfast is average. Free Wifi. We stayed with 2 kids and they enjoyed much. The rooms overlooking the pool have view on the river.

Room Tip: Best view is from the rooms opposite the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andras V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoradoPlazaHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Andras v.

Thank you very much for your opinion, we wait to see you soon.

Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is one of Iquitos' best. Attentive staff, spacious lobby, and nice pool out back. Beds are comfortable, and rooms are well maintained too. It may not exactly be a five star ritz carlton, but it is comfortable, and at the least, it is fully air conditioned. Escape the heat here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaturesHospital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iquitos hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Regia Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Dorado Hotel
Dorado Hotel
#15 of 28 in Iquitos
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Morey
La Casa Morey
#2 of 28 in Iquitos
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
Hotel La Casona Iquitos
#5 of 28 in Iquitos
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cauchero Hotel
El Cauchero Hotel
#10 of 28 in Iquitos
17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amazon Apart Hotel
Amazon Apart Hotel
#25 of 28 in Iquitos
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business

Address: Jr. Napo No. 258, Iquitos 16000, Peru
Location: Peru > Loreto Region > Iquitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Iquitos
Price Range: $97 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorado Plaza Hotel & Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Plaza Hotel And Business
El Dorado Plaza Iquitos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing